We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We've just come home from staying at this lovely lovely hotel. We booked it as a romantic spring break for two. The building itself is extremely beautiful - apparently the last chateau hotel still in Pairs. The interior is funky and glamorous, but retains a real sense of integrity to the past. We were upgraded to a junior suite, they apparently do try to upgrade where and if they can. It's the first hotel I've ever stayed in where they try to do so on a routine basis. What a wonderful policy - wish more hotels did so. The room we had chosen looked lovely on the internet, but wow, the room we were upgraded to was simply amazing. We could have lived in it. The staff at the hotel could not have been nicer or more helpful. We bought a piece of furniture from the Marche aux puces, and the concierge staff packed it so carefully & kindly for us to carry it home. They also gave us some wonderful recommendations for trips and restaurants. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel in Paris, go for this one....you will not regret.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Mrs F.,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your romantic spring-break and for taking the time to write such a praising review! I am very happy that you enjoyed the junior suite we upgraded you to. We try to please our guests with an unexpected upgrade whenever we can, but it is not always possible.
Should you consider moving in (!), this would also be an option : we do have live-in guests who choose us for the homey feeling we convey and for the kindness of our teams.
Alternatively, it will be a great pleasure to welcome you back for another short break, à deux or with friends!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    61
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
74
300
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

What can I say about the Saint James? Fabulous hotel with an impeccable level of service. My wife and I stayed here last week for two nights as a special treat as it was our honeymoon. We were very impressed by the grand setting being apparently the only remaining chateau-hotel in the city. The hotel lies in the upmarket 17th arrondissemont and is only a short walk from the metro along Av. Bugeaud or Av. Victor Hugo.

The grounds and approach to the hotel are grand with an attractive archway and fountain. You really feel that you are about to enter something with a little extra. The doormen and reception staff were attentive, polite and helpful at all times. Our room was ready despite an early check in and after a courteous welcome, we were shown to our suite which we had been upgraded to. A complimentary bottle of good quality champagne awaited us to celebrate our marriage only two days earlier. A very nice touch.

We have stayed in impressive hotels before, but the interior decor of the Saint James really impressed us. Bambi Sloan has done an amazing job of restyling the hotel in a grand and traditional but very unique style. Our suite was easily the best room we have stayed in, particularly the level of detail, comfort and the conservatory style entrance. Sitting there sipping champagne with the light flooding in , surrounded by plants and comfortable faux antique furniture made it feel like our little Parisian sanctuary.

The room (508) was so comfortable with a king sized bed and extremely quiet. It felt like there was nobody in the other rooms, it was that quiet at night. Apparently the Dali Lama himself stayed in several rooms on the same floor. I'm sure the tranquility of the Saint James would have pleased his holiness too.

On our first night, we decided to enjoy the comfort of the hotel and dined in the restaurant. Although (reassuringly) expensive, the meal and wine were delicious and prepared to a very high standard. The service again was faultless and the chef was even presented to us for a brief conversation (translated) by the Maitre d'. Worth every cent and we would definitely recommend for a special treat.

The breakfast was included in our stay and we chose to eat in our room, such was the space and comfort. The coffee, eggs benedict and fresh bread were delicious. We could have stayed in the room for the whole two days (and several days more) if we hadn't one or two sights to see around Paris.

We felt very privileged to spend three days and two nights at the Saint James and why not? It was our honeymoon in Paris! We'd love to stay again. Perhaps one day for another special occasion?

Room Tip: If you can push the boat out, get a suite. Well worth it and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guests,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for choosing us for this very special occasion and for taking the time to post such an extensive and praising review!
The Saint James Paris, in the upper part of the 16th district, indeed offers a very unique setting and atmosphere in Paris. Each of our rooms and suites is very quiet and peaceful, especially the ones on the top floor with their conservatories under the glass roof.
We are delighted to read that your choice proved right and that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience, including your dinner at our Michelin-starred restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot.
It will be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back for the many anniversaries to come!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My partner took me here as a surprise for my birthday and I was blown away. The hotel is stunning from the frontage to the lobby to the room everything is beautiful. No complaints at all the room was quiet nothing wrong and champagne waiting! We didn't have the breakfast we just had a bread basket but this too was lovely.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Emlondon_10,

Thank you for spending your birthday with us! It is a pleasure for us to read that you liked the dramatic yet warm décor of our little chateau and of its rooms & suites (each of them is different).
Next time, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you longer for you to discover our signature cocktails in the library-bar, the large buffet at breakfast, the gourmet cuisine of our chef, and treat yourself with the exclusive Guerlain treatments at the spa!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed hear during French Open. Rooms were very spacious unlike most European Rooms. Service was excellent. Food at hotel was also very good. Also a very good place for families and Pet friendly. The bed was comfortable. Also was very close to the metro as well station to take you to Versaille was walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this very kind review. We are all happy to read that you enjoyed our especially large rooms as well as the Michelin-starred cuisine of Virginie Basselot and the service of our teams. The Saint James Paris is altogether a romantic hideaway, an enchanted chateau for families and their furry friends, as well as a home for travelers on business trips.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

For sure the best Hotel I have stay ever. To resume it was PERFECT. Everything was just amazing from the reception to the laundry service. I have no bad comments for this Hotel, every time I will fly to Paris, I will not think twice, and if they will be fully booked, I will not fly to Paris.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mr N.,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for posting this extremely kind review. We do our very best to accommodate each request and to offer a truly personalized experience to each of our guests in the unique setting of our little chateau.
It is a great pleasure for all of us to read that you have already chosen to make us your home when in Paris, and would like to ensure you that it is with equal pleasure that we will welcome you back for each of your hopefully numerous visits.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had a great stay in Paris, partly thanks to Saint James. Fantastic hotel, we had a great room with really nice street views. Very comfortable beds and nice deco. Comparing to other hotels we stayed previously in Paris it is a gem. Great breakfast with a wide choice. Really recommend it,.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mr B.,

Thank you for choosing us and for posting this very kind review! We are all happy that we could contribute to making your trip to Paris memorable and that the décor of your room and the choice at our breakfast buffet were to your liking.
We thank you very much for recommending us to fellow travelers and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A very beautiful hotel both inside and out. We were fortunate to get a room on the third floor which had great views of the streets (and skylights!). We had dinner and the hotel and were quite impressed with the service and quality of the food. We also had a chance to have lunch and drinks in the library bar which is a wonderful setting. Every staff member was very helpful with any request. Thank you for making our Parisian holiday weekend special!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mr P.,

Thank you very much for choosing the Saint James Paris for your holiday week-end! I am very happy that you liked the unique décor of your top-floor suite with its turn-of-the-century conservatory set under the glass roof, your dining experience in the library-bar as well as the personalized service of our teams.

We all hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in a near future.
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#3 Spa Hotel in Paris
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#22 Business Hotel in Paris
#32 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 48 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.