We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend In Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Deux Continents

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Deux Continents to your Saves list
Hotel des Deux Continents
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 rue Jacob | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #924 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Stow on the Wold, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Weekend In Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here for three nights an ideal place to lay your head after a busy day sight seeing.
The location is excellent in the St Germain area, easy walking access to many of the attractions , there are plenty of lovely restaurants in this area too.
I did not eat in at the hotel so can not comment on the food.
The room was at the top of the stairs on first landing, An adequate room, Twin beds, bedside table with lamp where I found the last occupants contact lenses !!! Far side of the room a table and chair. A window looked out on the inner court yard terrace where they had pretty pink geraniums planted along with some box hedging in pots, artificial but very effective. The Bathroom was small the shower did tend to soak the whole floor as there was no sliding door, but again adequate for the busy sightseer. The staff where very polite and welcoming.
For the amount of time I spent in this hotel I felt it was a good choice for the busy weekend that was planned. Would I go back again ? Yes, I need to see every thing I missed the first time round !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Hester L,

We want to thank you for choosing Hotel Des Deux Continents for your stay in Paris.

Saint-Germain des Près is a great location and a central place for a visit of the city. Specially in Summer, because you can access many touristic places by walk. However, you will need more than 2 stays to see everything in Paris!
As we are renovating the rooms, we took note of your remark concerning the shower.

We would be pleased to welcome you back to Hotel Des Deux Continents, maybe after renovations to show you the result.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    55
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
24
37
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We've planned to stay in the hotel for 5 nights @195EUR/night.
We arrived around 3PM and our room was not ready. There was no person speaking any other language except of French available at the time we arrived and no body could explain what was going on. We returned to hotel 2 hours later when we found out:
1. card lock did not work. Only receptionist could open the door with service key. It was especially "helpful" when we'd arrived at 23:00 and we had to wait about 20 min at reception to get to our room!!!
2. bathroom door was hard to open not to mention almost impossible to close
3. aircon was not working, our window was at eyelevel so if we wanted open the window to get a fresh air - everybody who passed the hallway could see inside our room. (ROOM 310)
4. "buffet breakfast" was a joke. it was more like continental breakfast: bread, croissants, jam, butter, cheese, corn flakes, juice, coffee.

We have decided to cancel our booking. I must admit that staff did not object and they did not charge us cancellation fee.

I am frequent traveler, I've been at many places around the world and I have never canceled my booking due to poor standards. This was my first time.

Thankfully we were able to find immediately decent accommodation at the similar rates and bad experience with this Hotel did not spoil our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear BorisScuba,

We are sorry to read your comment about your stay. Well being of our guests is our main priority and your experience does not reflect our tourism conception.

We do all want to apologize for what which should never have happened.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in order to give you another idea of our Hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the third building, on a quiet courtyard far from the street. Room was on the large side for Paris with newly renovated furniture and bathroom and 2 large windows. Neighborhood is fantastic - just behind St Germain. Only 2 rooms per floor in the building 3 so extra quiet. Hotel needs to extend high standard of rooms to lobby, which looks a bit worn.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Zoette0704,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Des Deux Continents.

All the staff was pleased to read your nice comment and we were all glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Paris.
As you could see, we started renovations in the 3rd building but we inform you that all the hotel will be renovated. Af course, changes take time but your opinion is very important for us. It helps us to improve our services.
We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Des Deux Continents, maybe after all renovations in order to show you the result...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location in the St Germain area, close to many eateries and tourist attractions, and just five mins from the metro which takes you straight to the Gare du Nord. The good points largely stop there. This hotel is very tired and shabby, though it seems some renovation work is happening at the back. The room I had was OK - a decent size and comfortable enough - but the decor is enough to give you a headache. (It was not as pictured!) More importantly, there seem to be at least two separate parts to the hotel, such that some rooms are accessible by lift but others only by a narrow spiral staircase, up which you must haul your luggage. If you have restricted mobility you should state this when you book. Check in was relatively efficient, though check out was very slow. Breakfast was drab and limited. Overall, you are paying quite a lot (up to €160) largely for the location. Typical of Paris, I guess; but when I next go I shall try out somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Leejones_san,

We want to thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Deux Continents.

Saint-Germain des Près is a very nice district and we are glad to be located in such a lively area. However, we can not just offer a good location. Well-being of our guests is our main priority, that is why we apologize for your experience at Hotel Des Deux Continents.
We started renovations few months ago, and we will put a lift in the building which has just stairs for the moment. We always inform our guests that the room they book have a lift or not. It is written in the room category, and it is less expensive than the others. It is important to prevent.

We would be pleased to welcome you back to Hotel Des Deux Continents, in order to make you discover our "new" hotel...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a few times and it seems to get worse and worse every time. The rooms differ in quality significantly as well. This time we had a 3rd floor walkup room - which is fine as we are quite fit... however the room was horrific. The toilet appeared as though it had not been cleaned this decade, the floor was so dirty that we would not walk on it without shoes, the shower curtain was vile. The location is quite good but you can find much better deals and hotels elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Lizzielee,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Des Deux Continents during your stay in Paris.

However, we were sorry to read that you had such a bad experience with us. We started big renovations and all the hotel will be new in few months. Corridors, stairs, rooms and bathrooms will be renovated. For the moment, only 10 rooms have been finished and we would be pleased to welcome you back again to show you the result.

We hope to be able to welcome you in our renovated room for your next stay in Paris and we apologize again for your bad feeling regarding Hotel Des Deux Continents.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We've stayed at this Hotel many times in the past and were always happy. Location is certainly a key factor. The reception staff is very friendly and helpful. In the past year we had room 122 on the second floor. This was our favorite so far. Nice big bathroom and a small stand up balcony. This room was currently under renovation. Last week we had room 112. Small but cozy. It should be nice once renovated. The toilet also needs some upgrading. The free WiFi valid for 5 days is much appreciated, even though connection was pretty slow in our room (it was better when sitting at the desk in front of the room). We are looking forward to come back to the hotel and just hope that the price increase will not be too stiff due to the renovations.

Room Tip: Room 122 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Pbigler,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment about Hotel Des Deux Continents.

Saint-Germain des Près is a very nice and lively area. But besides location, we pay much attention to well being of our guests. That is why feedback are so important for us. Every rooms and public areas will be renovated this year, we will be pleased to show you the result. Your loyalty is our best reward, and we hope it will continue.
We will also have a look at the Wifi connection to understand why it was slow in your room.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Des Deux Continents.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omer, israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed for one night in November 2011, and looked for a hotel in that location.
I did not have a lot of expectation, and was not dissapointed. the room was clean and comfortable, and I loved the location. Walking distance to the places I love in Paris.
Not honeymoon hotel, but economic and comfortable. The staff weere attentive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Dov B,

We want to thank you for your nice comment about Hotel Des Deux Continents.
Saint-Germain des Près is a very nice area, and a central location for a visit of Paris. Comfort and cleanliness are priorities, and all the staff was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you came to the hotel in 2011, we inform you that we started some renovations. We would be pleased to welcome you again in order to show you the results.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Deux Continents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Deux Continents

Address: 25 rue Jacob | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#403 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Deux Continents 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Deux Continents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Deux Continents Paris
Des Deux Continents Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Deux Continents, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.