We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at the St James Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Save Saved
You added Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at the St James Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is our send time staying at the St. James, and robit was just as wonderful. The location is perfect, near public transportation and even a few small markets. Set on a gated property in a residential area, the St. James is a relaxing place to stay while visiting Paris. The decor of the hotel is fun and was recently featured in Elle magazine. Attention to detail and many luxury appointments. The staff is very friendly and worked tirelessly to make sure we got into the restaurants we wanted (L'Atelier Joel Robuchon, Arpege, Yam'tcha, Plaza Athenee, and Spring).
The rooms are sound proof, and very comfortable. One of my favorite hotels anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Saint James Paris as your home when in the capital. The crazy-chic décor imagined by Bambi Sloan has been featured in many magazines and is truly unique as it combines a whimsical and fun feel to historical elements and the coziness of a private home.
It is our aim to meet the expectations and requests of each of our guests and to offer them a friendly and caring service, from the moment of their reservation to the end of their stay.
We are all very proud to be considered among your favorite hotels worldwide and look forward to keep welcoming you back regularly in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    42
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
56
197
13
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Good location. Amazing design. The most kindly staff you can dream. Big and beautiful room. Delicious breakfast and dinner. The best place i ever been. I do not have enough words to explain how amazing it is. It seduced us in our anniversary. To romantic to be true!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for your anniversary and for posting this extremely kind review! Our teams work daily to make each guest feel at home and it is a great reward for all of us to read that you felt at ease and that you thoroughly enjoyed each part of your experience with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is my first time writing a review as well. We stayed for four nights in August, the weather was fabulous. From the moment you step into the foyer, you are in awe. The foyer has beautiful furniture and objet d'arts, the design is amazing. You feel like a hollywood star walking down the magnificent stairs. (there is a lift as well). There is a lovely private garden at the back of the hotel where you can sit under a stunning 'hot air' balloon to drink champagne in the afternoon,it was magical. Staff were exemplary, nothing was a problem, they were always there to suggest and help. We were upgraded when we arrived to a suite with a sitting room. This was a fabulous surprise, the rooms are really large with all the special touches of a first class hotel. The hotel is immaculate. This was the last part of our European holiday before we returned to Australia. What a beautiful way to finish a holiday.
Kay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Kay,

Thank you very much for choosing us for the last part of your European vacation and for taking the time to post this raving review. We are all very happy to read that you liked the crazy-chic décor of our little chateau and the size of your suite. The champagne bar we installed in the garden with Taittinger in the summer months was a big hit. It is quite unique in the heart of Paris and I am glad you enjoyed it.
Our entire team looks forward to serving you again in your” magic” Paris hideaway.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have never written a review before, but my experience at the St, James hotel was so wonderful I have to let others know about it. Two couples and my husband and I decided to give ourselves a little treat and stay at the St. James. We are just "regular" folks looking to treat ourselves. From the first experience of making reservations to arriving at this beautiful building to the upgrade to a suite with a sitting room to departure, our five nights were wonderful. The staff helped make reservations for us before we arrived, helped with car service and made recommendations. The hotel is gorgeous but the staff is what made the difference. We were 5 minutes from the metro so it is easy to get to anyplace in Paris. Do yourself a favor, give yourself a treat. Stay at the St. James. You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you arrive. If they have a room available, you will get the upgrade. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mrs S.,

What a pleasure to discover that we deserved such a kind review recommending readers to stay with us, not to mention the fact that it is a first for you! On behalf of our entire team, I thank you and your friends for choosing us for this five-night stay. We are happy that our home and its location were to your convenience, and that the care we put in our service made the difference for you.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I don t write review often but since it was kind of a special trip for us...


we booked a junior suite at the St James for our wedding night, and to be complete with the context we live abroad but are both Parisian

we only arrived after the party, late at night, hard to pay proper tribute to the scene when the bulky metallic doors open onto a dark garden with this huge hotel particulier subtly lit emerging from the night, the car turning around the fountain to reach the magnificent entrance, you feel like you are in a carouse arriving at a castle in another age

staff was of course perfect and helpfull
the starecase alone is woth a look with a subtle mix of true parisian classic and modern baroque quite an atmosphere

the room was huge and the staff had kindly left for us a bottle of champagne and draw a heart with rose petals on the oversized bed
(True luxury feels in the small details here it was the case, even the soaps are superb (lanvin vetiver))

one hidden gem is the restaurant. St James is a private club before being a hotel so instead of a busy / noisy restaurant you have access to a delicate private garden almost for yourself food is great but a tad pricey

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guests,

I would like to thank you for choosing our little chateau for this very special night and for the detailed description of your impressions upon arrival. Indeed, the uniqueness of the Saint James Paris in terms of architecture and privacy is emphasized at night, making it the ideal place for a romantic stay. Thank you also for stressing out the cozy atmosphere of the dining room and the garden. As you mentioned, we are only partially open to the public, providing our guests with an exclusive yet friendly dining experience.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you next visit your home city!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had my first experience (and certainly not my last!) with the St. James in August. Even though it is said everyone leaves the city, I can tell you not at The St. James! They have the most amazing staff. Everyone was so friendly and knowledgeable; sent me to wonderful neighborhood restaurants and expertly guided me through the city. The hotel is elegant with a light touch (not intimidating as some decors dictate) and immaculately clean. My room was spacious, well appointed with high ceilings and lots of sunlight. I loved being in the 16th and the metro stop was just a block away! I relaxed each day in the lovely garden, enjoyed exceptional dining. The St. James is definitely a hidden jewel and I feel like I discovered The Secret Garden!!

Room Tip: I was in the 08 line (408, 308) which was a quite spacious corner one bedroom with living room; high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Ms C.,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this extremely kind review! It was our pleasure to welcome you to your own Secret Garden, even if you had to share it with a few others! We work daily to make each of our guests feel at home and, even if popular, to offer a truly warm and peaceful atmosphere. A famous guest once said “the Saint James is so friendly you want to call it Jim”. We all expect you back soon in your Parisian home.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Staying at the Saint James Paris is a truly unique parisian hotel experience. I booked this hotel as part of a surprise engagement, and the stay exceeded our expectations in every way. The service was fantastic and we were upgraded to a suite to celebrate the occasion. The location is also great, as it's only 15min walk from the Eiffel Tower and Arc de Triomphe, but not in a touristy location at all (which is a huge positive when you are in Paris). I've stayed in a few luxury hotels before, but this is simply the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing the Saint James Paris for this unique occasion! We are truly glad to read that we managed to exceed your expectations and hope that the outcome of this surprise trip was positive! Be sure we will keep working to stay “the best” for your upcoming visits!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris
Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Paris
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#36 Business Hotel in Paris
#60 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 48 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, Otel, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.