We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail. Every detail.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Attention to detail. Every detail.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I cannot sing the praises of this place enough. Beautiful interiors, incredible setting. Very kindly upgraded on arrival (Special occasion) and every detail was perfect. Ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and it was beautiful food and the service again was superb. Every staff member I spoke to had impeccable English (Which helped) and didn't mock or laugh my poor attempt at French. Would highly recommend a drink in the library bar too.

Location is good and easily walked to the Louvre (Both in late 20s) and other attractions. Simply superb, and if going back to Paris again will most likely be heading here again.

Well done to all, and definitely worthy of it's Relais et Chateaux membership.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr R.,

Thank you so much for choosing our Relais & Châteaux property for your stay in the capital. We are all happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from the location and décor of our Paris home to your dining experience by Virginie Basselot and the service of our teams.

Unlike many museums, the Louvre is not quite located in our direct neighbourhood and walking there takes a little while. For guests who don’t feel as brave, the metro and RER stops are at a 2-minute walk, and we also offer complimentary bicycles!

We all look forward to serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    61
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
75
300
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Will definitely return as service exceptional. Expensive but worth it. We did have a quirky room in the eaves, but it was spacious and imaginatively decorated. It is a quirky and personable hotel, but nothing was too much trouble for the staff. And they volunteered important information as well. Didn't hear a thing from our room, it was exceptionally quiet. A great location and setting. This has been the first hotel, and I am comparing to other five star hotels,where routinely, even the very last night, all of the toiletries were replaced , even down to the cotton buds. A small detail, but one that most try to skimp on, unbelievably. It is literally a first. But it just emphasises the importance to detail that elevates the entire hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this raving review! It is a pleasure for our entire team to read that our service was outstanding to the extent of your considering us among the best hotels you’ve visited so far.
I am also glad to read that you appreciated the quietness of our rooms and their very personal décor, as well as the location of our little chateau.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We only booked with Saint James as the Hotel Costes was full, we ended up being even more delighted and thankful to Costes! We will be going back and definitely using this Hotel as our Paris home from home.
Absolutely beautiful decor, friendly and very helpful staff, stunning rooms and tranquil setting. It is like pulling up to a grand hotel in the country.
We were also given an unexpected room upgrade to a suite which was very impressive.
They have free concierge parking which was helpful and saved us paying for more parking as with most other Parisian hotels.
We used the complimentary guests bikes for 2 days, which made our trip. Never have we managed to cram so much sightseeing in. Also, we didn't have any acheing feet, which we would have from having to walk all day. We felt like real Parisians too. They gave us bike locks which meant that we could park up and explore by foot or pop into a restaurant.
I would say the average age of the other residents would be 50-60's which surprised me as the decor in so cool, surprisingly it doesn't attract a younger crowd.
The only thing that would have improved our stay is if the hotel had a mixed Spa, (rather than single sex). Although they do have steam rooms, a jacuzzi, sauna and chill out area would have been nice to have.
We had a much bigger and better value room for the same price of Costes. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for choosing us and for taking the time to write this very kind review. I am very happy to read that you considered our rooms to be of good value for Paris and that you enjoyed the crazy-chic décor of our little chateau, the complimentary car park and bikes as well as the service of our very devoted teams.
I am sure that during your next visits you will see that our clientele is extremely mixed, from families to couples coming for a romantic week-end, artists and designers.
We have noted your suggestions for the spa and will take them into consideration for future developments. In the meantime, we will all be delighted to welcoming you back and to become your home away from home!

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Some reviews of this hotel are unenthusiastic as a result of what is regarded as the quirkiness of the hotel and some of its furnishings. To me this is an aspect of the hotel which adds to its charm and interest.

I found the décor and furnishings most comfortable - indeed in many instances luxurious. The room I enjoyed was decorated with an historical touch. It was more than charming and the historical touches did not diminish the comfort or enjoyment.

The staff are most courteous and helpful.

It is a delightful oasis in a great Paris location.

Room Tip: I enjoyed a suite on the fourth floor. Delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr G.,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post this kind review. The vision of our owners (a French family) when they decided to redecorate, was to find back the atmosphere of a home in the late 19th century. This is the reason why our decorator, Bambi Sloan, took so much care in choosing each piece and creating a true Napoleon 3rd setting. This work, along with her touches of humor, makes the Saint James Paris a unique property where everyone can feel at ease and I thank you very much for stressing this out in your review.

Our entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this whimsical and romantic hotel in Paris. The staff was so helpful and was able to satisfy nearly every wish that we had for our visit. The outdoor patio for Sunday brunch was beyond compare. While it is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, it is very close to a Metro station and you can be off and about in no time, I would go back tomorrow if real life didn't intrude.

Room Tip: Each room is decorated in it's own motif...has to be seen to be believed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing to experience our little chateau and for posting this very kind review. We are all glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. The Saint James Paris is located just off many cultural, shopping and dining options that we will be happy to recommend when you next choose to escape from ‘real life’, hopefully soon!

Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Yours sincerely,
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is our send time staying at the St. James, and robit was just as wonderful. The location is perfect, near public transportation and even a few small markets. Set on a gated property in a residential area, the St. James is a relaxing place to stay while visiting Paris. The decor of the hotel is fun and was recently featured in Elle magazine. Attention to detail and many luxury appointments. The staff is very friendly and worked tirelessly to make sure we got into the restaurants we wanted (L'Atelier Joel Robuchon, Arpege, Yam'tcha, Plaza Athenee, and Spring).
The rooms are sound proof, and very comfortable. One of my favorite hotels anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Saint James Paris as your home when in the capital. The crazy-chic décor imagined by Bambi Sloan has been featured in many magazines and is truly unique as it combines a whimsical and fun feel to historical elements and the coziness of a private home.
It is our aim to meet the expectations and requests of each of our guests and to offer them a friendly and caring service, from the moment of their reservation to the end of their stay.
We are all very proud to be considered among your favorite hotels worldwide and look forward to keep welcoming you back regularly in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Good location. Amazing design. The most kindly staff you can dream. Big and beautiful room. Delicious breakfast and dinner. The best place i ever been. I do not have enough words to explain how amazing it is. It seduced us in our anniversary. To romantic to be true!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for your anniversary and for posting this extremely kind review! Our teams work daily to make each guest feel at home and it is a great reward for all of us to read that you felt at ease and that you thoroughly enjoyed each part of your experience with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#3 Spa Hotel in Paris
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#24 Business Hotel in Paris
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 48 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.