We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & Convenient in Paris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais du Louvre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Relais du Louvre to your Saves list
Le Relais du Louvre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue des Pretres-Saint-Germain-l'Auxerrois, 75001 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cozy & Convenient in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our arrival in Paris was very early. Our room had been occupied the night before and it was not even vacant when we arrived. After a pleasant but not overtly warm & fuzzy greeting, we left our luggage , and proceeded to investigage the central location. It was practically at the Louvre's back door. After a couple of hours of walking exploration, we returned to a room ready for us, our luggage there. The breakfast, the next day was delightful for an additional 13 Euro pp. It was brought up to the room, the only way it is served. No problem The room was spacious (for Paris). No view but we slept that first afternoon anyway.
Although the hotel was wonderfully "old Paris", in an old building and very quaint, the reception area was very tiny. There was really no place to sit and wait, a chair or two in front of the reception desk.
We were to stay in Paris an additional week and were moving to an apartment the next day, so the little hotel was fine. It was cozy and convenient.

Room Tip: IF the room with the terrace is available, it might be nice. But it is on the ground floor and has n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    118
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
116
93
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It had been seven years since I had stayed at this hotel and it still is a wonderful choice for Paris. The best part of course is the location, next to the Louvre, Seine, Ile de la Cite, etc. Yes, the rooms are small but isn't that just part of Paris? This property is charming with its tiny elevator, view of the Auxerois, and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The rooms are small, but clean and well appointed. The location is excellent if you plan to visit the Louvre, Notre Dame, etc. You can catch a river cruise 5 minutes walk from the hotel, and they can sell you the tickets, so that you don't have to wait in line. Staff was very helpful with Louvre tickets, dining suggestions, and directions to different sites around Paris. Numerous great dining, Le Fumoir (30-36E), and Rose de France (20-35E) were good dining choices in the area. Both restaurants were busy, so you may need a reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Location is all, and this is perfectly located in Paris. Very clean and with friendly staff - but - small, VERY small rooms.

Will probably look elsewhere next time, as there was literally not room for unpacking and storing our things for a 3-day visit. Very cramped when you have to eat breakfast in your room. Also there is no common space, so you are in your room or outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My mum and I went to Paris a while ago in the winter for four days and loved it! This hotel was a definite help to our fantastic stay. People had told me that rooms were tiny and overpriced prior to going. Paris is a lovely city but unfortunately a bit cramped for space. When my mother told me the price of Le Relais du Louvre, my eyes just about bugged out of my head! But on arrival, I saw why. This lovely little hotel is in the best location ever! We had a beautiful old church right next door (literally, I looked out my window and not 15 metres away was a gargoyle staring at me!) The Louvre, the metro and of course shops are all very close. The staff were fantastic and accomodating. They were probably the best hotel staff I have ever experienced as when Mum was taking a nap one afternoon, I sauntered downstairs with nothing to do so I decided to try conversing with the receptionist. She was lovely and very helpful with my halting French speech (I'm still learning now!) The food was also superb. I would say the only downside of the gorgeous place was the elevator. I have never seen such a little one in my entire life! Everything considered though, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to go to Paris as it is simply wonderful.

Room Tip: Go for the room that suits you. My mother and I had a smaller room than what we usually have when tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel cannot have been located in a better location. It is stones throw from the Louvre. As Louvre is a huge place, I started early in the day, went to the Hotel to rest and take a nap and returned to Louvre for more exploring. It is close to the metro, lots of restaurants, and Champ-Elysees.

The staff was friendly, pleasant, and helpful. The room was small, but this is old Paris, not Dallas Texas. Unless you are planning to play football in the room, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Besides, you are in Paris and if you are spending a lot of time in the Hotel room, short of resting and sleeping, you are in the wrong city. This is a charming little Hotel and absolutely a gem. The walls are thin, so any hanky-panky can be heard in the adjoining rooms. I liked the personal touches with fresh flowers in the lobby everyday.

I did not eat their breakfast which they offer if you request it to be delivered to the room. I thought it was a bit pricey, but there are a lot of restaurants nearby.

I will definitely visit this location. The only downside is with such good reviews, the price will definitely go up..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked a single night at Le Relais du Louvre upon arrival in Paris and were delighted with the location directly behind the Louvre. The room, although quite small, had classic Parisian charm, a comfortable bed, and a delightful breakfast in bed. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and quiet, so it would be a good choice if you are looking for a serene stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Relais du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Louvre

Address: 19 rue des Pretres-Saint-Germain-l'Auxerrois, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#100 Family Hotel in Paris
#193 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Louvre 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel offers 22 fully renovated rooms right in front of the Louvre Museum (10 rooms have a view on the Louvre Museum). The street is very quiet but located right in the middle of the city. Most monuments such as Notre-Dame, the Louvre Museum, the Opera House, the Champs Elysées, the Pompidou Centre, the Sainte-Chapelle and the Conciergerie but also the Seine river with the Ile de la Cité and Ile Saint-Louis are walking distance. Parking is available and internet is free and unlimited in the whole hotel. The staff speaks many languages fluently and wolcomes you as if you were guest in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Le Relais du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Louvre Hotel Paris
Le Relais Du Louvre Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais du Louvre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.