We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flabergasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Flabergasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I don t write review often but since it was kind of a special trip for us...


we booked a junior suite at the St James for our wedding night, and to be complete with the context we live abroad but are both Parisian

we only arrived after the party, late at night, hard to pay proper tribute to the scene when the bulky metallic doors open onto a dark garden with this huge hotel particulier subtly lit emerging from the night, the car turning around the fountain to reach the magnificent entrance, you feel like you are in a carouse arriving at a castle in another age

staff was of course perfect and helpfull
the starecase alone is woth a look with a subtle mix of true parisian classic and modern baroque quite an atmosphere

the room was huge and the staff had kindly left for us a bottle of champagne and draw a heart with rose petals on the oversized bed
(True luxury feels in the small details here it was the case, even the soaps are superb (lanvin vetiver))

one hidden gem is the restaurant. St James is a private club before being a hotel so instead of a busy / noisy restaurant you have access to a delicate private garden almost for yourself food is great but a tad pricey

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guests,

I would like to thank you for choosing our little chateau for this very special night and for the detailed description of your impressions upon arrival. Indeed, the uniqueness of the Saint James Paris in terms of architecture and privacy is emphasized at night, making it the ideal place for a romantic stay. Thank you also for stressing out the cozy atmosphere of the dining room and the garden. As you mentioned, we are only partially open to the public, providing our guests with an exclusive yet friendly dining experience.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you next visit your home city!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    60
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
73
298
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had my first experience (and certainly not my last!) with the St. James in August. Even though it is said everyone leaves the city, I can tell you not at The St. James! They have the most amazing staff. Everyone was so friendly and knowledgeable; sent me to wonderful neighborhood restaurants and expertly guided me through the city. The hotel is elegant with a light touch (not intimidating as some decors dictate) and immaculately clean. My room was spacious, well appointed with high ceilings and lots of sunlight. I loved being in the 16th and the metro stop was just a block away! I relaxed each day in the lovely garden, enjoyed exceptional dining. The St. James is definitely a hidden jewel and I feel like I discovered The Secret Garden!!

Room Tip: I was in the 08 line (408, 308) which was a quite spacious corner one bedroom with living room; high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Ms C.,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this extremely kind review! It was our pleasure to welcome you to your own Secret Garden, even if you had to share it with a few others! We work daily to make each of our guests feel at home and, even if popular, to offer a truly warm and peaceful atmosphere. A famous guest once said “the Saint James is so friendly you want to call it Jim”. We all expect you back soon in your Parisian home.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Staying at the Saint James Paris is a truly unique parisian hotel experience. I booked this hotel as part of a surprise engagement, and the stay exceeded our expectations in every way. The service was fantastic and we were upgraded to a suite to celebrate the occasion. The location is also great, as it's only 15min walk from the Eiffel Tower and Arc de Triomphe, but not in a touristy location at all (which is a huge positive when you are in Paris). I've stayed in a few luxury hotels before, but this is simply the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing the Saint James Paris for this unique occasion! We are truly glad to read that we managed to exceed your expectations and hope that the outcome of this surprise trip was positive! Be sure we will keep working to stay “the best” for your upcoming visits!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this glorious hotel in Paris. The property looks nothing like a hotel. Grand gates, a beautiful fountain and steps flanked by lit lanterns lead you into a magnificently decorated chateau. We stayed in a suite on the top floor that featured a conservatory with a glass ceiling, a baby grand piano, sitting room, bedroom and a huge bathroom. We've stayed in many of the top properties in Paris before - each has it's wonderful attributes but this property gives you room to breath and then some. Peace and quiet tranquility are hard to come by in any busy city, but here you are guaranteed to sleep like a baby! It's a fifteen minute walk to the Eiffel Tower - Paris is a walking city, compact enough to walk end to end if you wish, so for us the location was perfect. The lounge is a cozy library and the outdoor area lush with roses is a fantastic place to curl up with a glass of wine and a good book. We had dinner in the restaurant - the food was wonderful and the service was equally good. The property is decorated with a hot air balloon theme throughout -- very fun but stylish. I would give the concierge five stars for being able to respond to any question we had and five stars for his charm and charisma. We would return to this property in a heartbeat. It is a Relais & Chateau property -- one that tops the collection.

