We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, unpretentious hotel, ok if u get an upgraded room. Helpful staff. Hygiene and cleanliness hit and miss.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Vert Galant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Vert Galant to your Saves list
Hotel Le Vert Galant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43, rue Croulebarbe | 13th Arr., 75013 Paris, France (Gobelins)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #832 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheap, unpretentious hotel, ok if u get an upgraded room. Helpful staff. Hygiene and cleanliness hit and miss.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Inexpensive hotel with pleasant staff. Some rooms are bearly acceptable, with moldy bayhrooms and smelly carpets. Breakfast copious if plain however back room for prep unhygenic - dishes piled in sink,open cartons unrefeigerated, cold food left on benches.... We requested and got a renovated, cleaner room. Corridor carpets smelly and discoloured. Neighbourhood - we felt a little unsafe - mother and teenage daughter. Metro closed one day due to a violent snatch and grab. Two good snack bars - clean and friendlynstaff - kebab and pizza. Also a good Chinese resto. All to left of hotel exit..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    48
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
44
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel was being renovated when I stayed end of October and I got one of the newly renovated rooms that was right in front of the garden. The room is really spacious by Paris standards! They redid the rooms in a modern way, or at least that's what my friend said who got a non-renovated room on the upper floor. Breakfast was basic in their small reception area, with croissants, pain au choco, baguettes and butter and jam but you can also ask for yogurt, cheese or a piece of pie. The staff is really wonderful and friendly, especially Mr Christian who was always in a great mood. My only gripe is their wifi. It kept dropping on me, and the code I was given which is supposed to work for 7 days became invalid after 2 days and I had to get a new code and in the end didn't matter since I stopped connecting due to the constant dropping. A colleague was unable to connect at all. It's a 10 min walk to Place d'Italie and Chinatown which is more like Vietnamese town with tons of Pho noodle places. There is also a large shopping mall at Place d'Italie with a supermarket if you forgot anything for your stay. All in all, a very wonderful stay aside from the lack of reliable wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We found this hotel in a book about travelling to Paris with kids. It's a bit off the beaten path, but in walking distance of metro stops. We loved the garden and the home-like feel of the hotel. The rooms open up to the garden. The staff were very friendly. Even when there was an issue with the wi-fi, they went out of their way to make sure we had internet access. The breakfast was pricey, but we had a kitchenette in the room and there was a bakery a block away. The rooms were small, but that's not unusual for Paris. We made it work as a family of 4. We did like the neighborhood it was in, the quiet park across the street. We found this a very affordable hotel for Paris.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the garden. Ask about the kitchen, if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I spent four nights at Le Vert Galant while I was attending a conference nearby. It is very convenient for a variety of metro stops and a short walk one way to the Place d'Italie, where there are shops, and a short walk another way to the rue des Gobelins, which is an attractive and busy typically Parisian street with lots of restaurants. The hotel is small but comfortably furnished, with a very pretty garden where you can read or sit and chat. My room had a useful alcove with desk- I had no trouble with the wifi at all. The staff were pleasant and helpful without being pushy. It isn't a cheap hotel, and I thought 10 euros was a bit steep for the breakfast, considering that although there was a full basket on each table, it mostly consisted of pieces of bread, which isn't expensive. However, I wanted somewhere that was pleasant just to sit and rest in and this hotel is ideal for that. It was also raining very hard much of the time, so one needed to be comfortable in one's room. It is wonderfully quiet at night and in a pleasant, quite leafy part of Paris. The Basque restaurant next door was delightful and for a cheaper but still good quality dinner, La Touraine, a couple of doors further along, was less busy and good value. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to backpackers or people on a tight budget, but for a restful stay, enjoying Paris without being too touristy, this is an ideal place.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of bed: I was alone on this occasion, but had I been accompanied the bed, suppose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a five night stay at Le Vert Galant in April. We have a friend who lives in the 13th so we chose this hotel to be near her apartment. The hotel is located on a very quiet street across from a lovely park, so the setting is quite ideal. It is within a five minute walk of several metro stops and not far from both the Gobelins area and the Place d'Italie area ... and so convenience and location both get an A+++. The hotel itself is ... nice. Frankly, it is likely time for a little update of the rooms, but it was perfectly clean (well, nothing's perfect!) and the bed was certainly comfortable after long days of sightseeing in Paris. Room opens up onto a small garden area which, in summer, is likely very nice and quite unusual for Paris. The staff at the hotel were outstanding - both weekday staff and weekend staff - very friendly and accommodating. Free WIFI was excellent also. Breakfast was nice and convenient, although frankly 10 Euros seems a little high for bread and coffee. One major minus ... the walls of the hotel are paper thin and thus you can hear the neighbour's conversation word for word - day or night. Overall, a nice choice for a three star in an otherwise confusing maze of in the hit and miss hotel market of Paris.

Room Tip: Room 2 was close to the entrance and adequately sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We have just returned from our 2nd stay here and loved it. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are comfortable and quiet.
It's in a wonderful location situated between 3 Metro stations on 2 lines, and lots of restaurants. Place D'Italie is no more than 10 minutes walk away with shops and places to eat.
Opposite the hotel is a small park, with a little café, a lovely place to sit and have a cup of tea while watching the local children playing in the play area.
I would definitely recommend this hotel...if you want clean and comfortable with no frills that won't break the bank?? This is the place to be!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Vert Galant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vert Galant

Address: 43, rue Croulebarbe | 13th Arr., 75013 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #832 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Vert Galant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three stars Le Vert Galant Residence is situated in the 13th district of Paris. 15 rooms in a beautiful private garden. Internet WIFI, direct telephone, bath or shower, hair dryer. Some rooms with kitchenette. Restaurant with Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Vert Galant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vert Galant Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Vert Galant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.