We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance, Excellence, Unique Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Elegance, Excellence, Unique Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in mid-May as part of a six-night Paris vacation to celebrate his birthday. After reading many rave reviews online, we had high expectations and were not disappointed: we were upgraded to a beautiful junior suite; enjoyed the quiet charm and lovely hotel gardens and club (a pleasure to return to after full days of sightseeing); and were impressed by the helpful and attentive service (great job from the concierge staff).

This a a unique property, decorated with whimsy and class. It is a bit further out than many hotels (located in the upscale 16th arrondisement), but metro stops are just one block (Port Dauphine) and two blocks (Victor Hugo) away, and there are cafes, patisseries, bistros and restaurants within easy walking distance. If you value beauty, excellent service and amenities, and appreciate being slightly removed from the tourist centers of Saint Germain, the Marais, or the Champs Elysees, the Saint James provides a terrific experience. I think they should be rated five stars, instead of four.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear MadameX,

I would like to thank you and your husband for trusting TripAdvisor users when choosing your hotel in Paris. The Saint James Paris is the only chateau-hotel of the capital and in spite of its grandeur et elegant extravaganza, it feels like a home. Our entire team aims at offering a genuine service to each of our guests, so reading your praises is a real incentive for each of us.
We all hope to have the pleasure of serving you and your husband again in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    61
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
75
300
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here as a couple (for the last time). It was a great introduction to Paris for us. Staff was extremely helpful and standards of even the basic room was high above standards. I definetly recommend this place for special occasions like anniversaries and proposals in Paris. Everything is designed to make you feel special; a nice chateau experience.

Room Tip: Even basic room was very high above standards of paris.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so happy to have play a little role in this magic moment. We hope to welcome you again for other one!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the St. James. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was beautiful. The room was huge (especially for Paris), and the property grounds were lovely. The hotel is located in a very cute and quiet neighborhood in the 16th (on the west side of Paris), so those unfamiliar with the city should note that it isn't walking distance to all the major tourist attractions. That being said, it is very close to two different Metro lines and taxis are readily available. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our package included a free upgrade and we received a wonderful suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for posting this extremely kind review! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your experience in our Paris home and that you noted the exceptional size of our rooms & suites when compared to the standards of the city.
Our little chateau, hidden in its own garden, is at a 2-minute walk from the boutiques of upscale (and very French) Victor Hugo avenue and many restaurants, at a 10-minute walk from the Arc de Triomphe and at a 15-minute walk from the Trocadéro.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful ,our room was spacious and beautifully decorated, breakfast and lunchwere so delicious.The hotel is situated in the quiet 16th. We'll certainly choose Saint James again for our next stay in Paris

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Poelika,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay in Paris and for these kind words shared with the TripAdvisor community. I am truly happy to read that you liked our little chateau in the capital, its unique décor as well as the Michelin-starred cuisine of Chef Virginie Basselot.

We all look forward to your next visit!
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

What a fabulous little gem to be tucked away so close to the city center! The only tragedy was that our stay was too short! My husband was worried that our "basic" room (if you can call it that) would not be to his standards... But it exceeded our expectations. The staff is welcoming & went above & beyond. Breakfast served in our room was lovely! We are so very pleased with our experience here that we may never stay anywhere else in Paris :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Bonjour BeyondDallas,

We all thank you for discovering our little gem in its private garden! It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your husband, even if shortly.
Be sure we will keep working hard to make sure you never choose another place to stay when in Paris!
Looking forward to serving you again,

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our stay at the Saint James Paris was beyond lovely. After a week in Saint Germaine, we wanted the quiet solace of the 16th and pampering with the full array of amenities that you look to a luxury hotel for; we found exactly that at the Saint James. It was the perfect way to end our trip to the City on the highest of high notes!

Yves and the rest of the impeccable staff gave us the warmest welcome possible upon arrival. All features of the hotel and of our room were carefully explained to us upon check-in so that we weren't left wondering how to explore this lovely chateau. For my fiancee and me, the most fabulous feature of the stay had to be the peaceful quiet of our room. The bathroom amenities and the gorgeous showerhead and bath were also completely luxe. We had amazingly attentive room service every time there was a need for it. The concierge staff was also super accommodating and friendly...I was able to calmly practice my French without concern for judgement with them, which I loved!...Everyone was so jovial and lovely but refined and delicate at the same time.

After several days in center city, I have to say that this neighborhood was super charming. There were plenty of adorable local businesses, and there was some great but quiet and peaceful shopping just a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

I will definitely be returning to the Saint James with my husband on future trips to the City. It's a fabulous way to absorb the decadence that Paris is and has to offer without even leaving your hotel room, should you choose not to! I highly, highly recommend this spot :c)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Ms C.,

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your last days in Paris with us and for taking the time to post such a raving review.
“Beyond” is what we wish to offer and what we all work for daily.
A luxury experience in a glamorous chateau inside Paris? A peaceful stay in the warm atmosphere of a home? A quick escapade in a romantic hideaway? A family vacation in a friendly place providing a private garden and especially spacious rooms?
Whatever the reason, we work relentlessly to meet the needs and try to exceed the expectations of each guest.
We are all very thankful that you chose to recommend us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home in Paris soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Located in the 16e, the hotel offers quiet alternative to some of the busier neighborhoods of Paris. The rooms are spacious and though one would think that some of the furnishings in some rooms are a bit long in the tooth they are actually in keeping with the decorative style which, whether you like it or not, is cited in certain decoration and style magazines. One has to say it is eclectic. The main floors, including the dining room and lounge areas are very plush and evoke a lush feeling. The service here is very friendly and accommodative. We arrived early and were not only allowed a room but were upgraded to a duplex. The concierge was very helpful and advised that they were willing to make arrangements for any needs prior to any stay. The fitness center is adequately equipped and the wifi, which is free, connects well throughout the hotel.

The grounds are very scenic and metro stains are within a few minutes walk. I may give this a higher rating as I get used to some of the decor and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Mr Z.,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post this very kind review on TripAdvisor. Our little chateau was built in the late 19th century so when we fully restored the property, we chose to stay true to the era of the building with the Napoleon III style, here in a “crazy-chic” interpretation by designer Bambi Sloan.
As in a home, each room reveals its own décor in which every detail matters, some in lighter colors, some with very French toiles de Jouy fabrics, but all with a very warm and welcoming atmosphere.
We all hope to have the pleasure of serving you again with the sense of dedication that makes our reputation, and I can ensure you that we will find the perfect suite for you, one you will consider your home away from home.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#3 Spa Hotel in Paris
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#24 Business Hotel in Paris
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 48 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.