We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no Further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais du Louvre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Relais du Louvre to your Saves list
Le Relais du Louvre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue des Pretres-Saint-Germain-l'Auxerrois, 75001 Paris, France (Les Halles)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Forest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Look no Further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Relais du Louvre is something I never thought I would find in Paris - clean, well located and welcoming. The rooms are not enormous as you would expect in any city but Room 12 housed three of us very comfortably for our three night stay. The bathroom was spacious and had a full sized bath and a good shower with a glass screen over the bath. A particular reason for booking here was that they are able to accommodate three people in a room with relative ease (we were a party of five - Grandma, three sisters and one niece).

The location of the hotel is fantastic - most of Paris is within walking distance, as we proved, and it is great to be so near the river. The hotel is tucked down a side street, just off the Rue de Rivoli - great shopping - and despite the fact the road outside was being dug up, we never heard a thing.

The Direction were very friendly and accommodating and were able to offer recommendations and provide "express" tickets for most attractions. We particularly enjoyed a dinner cruise with the company Bateaux Parisien - not cheap but well worth every Euro [note: we were in a quandary whether to pay more than the basic 90 Euro per head but it is certainly not necessary as the "cheap" seats at this price are as good, if not better, than any other. Dinner on board was fantastic and apparently the chef of the day was Alain Ducasse. Plenty of wine included - three bottles between five of us (!) and a welcome drink with canapes. Our waitress Audrey was great and the whole evening was an unforgettable experience for all ages.

The hotel were able to provide local recommendations for dinner each evening and we would particularly recommend La Fumeur - less than five minutes walk away.

The only draw back from our point of view was that breakfast is only available in your room and as we wanted to have this together it was not particularly practical from our point of view. However there are plenty of places that do a breakfast within a five minute walk. We tried a different one each day and all were fine. The hotel did say however that if we did not want to pay the full price of a large breakfast, they would be happy to offer a basic coffee, croissant alternative for a reduced fee.

The rooms were spotless, the Direction more than welcoming and efficiently friendly - all in all it could not have been better and I cannot think of any reason not to recommend this hotel. Thank you to all other Reviewers who put us onto this real gem in a City where it is all to easy to be ripped off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    129
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
129
102
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were warmly welcomed from our Transatlantic flight and ushered into our room at noon. Be wiser than we were and take the hotel's up on its ability to arrange for you to be met at the airport and chauffeured straight to the hotel for about 40€. The only complexity is that you must phone when you've collected your luggage, and then stay confidently put while your chauffeur pulls the car up and comes inside to collect you. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and efficient. The location at the east end of the Louvre is quiet yet very conveniently located to all of Paris's attractions. The staff are also knowledgeable about restaurants. If your credit card charges less than 3% to convert euros into the currency in which you pay, as the hotel to charge you in euros; otherwise, they will charge in your currency through an agency that adds 3% (at the lower end, sad to say, of the banks' exchange rip offs).

Room Tip: The extra space in larger rooms is very welcome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel. Location was excellent, service friendly and helpful. Our room(s) were fine. Very clean. We spent several nights in a junior suite ( comfortable) and one night in a standard room. (tiny and challenging!) I have no faults with this hotel other than the value to price. It just felt too expensive for what we were getting. We stayed at the Britannique on our stay before this one in Paris and while the room size was somewhere between the Relais' Jr, suite and the standard, the room layout at the Britannique just flowed better. And the price felt more in line with the room size.

Would I stay at this hotel again.. maybe....would I recommend it to friends...yes...if..you could get a cheaper rate... But, personally, for the nearly 300E a night we paid for the Jr. suite, I would be more inclined to keep looking for that "perfect" hotel in Paris.

Room Tip: The standard room was the smallest hotel room I have ever been in....if you need space choose a Jr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The plus is certainly the location, directly behind the Louvre and in a quiet side street. The room was small but clean. A family room at 450 EUR without breakfast is not cheap but this is Paris. The staff was so helpful and friendly! They assist you with restaurant reservations. There is a public parking next to the hotel (26 EUR per night for hotel guests).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is reasonably priced and so close to the heart of Paris, yet it's on a quiet side street. If you're going to be seeing the Louvre a lot it is of course very convenient. We stayed and loved it.
We actually stayed at the Relais du Louvre a few years prior to the date on the review but we liked is so much I had to endorse it now.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Le Relais Du Louvre on September 2012.
It was a wonderful stay!
The location in the BEST in the city- next to the Louvre, Pont Neuf and the city center.
We walked on foot everywhere- all the way to Arc de Triumph, Notre Dame, the Latin quarter and even the Sacre Coeur!
The rooms are small but convenient.
The staff is AMAZING, helful and SO friendly!
Really- we had a wondeful time!
We highly reccomend this stay in Paris.
We would return :-)

Rachel and Elad

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

For a conveniently located hotel (right behind the Louvre), Le Relais du Louvre is hard to beat. You can walk to many attractions, such as Notre Dame de Paris, Sainte-Chapelle, and the Musée d'Orsay. Restaurants abound in the neighborhood.
All the staff were cheery, helpful, and easy to communicate with in several languages. Sophie in particular doubles as a well-informed concierge. She can book restaurant reservations, the airport van, and taxis for you. When we arrived on an early flight, she arranged for our room to be readied while we sat in the lobby for half an hour--very welcome to weary transatlantic travelers.
Rooms are not large, but then few Paris hotel rooms are. Ours was clean and had a modern bathroom, small refrigerator, and room safe. Breakfast is served only in your room and is rather pricey; you may prefer to walk to a cafe. Free wifi worked well.
One word of warning: Specify what currency you want charged to your credit card. If you have a card (such as Capital One Visa) that does not add an exchange fee, specify a charge in euros and double-check that your receipt reflects this. Otherwise you may be billed in dollars at a poor exchange rate. Sophie will put it right if you ask.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on inner courtyard are quieter but have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Relais du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Louvre

Address: 19 rue des Pretres-Saint-Germain-l'Auxerrois, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#117 Family Hotel in Paris
#174 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel offers 22 fully renovated rooms right in front of the Louvre Museum (10 rooms have a view on the Louvre Museum). The street is very quiet but located right in the middle of the city. Most monuments such as Notre-Dame, the Louvre Museum, the Opera House, the Champs Elysées, the Pompidou Centre, the Sainte-Chapelle and the Conciergerie but also the Seine river with the Ile de la Cité and Ile Saint-Louis are walking distance. Parking is available and internet is free and unlimited in the whole hotel. The staff speaks many languages fluently and wolcomes you as if you were guest in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Relais du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Louvre Hotel Paris
Le Relais Du Louvre Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais du Louvre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.