We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay close to the Cité Universitaire in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Parc Montsouris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Parc Montsouris to your Saves list
Hotel du Parc Montsouris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue du Parc de Montsouris, 75014 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,122 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Pavia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A nice stay close to the Cité Universitaire in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and me stayed for three nights at the hotel visiting our daughter at la Cité Universitaire.
The hotel is very close to Parc Montsouris and very quiet. We had a room with two sleeping rooms (1 with a double bed and 1 with a single bed) and a small but clean bathroom with a shower. The hotel location is very quiet and the area is very safe at every hour.
The RER B stop is just a few hundred meters far and the tram T3 stop is a 50 meters far.
Reaching every part of the town is easy.
The elevator is very small and it can hardly fit two persons with bagages. The rooms are not "new" or fancies but they are clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
12
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in June 2010. We were in a family room - 2 adjoining rooms with a small bath with shower between. Blessedly quiet next to the lovely Parc Montsouris, steps away from Cite Universitaire, this hotel was just what we were looking for. Nothing fancy, but clean, friendly and quiet. Steps away from RER and metro stops, with a bonus of a distant view of the twinkle of the Eiffel Tower from our bedroom window. "But of course, this is Paris."

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

I would recommend the this hotel to anyone looking to stay in a quiet area of Paris. It is away from the city center off the beautiful Montsouris Parc. The parc itself is large, beautiful, and perfect for a picnic or playdate with kids. The hotel is clean, bathrooms are nice, and staff is friendly and helpful.
The only downfall is that the breakfast inclusion was unclear: I paid for the hotel in full and declined the breakfast for my parents. (they were the ones that stayed. I simply was the one who set up the reservation.) When my parents checked in they were told that breakfast was included but after a two night stay they checked out to a 32 euro bill for the breakfast. The confusion was a little annoying but luckily the breakfast was good and my parents were not disappointed. I just wish it had been more clear.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

The Hotel du Parc Montsouris has a government rating of two stars but in my opinion it’s a one-star hotel aspiring to be a two-star hotel & alas it’s falling way short of its goal.

We made a reservation for three nights in July, 2010.

Within hours of our arrival on the first night, we vowed that we would not spend more than one night at this hotel (& we did not!).

There is no ventilation: no air conditioning, no ceiling fan. On a summer night, you must try to fall asleep in a warm stuffy room.

Perhaps a cold drink would help in this situation. Sorry, this hotel does not have an ice machine.

The hotel has wireless internet service which disconnects about every 10 minutes. You will be more productive communicating through smoke signals.

If you’re looking for a hotel in the Cité Universitaire area there are far better options. For example, the Hotel Ibis Paris Porte d'Orléans is far more comfortable & less expensive than the Hotel du Parc Montsouris, & it’s only about a half-mile away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

We had the garret bedrooms overlooking the picturesque Parisian roof tops. It felt very Parisian without being right in the centre. Its very quick to get to from the Péripherique.

Opposite a lovely park, near the RER, cheap, it was certainly what we were looking for.

It also had the holy grail of a family room where the children weren't squashed on rickety camp beds. We, the parents, also had a modicum of privacy (the family room was made up of two conjoined rooms).

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

This is an inexpensive (roughly 70€/night), quiet, very clean, somewhat plain, but friendly hotel, which is perfect if that is what you need while in Paris. I was housed here when I came to Paris for a conference a few years ago, and chose to come back this month when I returned to Paris on my own.

My room the first time was large, opening onto a small grassy courtyard that was quite nice. This time, I had a tiny room in the front building, whose windows opened onto the very quiet street. Both rooms had few frills, but were spotlessly clean, well cared-for, and comfortable. There's a TV, a phone, and free WiFi that works in fits and starts.

The area is quite pretty (there's a park across the street), but has few of the amenities of a real neighborhood: no shops, just one cafe/restaurant around the corner. On the other hand, you can walk to such things, or you can step onto the RER train (a commuter train system that is basically an extension of the Metro inside Paris) -- the station is a 4-minute walk -- and in a few stops you are in the center of everything. There's also a tram line that connects with the Metro at either end. Still, the quiet of the place is a nice contrast to my experiences in other, more central but noisy Paris hotels over the years. The absence of local amenities is probably due to the looming presence of the Cité Universitaire, the dormitory campus for Paris' foreign student population, which has its own student union building with cafeterias, laundry. etc. for the students who live there.

Unlike some others, I found the staff friendly and helpful when I had a question (though I don't think they speak much English).

In short, this isn't a fancy place, but it's completely reliable and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany/UK
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

The Hotel du Parc Montsouris is less than half an hour away from the Gare du Nord. The RER station at the Cité universitaire is five minutes walk away. The hotel is situated in a quiet side street. The park is across the road and is really pleasant for a walk or a jog.
We've stayed here a couple of times, most recently in March 2009. The rooms are small but clean. Breakfast is in the lobby and fine for 8 EUR. We paid 75 EUR for a double room, cheap for Paris. There is free Wifi which mostly worked. The staff varied from helpful and friendly to Parisian default mode.
If you don't need luxury this is a pleasant, conveniently located place to stay. You can spend the money you save on good meals out.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Parc Montsouris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc Montsouris

Address: 4 rue du Parc de Montsouris, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,122 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Parc Montsouris 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Parc Montsouris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Montsouris Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Parc Montsouris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.