We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Save Saved
You added Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in room 407 which was a beautiful leopard skin covered boudoir. It was glamorous, decadent and completely over the top! Exactly what we wanted for our honeymoon in Paris. Service was perfect, I had asked in advance for them to provide roses and champagne for our arrival which they did as well as a lovely rose petal heart on the bed, so romantic!

We felt very welcomed and well looked after. I had a massage in the spa which was the best massage I have ever had. The location was nice and central, yet the hotel felt like a little oasis in the heart of bustling Paris.

A trip we will remember for ever, in no small part because of this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your honeymoon in our little chateau, an oasis of calm in the heart of the city! We are all happy that we could contribute to the memories of this very special moment and that you enjoyed the coziness of your room, the Last Queen of Scots, as well as the massages by Pauline and Violaine.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for the many anniversaries to come!
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    48
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
231
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

What an oasis in a big and bustling city. Although within walking distance of the Arc de Triomphe it is beautifully positioned in a quiet area, a storybook mansion in a serene garden. The staff were unfailingly welcoming, helpful and superbly professional. The decor is eclectic chic, a charming mixture of fun, functional and formal. We had a wonderful suite on the top floor which was on two levels, which meant that the windows were either a small, round one or knee high attic type in the bedroom. However, the natural light was amplified by the clever use of mirrors, especially in the entrance to the suite which was a believable conservatory even though it had only one strip of natural light in the roof. The attic bedroom and second bathroom was reached by a spiral staircase (carpeted in leopard print), the lounge / study area generous and most attractive. We had a superb meal in the dining room on one night - worth going there for the food alone. A truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear GeorgieLouise,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this very kind review. The décor of our house is indeed a mix of history and fun imagined by Bambi Sloan to help guests feel at home in this grand setting. Thank you also for your very kind mention to our staff and to Virginie Basselot, our young and talented Chef!

We all look forward to welcoming you back for another visit and will ensure it is as memorable as this first experience.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just for perspective, I have traveled the world extensively for over thirty years (nine countries in the last twenty-six months) and have stayed almost exclusively at five star properties for the last twelve years, or so.

We have just returned from a three night stay at the St. James and consider it one of the finest hotel experiences we have had anywhere in the world, and absolutely the finest that can be had in Paris. I would like to underscore that the St. James outdistances venerable hotels like The Meurice as an overall experience, and does so at half the cost. So, not only is it an incredible hotel, it is also a tremendous value in a city where that is extremely hard to find.

The location of the St. James on a quiet side street in a beautiful, upscale area is perfect. Tucked behind its imposing gates and wall, it provides a welcome respite after the day's sightseeing and tourist hordes. The area is blissfully quiet in the evening, yet you are only a ten minute stroll from the very center of the tourist hub.

The hotel itself is a beautiful chateau, that could have been picked up in the Loire Valley and set down in Paris. To come back at night when the huge center fountain and building are lit is an extraordinary experience; just beautiful. The exclectic decor of the public spaces and rooms is whimsical but elegant, and has been chosen with impecible taste. The library bar is a wonederful room, in which service is flawless. Our suite was a two level fantasy and lavishly furnished - perhaps the largest, most attractive room we've ever had in all these years of traveling.

We were welcomed at the St. James as returning VIPs, not first time guests only staying for three nights. We arrived at 10:30 in the morning and the doorman literally ran to the taxi to stop me from unloading my own luggage. Our room was ready even at that early hour and check in was smooth and flawless. We were shown to our room by the front desk manager, Jeremy, who was wonderful to work with in arranging our stay and very welcoming upon our arrival.

The concierge and his assistant did an excellent job of arranging the dinner reservations we requested, even though a communication glitch caused him not to receive our requests in advance. They both provided excellent, succinct directions and were very service oriented. I would suggest doing your own research on restaurants, as some of their selections were a bit "tired."

In summation, I cannot imagine having a better hotel experience anywhere in the world, and specifically not in Paris, than the St. James. We will return to Paris in April 2014 and will not even consider staying anywhere but our new home-away-from-home in the capital.

Terry C
Richmond, Virginia

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Terry C,

Thank you so much for taking us into consideration –and choosing us! – among palaces for your stay in Paris. I also would like to thank you for taking the time to post this extremely kind review. Guest feedbacks on travel sites and especially on TripAdvisor are of great values for small properties like ours, especially when guests have travelled a lot and offer comparison points like you very kindly did.
We are all very happy to read that your first experience in our whimsical little chateau was so positive in general. For your next visit, our concierges will be happy to give you further choices of restaurants and brasseries as they tirelessly scout for new addresses year round. Each month, they also point out new restaurants and exhibitions in the Concierges Gazette available in each room and on their dedicated section of our blog.
Please also make sure to taste the creations of Virginie Basselot in the dining room and the treatments in the spa.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your Paris home next April,
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in the middle or our honeymoon trip around Europe. I wish we could have stayed longer. This is such a beautiful and unique hotel. We received a complimentary room upgrade and had a lovely bottle of Tattinger champagne waiting for us in our room upon check-in. They also scattered rose petals all over our room. The room was beautifully decorated and had a lovely view of the fountain. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and luxurious. The staff was very friendly and all spoke very good English. We did not get a chance to have a full meal here, but we enjoyed several drinks and a nice cheese plate in the bar. The Sunday brunch looked lovely as well. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the center of the city - about 15 minutes from the Arc De Triomphe, but it is situated in a lovely neighborhood with nice little cafes and restaurants. There is a lovely cheese shop around the corner that is worth a visit as well. We enjoyed the quietness of the hotel after spending busy days trekking around the city. We will absolutely stay here again when back in Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Ms H.,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Saint James Paris during your honeymoon! It was a pleasure to welcome you, even for such a short stay, and we are really happy to read that you liked our décor, location and the service of our teams.
Please visit again soon to try the equally stunning cuisine of our Chef, Virginie Basselot, and the divine massages and cares provided by Pauline and Violaine at our spa!

