We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under much needed renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Castiglione

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Castiglione to your Saves list
Hotel de Castiglione
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-40 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,651 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Under much needed renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Clean and quiet room but the hotel overall is tired and under interior and exterior renovation. I was told I was lucky to be checking out early as I would miss the pneumatic drills! I was lucky I only stayed one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    68
    71
    66
    130
See reviews for
75
92
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My sister and I stayed in Hotel de Castiglione during our trip to Paris this Summer. Overall the quality of the hotel was acceptable but certainly not good. We did however, experience a few nasty problems. One such problem was a recurring one. The walls were so thin that we could hear the movements of the people in the rooms beside and above us. So much so that we had difficulty sleeping at night. Though the most pressing and disturbing matter that we encountered was the theft of an envelope that contained money that we had left to the front desk as payment for a package we were having shipped. The envelope was non-descript and we did not specify that it had containted money and only informed the front desk that an individual would come by to pick it up on a certain date. To our surprise when it was being picked up the front desk claimed to not have received anything. We surmise that the staff had gone through our envelope and discovered the money and decided to keep it for themselves. Though it was not a lot of money we are terribly disappointed by the staffs actions and simply wish to inform future guests of this incident.

Room Tip: Ask for sound insulated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me and my better half stayed here at Easter and were pleasantly surprised at the quality and location of this hotel. The rooms were modern and clean with a great view of Rue Saint Honore below...designer boutiques and international embassies everywhere!

We chose the room only option which we would recommend to anyone going to Paris on holiday as breakfast is overpriced and over rated, better to grab a croissant or a baguette from one of the many cafes while you are on the go.

The staff were friendly and helpful, even allowing us to leave our luggage in their store room while we spent our last day in the city after check out but before our late flight.

This is not luxury accommodation but it had all we needed for a very comfortable base in a city where you're really only sleeping in the hotel.

Worth a go for it's location and it's value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Rue Saint Honore, it's not noisy at night and is well worth the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 10 days in June of 2013 for a cost of Eur300/night.

It was just a bad experience.. The hotel get its bookings because of its location which is excellent but its certainly not a 4 star Hotel. The room was truly water damaged (smelling of mould) and the reception staff had that French arrogant feel -when you asked them for something, they gave you the impression that you were troubling them.

Warning stay away. It get bad reviews on here for a reason.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

i stayed there on the 5th of July 13 to the 9th and thought a four star hotel, you cant go wrong!! but how wrong was i. On arrival just before 2pm we were told that out room wasn't ready yet? then when we got a room the air con didn't work but they came up pretty quickly and got it working at a very low setting and said that was it fixed!!! I was roasting by now so thought I would have a shower, but , there was no shower curtain so the water sprayed on the floor I called maintenance again to get this sorted but they said the fittings that were clearly there were not for a shower curtain or door, I had to laugh so all holiday the floor was wet. we had breakfast but it was no where near what you would expect from a so called 4 star hotel. there was a few miniature croissants and stale rolls that were all crushed, a couple of yoghurts that were not in a fridge and a few jams, boiled and scrambled egg on 1 tray for everyone. a few slices of cheese and some sort of poor quality meat.when I say a few I mean 6 slices max for everyone!!! that was about it apart from some sort of dirty water they were passing off as coffee. the decour is quite outdated but I will give credit to where credit is due. beds were comfy and and the location is ideal and close to everything you need. madellene station is a 5 min walk to and concord station the same but overall this was not a nice hotel to stay in. I would say this is 2 star at best and I am not one of them fussy buggers who expects the world, but for the money, it would definitely be worth booking somewhere else.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

PROS:

This hotel is right in the middle of everything. Great shops, restaurants, walking distance to many local attractions. The room we got had a rooftop balcony with a direct view of the eiffel tower - could not ask for a better room. We used the balcony to relax, have some excellent french wines and food and socialize with friends. Service was also great.

CONS: Hotel is a bit old, but did not affect our stay that much.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a rooftop terrace and the view of eiffel tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The location is definitely enticing but the hotel rooms and other services are just moderate. Love the family room though. If you are willing to spend a little more go for the one with balcony facing Eiffel Tower. A little bit about the location is that the hotel is very near to most famous boutique. We travelled with a 4yo daughter, and not much of a problem to 'roam' around. Near to Champs Elysees, Madeleine, small streets with shopping boutiques. If we walked a little more, we could even reached Gallerie Lafayette. If you are fussy about the room, this is just nice with great location. If not you can try Sofitel, just nearby.

Room Tip: Room with balcony facing the Eiffel Tower, apparently not many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Castiglione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Castiglione

Address: 38-40 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#377 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Castiglione 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Castiglione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Castiglione Hotel
De Castiglione Paris
Castiglione Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Castiglione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.