We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still under renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Castiglione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Castiglione to your Saves list
Hotel de Castiglione
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-40 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,651 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Still under renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location is amazing. But this is an old hotel under renovation.

I got one of the renovated room. It is spacious and nice. Although you can see still see part of the old room. Carpet is not renovated well enough.

My corridor is still under renovation. So wooden panel everywhere. But surprisingly, hardly heard any people working.

Got a room that is at the most furthest corner, Poor wifi reception there. Better ask for room near the elevator for better wifi reception.

Didn't get the breakfast, so no comment about it.

Room Tip: Poor wifi at the most corner room. Closer to the elevator should be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    68
    71
    66
    130
See reviews for
75
92
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

As many other reviews have said, this hotel is in an excellent location. In addition the staff I met seem well-meaning and helpful. Apart from this, I am struggling to find anything positive to say.

The first thing that hit me in the bedroom was the smell of stale cigarette smoke which was really unpleasant. The decor was tired and cupboard and drawers grimy from use. The carpet looked grubby to the point where I didn't want to walk barefoot on it. The bathroom at first glance was OK but closer examination of the bath revealed more grime - being generous I think this was due to its age (at least 20 years old). And there was a different smell - this time of drains.

To access the free Wifi, the guest is to call the front desk for a code - I tried but there was no response though, reading other reviews, this might not have worked anyway.

I decided that I wanted breakfast in my room the next morning so hung the request on the door. I awoke the next morning to the smell of cigarette smoke which must have been coming into the room via the (poor) ventilation system and waited for my breakfast. After a while, I checked outside the door and found my request still hanging there. I went to have breakfast in the restaurant: it was OK but really not worth 20 Euros - and I also had to contend with the sound of drilling and banging where they were refurbishing parts of the hotel (not made clear when I booked)

My stay was excruciatingly expensive as I booked it at the last minute - acceptable if the hotel is hygienic and efficient and is true to its four star rating. All things considered, there is nothing that would motivate me to stay in this hotel again.

If you are prepared to give it a chance despite the negative reviews, ask for a no-smoking, refurbished room (and bathroom), try and book with a good cancellation policy rather than pay upfront (so you can find somewhere else if need be) and have breakfast in one of the many fantastic cafes in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

An excellent location near restaurants and shopping, but more importantly, an easy walk (I am 60) through the Tuileries Garden to the Louvre Museum, Museum d’Orsay, Notre Dame Cathedral, and other highlights of Paris. Even the Eiffel Tower is walking distance, though farther. The Castiglione is an older hotel, and shows its age, but makes up for it in location. The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating; since I needed internet regularly for business, they even let us test the Wi-Fi in two different rooms before changing from a corner room that had intermittent connection to their Wi-Fi. With such a helpful staff combined with a great location, this is a very good hotel if you’re in Paris as a tourist.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This has got to be the worst hotel I have stayed in for years. The room made me feel physically sick, carpet disgusting full of stains, paint peeling from a wall, under construction and a warning sign on the door that says site closed to public. Wow, how this passed the test for habitation I will never know. Not a great start to a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has ongoing refurbishment. Some rooms are absolutely rubbish. We only got changed to a refurbished room when we created a ruckus.
Staff are helpful but restaurant can easily be skipped.
The locaton is ofcourse fantastic, which is why we choose to stay here despite the reviews on tripadvisor.
If we do return to Paris we would definitely stay in a better hotel and travel on the cheap and excellent public transport rather than come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our first stop in Europe and a BIG dissapointment.
Old, run down, little upkeep, A/C was not working in our friends room. The lobby under renovation, hallways dark, dirty and gloomy. Only nice thing I can say - good location and staff was friendly. Unless this place gets a total makeover - IT'S OVER!

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless remodeled. Best Western your BEST BET!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayford
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Air con not working no fan so room hot, run down, building work everywhere with no apology, no minibar. Breakfast reasonable value at €10, only good thing I can think of!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Castiglione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Castiglione

Address: 38-40 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#377 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Castiglione 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Castiglione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Castiglione Hotel
De Castiglione Paris
Castiglione Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Castiglione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.