We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a short trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais du Louvre

Save Saved
You added Le Relais du Louvre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Relais du Louvre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue des Pretres-Saint-Germain-l'Auxerrois, 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #225 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent for a short trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here in November 2012 and had a very delightful experience.

Positives:

- Rooms are clean and have all the amenities you need.
- The staff there was very helpful, polite and friendly.
- Louvre is less than 5 minutes’ walk away with many other tourists’ hotspots easy to get to
- Lots of places to eat and drink nearby and plenty of shops right round the corner.

Negatives:

- The rooms are fairly small so if you have a large family or are there for more than a few days and or you like to spend lots of time in the hotel room then you may find it a little too cosy
- There is no breakfast room so you have to have this in your room
- There was no tea or coffee making facilities.

Overall:

It's a great place to stay, it has all the essentials you need for a short trip and it is perfectly clean. Yes, the lack of onsite breakfast room and tea making facilities is a bit of a let-down but go out and explore the local surroundings, that’s what you are there for, right? I would definitely recommend this to a friend and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    104
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
93
77
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Relais du Louvre is something I never thought I would find in Paris - clean, well located and welcoming. The rooms are not enormous as you would expect in any city but Room 12 housed three of us very comfortably for our three night stay. The bathroom was spacious and had a full sized bath and a good shower with a glass screen over the bath. A particular reason for booking here was that they are able to accommodate three people in a room with relative ease (we were a party of five - Grandma, three sisters and one niece).

The location of the hotel is fantastic - most of Paris is within walking distance, as we proved, and it is great to be so near the river. The hotel is tucked down a side street, just off the Rue de Rivoli - great shopping - and despite the fact the road outside was being dug up, we never heard a thing.

The Direction were very friendly and accommodating and were able to offer recommendations and provide "express" tickets for most attractions. We particularly enjoyed a dinner cruise with the company Bateaux Parisien - not cheap but well worth every Euro [note: we were in a quandary whether to pay more than the basic 90 Euro per head but it is certainly not necessary as the "cheap" seats at this price are as good, if not better, than any other. Dinner on board was fantastic and apparently the chef of the day was Alain Ducasse. Plenty of wine included - three bottles between five of us (!) and a welcome drink with canapes. Our waitress Audrey was great and the whole evening was an unforgettable experience for all ages.

The hotel were able to provide local recommendations for dinner each evening and we would particularly recommend La Fumeur - less than five minutes walk away.

The only draw back from our point of view was that breakfast is only available in your room and as we wanted to have this together it was not particularly practical from our point of view. However there are plenty of places that do a breakfast within a five minute walk. We tried a different one each day and all were fine. The hotel did say however that if we did not want to pay the full price of a large breakfast, they would be happy to offer a basic coffee, croissant alternative for a reduced fee.

The rooms were spotless, the Direction more than welcoming and efficiently friendly - all in all it could not have been better and I cannot think of any reason not to recommend this hotel. Thank you to all other Reviewers who put us onto this real gem in a City where it is all to easy to be ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were warmly welcomed from our Transatlantic flight and ushered into our room at noon. Be wiser than we were and take the hotel's up on its ability to arrange for you to be met at the airport and chauffeured straight to the hotel for about 40€. The only complexity is that you must phone when you've collected your luggage, and then stay confidently put while your chauffeur pulls the car up and comes inside to collect you. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and efficient. The location at the east end of the Louvre is quiet yet very conveniently located to all of Paris's attractions. The staff are also knowledgeable about restaurants. If your credit card charges less than 3% to convert euros into the currency in which you pay, as the hotel to charge you in euros; otherwise, they will charge in your currency through an agency that adds 3% (at the lower end, sad to say, of the banks' exchange rip offs).

Room Tip: The extra space in larger rooms is very welcome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel. Location was excellent, service friendly and helpful. Our room(s) were fine. Very clean. We spent several nights in a junior suite ( comfortable) and one night in a standard room. (tiny and challenging!) I have no faults with this hotel other than the value to price. It just felt too expensive for what we were getting. We stayed at the Britannique on our stay before this one in Paris and while the room size was somewhere between the Relais' Jr, suite and the standard, the room layout at the Britannique just flowed better. And the price felt more in line with the room size.

Would I stay at this hotel again.. maybe....would I recommend it to friends...yes...if..you could get a cheaper rate... But, personally, for the nearly 300E a night we paid for the Jr. suite, I would be more inclined to keep looking for that "perfect" hotel in Paris.

Room Tip: The standard room was the smallest hotel room I have ever been in....if you need space choose a Jr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The plus is certainly the location, directly behind the Louvre and in a quiet side street. The room was small but clean. A family room at 450 EUR without breakfast is not cheap but this is Paris. The staff was so helpful and friendly! They assist you with restaurant reservations. There is a public parking next to the hotel (26 EUR per night for hotel guests).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is reasonably priced and so close to the heart of Paris, yet it's on a quiet side street. If you're going to be seeing the Louvre a lot it is of course very convenient. We stayed and loved it.
We actually stayed at the Relais du Louvre a few years prior to the date on the review but we liked is so much I had to endorse it now.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Le Relais Du Louvre on September 2012.
It was a wonderful stay!
The location in the BEST in the city- next to the Louvre, Pont Neuf and the city center.
We walked on foot everywhere- all the way to Arc de Triumph, Notre Dame, the Latin quarter and even the Sacre Coeur!
The rooms are small but convenient.
The staff is AMAZING, helful and SO friendly!
Really- we had a wondeful time!
We highly reccomend this stay in Paris.
We would return :-)

Rachel and Elad

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Relais du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Louvre

Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Louvre Hotel Paris
Le Relais Du Louvre Paris
Le Relais Du Louvre Hotel
Address: 19 rue des Pretres-Saint-Germain-l'Auxerrois, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in Paris
#166 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Louvre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel offers 22 fully renovated rooms right in front of the Louvre Museum (10 rooms have a view on the Louvre Museum). The street is very quiet but located right in the middle of the city. Most monuments such as Notre-Dame, the Louvre Museum, the Opera House, the Champs Elysées, the Pompidou Centre, the Sainte-Chapelle and the Conciergerie but also the Seine river with the Ile de la Cité and Ile Saint-Louis are walking distance. Parking is available and internet is free and unlimited in the whole hotel. The staff speaks many languages fluently and wolcomes you as if you were guest in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Le Relais du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais du Louvre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.