We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Upper Mid-Range Hotel, but dangerous staircase” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tour d'Auvergne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tour d'Auvergne to your Saves list
Hotel Tour d'Auvergne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 rue de la Tour d'Auvergne | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pretty Upper Mid-Range Hotel, but dangerous staircase”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great hotel in an area where there aren't all that many good hotels (i.e. north central Paris, ten minutes walk from Gare du Nord). Nice short walk to Sacré-Coeur.

We stayed one night in a standard double room which was uniquely and charmingly decorated (without being over the top) and spotlessly clean.

Unlike many mid-range hotels in Paris, in this hotel it is worth spending the extra 10 Euro (5 Euro per person) for the included breakfast, which consists of (all of the following) mini-baguette, cheese, jam, mini croissant, mini pain au chocolat, mini fruit salad, mini yoghurt, a large fruit juice and large tea/coffee. All very fresh, very tasty and very filling.

A couple of things to be aware of. Firstly, when we stepped out of the lift on the third floor the stairwell light was off (pitch black) and there is a diagonal stair (top of the spiral staircase) right across the space the lift door opens onto. Whilst trying to find the light switch in the darkness, I came very close to falling down the stairs. When the lights are off, this is a very dangerous area and a serious accident waiting to happen. The lights on the staircase should be permanently kept on.

Secondly, and a more minor point, but the free hotel wifi has a signup page that appears to be in french only. Clicking the "EN" option still takes you to the french page. I am sure if I had asked, the friendly staff would have assisted but I was short of time so had to use roaming instead.

All in all a little more expensive than many mid-range hotels, but it really is worth it. Just be very careful when stepping out of the lift!

Room Tip: Be careful on the third floor - there is a diagonal step across the space the lift door opens onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    99
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
172
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that is just a 10 minute walk from Gare du Nord - if, like us, you're coming in from CDG or even from many train stations north of Paris, it is so lovely to not have to take an additional metro to get there with your luggage! The hotel is clean, comfortable and mostly very quiet. Most of the staff have been absolutely lovely and accommodating. For Paris, it is definitely a good find!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the one of the most charming hotels that I ever visited with my fiancee.
Location very pleasent, just 10 min walk from Sacre Ceur and 3 min. from metro station "Cadet".
Pictures on official web site, reflects the real wiev of the hotel lobby, restaurant and rooms (renovated around 1-3 years ago) in 100%!
The great advantage of this hotel is Staff (without exceptions), special thanks to Narcisse!
The only think that could be "improoved" is breakfast menu => althougt fresh and oryginally served, could be more diversified (especially if you are staying for 6 nights like I did;-)

To sum up,

We will surelly return here when visit Paris again :)

Ps- If you suffer for claustrofobia and afraid cameral corridors and tiny elevators, ask for one of the rooms on the reception level.

Kasia & Karol

Room Tip: Rooms number 1 & 2 probably bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The people working at reception are very helpful and polite. The decoration of the hotel is very modern and contemporary.
Breakfast was Amazing.
Is only 10 minutes walking distance from the train station Gare du Nort, Montmartre, Lafayette galleries.
2 mins walking distance from the near tube station Cadet, 2 mins walking distance from a supermarket, bars and restaurants.
Very please.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights for a quick break of scenery, really surprised at how good it was. Usual Paris three star hotels are usually gruesome. Not this one...great room, lovely helpful staff, nice ambiance and location couldn't be better for metro's and Montmartre...also really near to interesting shops and nightlife on Rue Des Martyrs...which any foodie types will love.

Room Tip: We had inward facing on top floor...very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Booking through Railbookers was so easy, and their staff genuinely knew this hotel, so I felt confident booking it. The hotel is close to Cadet on Ligne 7, but you can take a 7 minute taxi ride from Gare du Nord. Watch out for the 'helpful' people who want to carry your bag at the station!
But once you arrive at the Hotel de la Tour d'Auvergne, which is in a side street, you'll feel miles from the station. The staff are really friendly and most helpful.
Our bedroom was large for Paris, nice decor, and the bathroom very clean. The best part was the breakfast ; compact but lovely room, with fruit, fromage frais, fruit juice, croissants, rolls and pain au chocolat, served by very courteous staff. Breakfasts of this standard are not common in Paris.
One evening, as we returned from dinner, we felt very sorry for a member of staff who had only started the day before, and who got locked out by accident. She waited outside for two hours in the freezing cold, without a coat, in order to make sure that no guests returned and were confused by the closed door. Although it was slightly inconvenient waiting for a keyholder, there were plenty of restaurants and brasseries nearby to offer warmth. We were impressed by the receptionist's standard of commitment. Some people would have just walked off. This reflected the professional attitude of all the staff.


We can recommend a brasserie five minutes away - La Terrasse de Maubeuge, 4, Rue Choron serves a very traditional menu at very reasonable prices, and the proprietor and staff are very welcoming. There are also excellent Italian and African restaurants within a couple of minutes.

This is an interesting area; a walk away from Sacre Coeur, but well away from the brittleness of Pigalle. The Metro trip to Louvre is less than ten minutes, so buying a carnet of ten tickets makes sense.

We also found the Car Rouge bus great fun, and the Batobus was brilliant value too!

Don't be put off by stories of grumpy Parisians and extortionate food prices - you will have a pleasant surprise.

In all, this holiday overturned all the clichés about cynical Parisians. We definitely hope to return.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, which meant heavy reliance on the teeniest lift ever! But, even though ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a-duval, Propriétaire at Hotel Tour d'Auvergne, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
thank you for your opinion
we ll inform our team about your advice, your satisfaction is their best motivation
A DUVAL
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tour d'Auvergne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tour d'Auvergne

Address: 10 rue de la Tour d'Auvergne | 09 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tour d'Auvergne 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tour d'Auvergne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tour d'Auvergne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.