Room Tip: Some cab drivers weren't familiar with the property - make sure to take the address with you bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this wonderful review. We are especially happy to read that you noticed the exceptional size of our rooms and suites as well as the unusual peace of our Parisian home. We believe that the sipping a cocktail in the library-bar, relaxing in the garden and tasting the fresh gourmet cuisine by Virginie Basselot are true experiences on their own, and we want our service to be as good: caring and personal. We all look forward to welcoming you back with the hope of becoming your home when in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is such perfection. My husband and I try and stay at only the best, well this is on the top of our favorites. We were only there for a short period of time. The staff is truly aiming for the highest of standards. This hotel is so elegant and whimsical, you do feel as though you have escaped to a magical place. We ate dinner there and it was well worth the price, the dining staff also strives for perfection. Sitting out back in the courtyard is the perfect place to relax and have tea. We will be back and will be staying for a much longer period of time. I also want to mention the gentleman behind the bar, so accommodating and what a gentleman.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Madam,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you and your husband for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post this raving review. It was a great pleasure for all of us to read that you enjoyed our décor and services to the point of describing them as perfect. We all look forward to welcoming you longer next time and to become your home in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Saint James is as pretty as it looks, and carries an overall sense of grandeur reminiscent of a chateau in the countryside. The venue alone was almost enough to draw us into booking our stay.

When checking in, our room was very kindly upgraded to a junior suite free of charge. The suite sits at the top level on the 5th floor, and had a Nespresso machine, a conservatory-style roof window and plenty of living space. The only fault was that the bathroom could have used some maintenance, as one of the bathroom sinks was prone to clogging. But overall it was a very nice place to be.

The hotel is centrally located in the city, but sits in a quiet street with relatively less traffic. With that you get the best of both worlds in terms of location and noise. We even had no problem walking to the Eiffel tower from the hotel.

The staff here are friendly and you generally feel looked after, but I personally think the venue was more memorable than the hospitality. We had no problem with that aspect, but it's an area they can improve on as the prices charged here are on the expensive side.

If you want to stay at a chateau but can only visit the city, then i would definitely recommend Saint James. It's a slice of the countryside tucked in a quieter part of Paris. Even if from the sights alone, you are sure find a memorable stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mr H,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay in our little chateau and for taking the time to post this great review! We are all glad to read that you enjoyed the particular feel of our upscale neighborhood as well as the size and crazy-chic décor of your Junior Suite.
We put all our efforts in making each of our guests feel at home and not just “looked after”, so I am sorry to learn that you did not feel totally the sense of hospitality that makes our reputation and for which most of our guests choose to return. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back with the hope you will truly feel at home with us.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I booked my 50th birthday at the St. James. The ambiance at the St. James was beyond compare. It was both whimsical and elegant with a constant air of excellence. The staff was attentive to the most minute detail and always with a smile. I accidentally booked my stay for 1 instead of 3 and they immediately found me and my guests a suitable suite without any problem and made sure that we were comfortable at all times. The estate is stunning and makes you wish you lived in an earlier time. The only problem I encountered was that it was not very well known and the taxis had a hard time finding it. But I solved that problem with a business card from the hotel and then it was a simple. I recommend this spacious, beautiful property to anyone. Not for children though.

Room Tip: I stayed in a suite. It was HUGE with a HUGE bathroom and plenty of closet space. It was decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear MaryJudith,

Thank you so much for celebrating your birthday with us and for posting this extremely kind review ! It was our pleasure to welcome you and your guests to our Relais & Châteaux property and we are very happy that you felt comfortable throughout your stay.
After being run as a hotel for over 20 years, it is a bit discouraging to read that some taxi drivers still do not know us. An advice to guests in that case would be to refer to us as the Saint James’ Club that is still hosted at the property and to mention the 16th arrondissement.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to your preferred suite in a near future,

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#3 Spa Hotel in Paris
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#20 Business Hotel in Paris
#37 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 48 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.