Looking forward to welcoming you back,
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We love Paris & have been lucky to visit on many occasions & stay in different arrondissements , mostly near the madeleine , george v & louvre areas

In choosing the SJP we wanted a more local , low key stay in a great suburb close enough , yet far enough from tourists , within walking distance of attractions & with a car park as we were starting a driving tour

This fitted our ideal perfectly as the property has great importance & history yet being with the R&C group we knew from another hotel that the ambience & service would be effortlessly wonderful

The SJP was easy to find from CDG as we headed toward the Etoile or Arc de Triomphe and drove down Ave Foch which is one of the most important addresses in Paris

Upon arriving we simply exited the car , gave our name & were afforded a truly pleasant welcome - we had arrived very early on a Sunday morning & knew a room would not be available - not a problem as they offered for us to have breakfast or coffee to wait until a room was available - we wanted to take a walk so simply left our belongings & said we would return in a couple of hours

The area around the SJP is a mix of great apartment and office buildings - very close 2 blocks to place Victor Hugo ( metro ) & a 15 min walk to the Arc de Triomphe and the start of the Champs Élysées - also 5 min walk is the Bois de Boulogne ( Porte dauphine metro ) at the end of ave Foch - the Trocadero is a 20 min walk

There are many great little cafes and bistros in the area and local fruit shops and boulangeries

We got back and had a look at the public areas which are particularly great - the dining room where breakfast is also served is intimate , beautifully furnished and luxe with magnificent chandeliers and velvet for miles - it looks out onto the garden with its great hot air balloon canopies

The entrance hall and staircase are the most beautiful as they are grand yet the modern take makes them so dominant , you only want to take the stairs

If you love books and quiet corners we had a drink in the Library bar which was like being in your own home - very intimate and super comfortable and wow what a great Martini

Our room was on the 5th floor within the mansard roof line - up in the small elevator as the stairs end at level 4 and along a lovely corridor to open up to a mirrored ceiling room filled with French furniture and trees and natural light from the windowed roof line - this area extends across the length of the room which was filled with a bedroom area ( queen ) and great old bathroom that had a cute porthole window that looked over the front garden and surrounding buildings

At first we thought it strange to have no window in the main room however it really was lovely to have the filtered light in the daytime in the salon area and the porthole was great for the bathroom - we weren't in the room in the evening but for sleeping the room was very dark and quiet = great

We booked over the R&C app and took the best rate at the time - we were upgraded which was wonderful

The hotel , staff , position , ambience & all round welcoming feeling really make this a one of a kind hotel that is unique for being near enough to the delights of Paris , yet you have the feeling when you walk through those wonderful front gates that your aunt or uncle have invited you to stay at their chateau and your well being is their number one priority

The local area is charming and a walk down ave Foch onward the Arc de Triomphe is magical

Merci beacoup to all at the SJP for a truly memorable vacance

A bientot

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Merci beaucoup to you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post this extremely thorough and kind review.
The location of our little chateau is indeed very convenient: close from major sites and museums, just off the boutiques, cafes and restaurants from Avenue Victor Hugo, yet hidden in its private garden and with upscale homes in the immediate neighborhood, preventing from most of the usual city disturbance.
It is a pleasure for us to read your detailed review of the library bar, the dining room, lobby and garden, and of your top floor suite (which is also deserved by a staircase). The turn-of-the-century winter gardens Bambi Sloan created under the glass roof for these suites, provides a unique peaceful atmosphere. Each of our rooms and suites offers its own décor and, combined with the caring service of our teams, contributes to provide a truly homey feeling.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for further vacances that will hopefully be as memorable!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for four days in August, right from the time of booking online there was great response to various questions I had. We arrived on an early morning flight and they were able to check us in earlier than normal and give us an upgrade as well.
Wonderful suite.
Staff were all very helpful and spoke good English.
Great location and easy walking distance to most sites.
Yes it is expensive but worth it. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for staying with us last August and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are all very happy to read that you enjoyed your experience at the Saint James Paris so much you chose to describe it as “fabulous”.
Be sure we will always be at your disposal for any query and provide you with the same sense of service during your next visit.

Looking forward to serving you again soon,
Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently spent three nights at the chateaux as the final leg of our honeymoon. From booking to check-out I could not be more impressed with the Saint James property. We booked a superior room and upon check-in were upgraded to a wonderful suite. The room was spacious with a large lounge, beautiful tall windows opening to the front of the property and a bedroom on the second story.
The exterior of the hotel and the fountain are gorgeous. Our taxi driver could not believe the chateaux was a hotel when we dropped us off. Service was impeccable and we enjoyed taking drinks in the library bar. The hotel delivered a lovely bottle of champagne and placed rose petals on the bed and bathroom the help us celebrate our special occasion. Finally the concierge staff was exceptional. They helped us book one of the finest dining tables in the city on short notice.
Before staying here I would not believe that such hotels existed. It was an absolute pleasure and we will be back as soon as possible. I would like to thank all of the staff at the Saint James for making our special occasion just that much better.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr W.,

Thank you very much for choosing our little chateau to spend a part of your honeymoon. We are all delighted to read that your duplex suite and the special welcome we thought for you were to your liking.
Our entire team is very grateful for your special mention, as everyone works very hard to offer a truly personalized professional service. More than a hotel, we aim at offering everyone a unique experience in our crazy-chic home, and we hope you will make us the honor of considering it as your home when in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#5 Spa Hotel in Paris
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#38 Business Hotel in Paris
#97 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 48 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.