We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.........not yet.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris La Villette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Paris La Villette to your Saves list
Mercure Paris La Villette
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   216 Avenue Jean Jaures | 19 Arr., 75019 Paris, France (Buttes Chaumont / La Villette)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,151 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Iloilo City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent.........not yet.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

My family had a Marian sojourn last April to May 2014 taking us across Europe and the crowning glory of that trip was Paris, France. We were checked in at Hotel Mercure, Paris La Villette at 216 avenue Jean Jaures. After our long train ride from Lourdes where we were cleansed, we arrived at Paris that got us all pumped up. My mind was in a frenzy thinking about Le Miserables, the Hunchback of Notre Dame,Napoleon etc. Upon arrival near but not in front of the Mercure, as there was still a vehicle right in front of the hotel so we had to make do to stopping a few meters from being in front of the hotel. We all excitedly got down and removed our luggage from the bus as we always did throughout the trip. Out of nowhere a bellhop from Mercure rushed at us screaming not to unload at the said area, he even threw some luggage back into our coach. One of our companions had to shout back at him not to throw their luggage. We told him the coach stopped there and we were told to unload why shout at us? But he was seething with anger looking for our driver who was very pleasant to us since picking us up in the train station and they almost came to blows at each other. talk about a grand welcome. nevertheless our room was nice however during our breakfast, since I have brown skin being a Filipino at that, we were told to not to sit in a table that was said to be reserved for some foreign nationals. This tables were clearly not marked, we were told to join our fellow pilgrims in a group of tables were we could no longer fit in. it was a good thing that our Spanish guide who could fluently speak French scolded the staff regarding the embarrassing predicament we went thru. I refused to let this experience change my perception of France being a great champion of LIBERTY and QUALITY after all their staff I believe benefitted the said ideals. The rooms are comfortable and our dinner was splendid . Mercure Paris La Villette can improve on their customer service. lastly I left my IPHONE there and it seems impossible to retrieve. So I am just looking forward to returning to Paris.........just to personally retrieve my IPHONE.

Room Tip: choose the room where there is a sort of a veranda which is actually a space which is part of the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia B, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Villette, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
We have carefully read your comment. We hope that you could nevertheless enjoy Paris and the city of music and the geode just opposite the Mercure Paris La Villette. We would be happy to welcome you again to give you the experience Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    131
    121
    60
    31
See reviews for
127
81
12
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The room was quiet, clean and quite spacious, with a modern, clean bathroom and excellent bed, pillows and sheets. The hotel is located by a rather congested street, but after the congestion, due to the location on northeast corner of Paris, there is very good access to the airport (22 mins, 45 euros with Uber in the morning.) The subway is nearby, and I did not find the neighbourhood scary at all as some reviewers stated even though I walked to the hotel after midnight on both nights. I stayed for two nights on a business trip. The hotel staff was polite and the check-in and out process was quick. The lobby and the restaurant were pleasant enough, suitable for business stay rather than a romantic holiday maybe. There is an excellent traditional bistro called Au Boeuf Couronne very nearby, very warmly recommended!

Room Tip: I do recommend against having an adjoining room as the sounds from the other room are hearable from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia B, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Villette, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Google Translation
merci beaucoup pour votre avis. Je vous confirme que le Bœuf Couronné est un excellent restaurant typique et traditionnel de la gastronomie française. L'équipe du Mercure Paris La Villette vous remercie pour votre retour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

So pleasantly surprised that since this has become a Mercure the quality of service
Breakfast however is a BIG let-down. The staff are very nice but the quality quantity and actual food itself is very poor in all aspects.
Mostly the staff behind the desk and in the restaurant were great but the night porters do not have a clue about anything much, and so don't expect anything extra there and to the one staff person who couldn't be bothered to find a box of tissues for someone who was crying hard : well shame on you because you let everyone on your team down!
Room decor is now lovely and the windows open and there is a much nicer sense of things overall

Room Tip: higher the better speaking of floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Villette, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Costumer,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

We apologize for the inconvenience occured concerning the attutide of our staff. Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours Sincerely,

Katia BELMONTE - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Just returned from our vacation to Paris, and our 3 night stay at this hotel.

At first reading the reviews on here, I was a little concerned.

I also sent emails prior to us arriving with queries which were answered promptly. Really appreciated the quick response on them.

But when we arrived, the hotel staff at reception were very helpful and quick in booking us into our rooms.

Our rooms were perfect, exactly as shown in the photo's. I'll upload photo's onto the site in the next few days. The rooms were clean and tidy as they should be and every thing more or less perfect.
The room had a flat screeen tv, kettle, trouser press, and plenty of sockets, including to our pleasant surprise a uk 3-pin socket.

The bathroom was also perfect, clean and modern.

The location of the hotel is about 20 minutes from the main sites in Paris, which is not bad at all by Metro, which just 2-3 minutes walk away from the main hotel entrance.

The neihbour of hotel we found was fine. We returned late into the evening on all the nights we were there, and also during the two days we came back in the day for a bit of rest to go back out again, and found no problems what so ever.

The room service was perfect with everything refreshed daily for both the rooms we had.

With two daughters 16 and 20, and my son 12, we all had a wonderful time in Paris, and the hotel was perfect for our stay.

I would certainly recommend the hotel.

Every one on reception was very helpfull through out our stay, and were very helpful and happy to see us.

Thank you to all the staff who were on duty at the Mecure La Villette from 14/08/14 to 17/08/14.

Javaid Iqbal

Room Tip: We were on floor 3 towards back of hotel. Room was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia B, General Manager at Mercure Paris La Villette, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear M. IQBAL,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very glad for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you shortly in Mercure Paris La Villette.

Sincerly Yours,

Katia BELMONTE - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The hotel it's ok but the neighbourhood is a bit scary. However is very close to a metro station and just in front of La Villete Park with a lot of cultural attractions. The room is very good and the staff very friendly. A bit pricy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Villette, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

In fact, we are located just in the front of the "Zenith", "Cité de la Musique", and "Cité des Sciences".

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours Sincerely,

Katia BELMONTE - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed with my family. Got a disasterous start when our floor was flooded because to pipe burst. Got a smaller room for the night. But changed to a bigger and newly renovated room after complain. Service much better in the morning than at night. Overall a good hotel for family and rooms are spacious.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia B, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Villette, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Sir,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry about the flood and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary works have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours Sincerely,

Katia BELMONTE - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris La Villette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Villette

Address: 216 Avenue Jean Jaures | 19 Arr., 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Buttes Chaumont / La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#353 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Villette 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Paris La Villette, in Paris, is located nearby Parc de la Villette, next to the Zenith, Cite des Sciences et de l'Industrie. Large rooms with TV, minibar, kettle, safety box, tea and coffee facilities and large bathrooms . Enjoy our restaurant with two terrasses, our bar. For leisure, minigym & with sauna are available Very easy to travel in Paris, metro and tramway stations are nearby and a private garage is also available. Idealistic area to travel easily in Paris. Reception: 24 hours. Access: subway line 5 porte de pantin,tramway line 3, exit Porte de pantin from the ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Paris La Villette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Paris-La Villette Hotel Paris
Paris Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris La Villette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.