We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotels ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Parc Montsouris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Parc Montsouris to your Saves list
Hotel du Parc Montsouris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue du Parc de Montsouris, 75014 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,108 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the worst hotels ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

OK it's a great location up a quiet side street near the idyllic Parc but otherwise finding anything to recommend is nigh on impossible. From the outside you'd imagine it might be charming, tasteful and quaint. But it appears to have been last refurbished in the 60s or 70s and then on the cheap. Awful tiles, cheap mirrors, faded purple carpets, and the towels must be decades old they manage to be hard and threadbare at the same time. The breakfast is yesterdays baguettes. The reception is lukewarm and charmless. Not French. Avoid

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
12
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First and foremost, the hotel is a small and lovely experience. The courtyard makes you forget you're in the middle of one of the world's large cities. Its proximity to the metro is ideal and the surrounding area is full of greenery and fine curiosities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is as good as a two star hotel in Paris gets... Great value and a pleasant experience in a clean property (though beds a little lumpy). The hotel is not quite in the middle of the action - though you are right next to a wonderful park. If you are visiting Cite University, this is a perfect location. It's about a 30 minute stroll to Luxembourg Gardens and all the tourist sights. Very close to RER station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We, a family of 2 adults and 2 kids of 4 and 8 years decided spontanously to go to Paris, a decision made only one week before the Easter weekend. Of course most of the the Paris hotels I knew were booked out by then, but I found this one and from the reviews and the price it costed, I decided to take a chance on it. The hotel is located in a totally residential area, close to the "Parc de Montsouris". Beware if you arrive with your own car, the hotel has no own parking space, and the parking situation is rather difficult around the hotel. If you arrive by car, you'll probably need to go to a parking 2 or 3 tram stations away from the hotel, like for example the "Stade Chariéty" parking, about 1 km away. If you arrive however by public transport, there's no problem. The RER metro station "Cité Universitäre" is about 400 m away, and the tram station "Montsouris" only about 100 m away. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, I believe that it's ran by an Indian family and relatives. The reception area consitst of the breakfast room to the left, and the reception and seating area to the right. The elevator is rather small, but 4 persons fit in it, I've seen much smaller in Paris. We reserved a 4 persons room, and got one in the 6th. floor with 2 double beds (room 636 as I remember). The 6th. floor is the top floor. The room was actually an "en suite" room, consisting of 2 separate rooms each one with a queen sized bed, connected with a short gangway with the bathroom in the middle. The bathroom was rather small but correct, with a shower. I really liked the setup of the room(s) we got, it felt like a little appartment. The rooms were cozy and nice, and best of all: free view to the Eiffel tower and to the Tour Montparnasse, from both of the rooms! We slept very well, and we also enjoyed the breakfast which was not over-expensive, as in many other hotels (€ 9.-- per person, as I recall). The breakfast consisted of a variety of different breds, chocolate breads, fresh croissants, baguette, etc., with jelly, butter, honey, cheese, and the usual selection of beverages. It was very good and it was a lot, we were not able to eat all of that. I would definitely return to this hotel with the family, I think it's a fair deal.

Room Tip: I had room 636 in the sixth (top) floor, a 4-persons room. I recommend it, consista actually of 2 ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

You pay a fair price for a fair service. It is a nice tourist hotel, with very friendly staff. Like in a lot of Paris hotels, you feel like a giant when entering: a tiny elevator, narrow staircase, bathroom, etc. But it’s all there, functions properly and is clean. The breakfast is simply but well taken care off and more than enough to start your day. The location is charming: next to Parc Montsouris (probably the nicest parc in Paris) and in a quiet and neat neighborhood. Parking is a crime, like everywhere in Paris. The nearby (2 stops with the tram) rugby stadium holds a parking lot against reasonable prices. We picked this hotel because it is close to the Cité Universitaire Internationale, where one of our sons resides. On checking out, I was told to phone if we would visit again, for there are special arrangements for visitors of the Cité.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Three adult siblings and I stayed here for four nights over the Christmas holidays. It was our first time in Paris and this hotel met our expectations, nothing more nothing less. We shared a room for four people (two double beds) with one toilet and bath.

I like the location. It is in a quiet and safe part of Paris, beside Parc Montsouris. It's a few minutes walk from two metro stations. And you'll feel safe even if you come home past midnight.

The rooms were small, just enough. The beddings and carpets look old and tired. Or was it French fashion? The bathroom was small but always kept clean. I liked the fact that we had a small view of the Eiffel Tower. It reminded me everyday that we're in Paris. The reception staff were always polite and helpful.

For the wifi, you need to ask for a new password everyday. There was breakfast available, but we did not try it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

i enjoyed the location , which allowed me to discover some new area in Paris. the room is small ( I would say like many hotels in Paris) . it is well equiped, the bathroom is clean and ok for the use
the place is very quiet. breakfast served is not exceptionnal but good!
no complain, just a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Parc Montsouris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc Montsouris

Address: 4 rue du Parc de Montsouris, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Parc Montsouris 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Parc Montsouris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Montsouris Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Parc Montsouris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.