We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Parisian Chateaux” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
2 reviews
“My Parisian Chateaux”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wow, what a trip! We stayed both at the Saint James and Le Bristol and while they are so very different, I rank them equally. The Saint James felt like my own home Chateaux away from home. The staff so friendly and helpful, the rooms so nice, the breakfast was scrumptious and I did not want to leave.

The second part of our trip we stayed at Le Bristol, which was more central (which we also loved), but we also missed the charm and quiet you get with the Saint James.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    58
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
70
273
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful style and very elegant. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was very specious and had all the amenities one would expect in luxury hotel. Did not appear stuffy but rather chic casual. The staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. Every person was attentive and responsive. Could not ask for a better experience. Will stay there again when we go to Paris again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our little chateau and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to read that you liked the crazy-chic décor of the property and of your Junior Suite. Our teams work daily to provide a friendly and personal service, and it will be a pleasure for each of us to serving you again regularly in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

i was whisked away to the Saint James Paris for a wonderful surprise trip to celebrate my 50th birthday with my hubby and two friends. What a treat, this hotel is stunning, the architecture and interior design are fantastic and the staff are both courteous and friendly which was really lovely. We LOVED the library bar - what a special ambience and also enjoyed dinner. And dinner in the restaurant was delicious.
One word of warning, coeliacs still need to be vigilant as despite being clear on the allergy, dinner still arrived with one small breaded ingredient. We spotted it, so they prepared another dish promptly and offered an apology but if we hadn't the contamination could have been a problem. One small slip up though doesn't spoil what was a rare treat .... and I am now left wondering what I did to deserve such spoiling and also ... when can we get back again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear MartinMilton,

Thank you very much for this very kind review… and thank you to your hubby and friends for choosing us for the surprise celebration of your birthday!
I am delighted to read that you will keep great memories of this unexpected trip and of your stay at the Saint James Paris. I sincerely apologize for the mistake made during service. We welcome guests with gluten-free diets and specific dishes without gluten are clearly identified.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back very soon and to become your home when in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I just returned from a luxurious stay at the Saint James. We were upgraded to their "Pavillon d'Amour," and everything about our stay was spectacular from check-in to check-out.
We arrived much earlier than expected (at 6:30 AM), and the hotel set about immediately trying to get us into our room. When they realized it would be at least an hour (understandably), they suggested we perch in the dining room.

We had a wonderful breakfast surrounded by 18th and 19th century oil portraits, red velvet divans, and impeccable staff.

The room itself was over the top divine. It was situated on three levels with attention to every detail: richly brocaded fabrics, dimmers on the light switches, silver trays with water, etc. The bed itself was quite hard, which did not bother me.

The hotel is situated in the 16th arrondissement. This is a quiet, regal neighborhood that I would not suggest for first time visitors to the city because of the residential feel. However, we have visited and lived in Paris, so this was perfect for a retreat and an escape. There are cozy brasseries nearby within easy walking distance, and the concierge provided expert recommendations.

The hotel is not casual (it feels like a chateau hidden in the city), so hotel visitors are elegantly dressed and the prices reflect this. The menu for dinner is exorbitantly priced, but the food is delicious. There is a lovely library bar next to the restaurant and the magnificent terrace, and a glass-enclosed conservatory style fumoir (smoking salon) on the property, as well. This is truly a special occasion hotel.

What makes the Saint James most extraordinary, however, is the service. Discreet, attentive, and memorable, the hotel staff anticipates every need before it even occurs to the hotel patrons. My husband ordered a tomato juice for breakfast our first morning. It began appearing at our breakfasts for the rest of our stay before we even spoke to the waitstaff.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Mrs S.,

Thank you so much to you and your husband for choosing to stay at our little château and for taking the time to share your experience so thoroughly with TripAdvisor readers .
It is a true pleasure for our entire team to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from the Pavillon d’Amour you occupied, to the breakfast and the Michelin star cuisine of our Chef, Virginie Basselot, and our service.
Altogether elegant, extravagant and cozy, the Saint James Paris is meant to be as welcoming as a home, with a friendly and caring service. Among our 48 spacious rooms and suites, 2 are independent private villas, the Pavillon d’Amour with its private spa, and the Pavillon Belles-Feuilles with its screening and gaming lounge.
The location of the Saint James Paris, in the exclusive 16th district, helps to convey a safe and authentic French setting to our guests, with upscale boutiques , restaurants, and many museums nearby, not to mention the Arc de Triomphe and Trocadero that are both within a 15-minute walk.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back in a near future.
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I travelled to the Saint James Paris for her 40th birthday in early October. We were upgraded to a two floor junior suite that was amazing. Dinner was fabulous and the staff went over and above to ensure a wonderful birthday experience. If you have a chance to stay at the Saint James, it is a must. Having stayed in many five star resorts around the US, the Saint James is at the top.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr P.,

Thank you very much for choosing us for the celebration of Mrs P.’s birthday, and for taking the time of recommending us! The Saint James Paris offers a truly French chateau feel in an exclusive and very French area of Paris.
I am happy that you and Mrs P. will keep the memory of this birthday dinner with the Michelin-star cuisine of Virginie Basselot.

It would be our pleasure to serving you again when you visit Paris next.
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only had the opportunity to stay 1 night at this hotel. For the short time we were there we soaked it all up. Visually, both inside and outside, the hotel is incredible. It has a lot of history and you feel it while inside.

Service- Top Notch! Concierge helped us with every single need.

Room- Exquisite. I loved all the details. Beautiful fabric wrapped panels and other designs made me feel like I was staying in a one of a kind room. The bathroom and closet area was quite large and included a towel warmer, which gets me every time. I could of hung out in the room all night.

Location- Very close to Victor Hugo Circle with brasseries and shops near by. The Arch de Triumph is a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

Merci Beaucoup!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mrs B.,

Thank you so much for choosing us for this very short visit and for taking the time to post such a raving review!
We are all delighted that you enjoyed the unique feel of our little chateau, with its crazy-chic décor in a Napoleon III style. Our teams work daily to help each of our guests feel at home, so we all hope to having you back for a longer period and to becoming yours when you are in Paris!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an eclectic luxurious chateau in the center of Paris. It's not in the center of all the attractions but it is close to a metro stop. The rooms are large and luxurious and very comfortable. The staff is extremely attentive. We stayed here our last night of a 10 day trip in France and wish we could have stayed here longer. The restaurant is also very good and don't miss the bar.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mrs S.,

Thank you very much for choosing to end your trip in France with a visit to the Saint James Paris! Located in the exclusive 16th arrondissement with boutiques, restaurants and museums within walking distance, our property was decorated to remind of a home from the late 19th century, with a touch of extravaganza.
We aim at making each of our guests feel like at home, be it in the individually decorated and spacious rooms, in the dining room, in the library or in the Guerlain spa.

We all hope to have the pleasure of serving you again for a longer period in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#4 Spa Hotel in Paris
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#13 Business Hotel in Paris
#50 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 48 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.