We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic would be an understatement!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Majestic would be an understatement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Let alone the upgrade that we rcvd upon arrival, the lovely greetings and the smiling faces certainly were in abundance. It's true that it is a bit pricy, but I think for a lovely parisian romantic getaway, this place will never let you down.

Location location location!!!!!! In a quiet n safe neighbourhood, yet walking distance to the Eiffel Tower and the champs élysées.

The chef certainly made food a delight, apart from it being a plenty, but the quality was certainly on the high end. I couldn't stop bragging about the richness of the omelet and the orange juice.

I would probably never stop about the suite, but I should say that although the ac wasn't all that....the shower certainly made up for it!!!!!

Thank you tres tres tres much!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for this romantic escapade in the city of Love and for taking the time to post this great review. We are glad you liked the crazy-chic décor and the convenient location of our little chateau.
I would also like to thank you for pointing out the kindness of our teams and the cuisine of Virginie Basselot. I am sorry the AC in your suite was lacking a bit of power during the heat wave, this has been solved in the meantime.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    61
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
75
300
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

All here appears luxurious and designed for comfort, but the plumbing in the bathroom is peculiar and the housekeeping attendants have an unpleasant manner.
Breakfast was excellent, if over-priced, and the decor and grounds are wonderfully over the top, as well as quiet for central Paris.
A major drawback was the position of the room, facing over the service area, where bins are emptied at about 4 o'clock in the morning - couldn't get back to sleep after that!
All in all, expectations were high, but not quite met.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying with us and for this feedback. I am glad you liked our décor and grounds as well as the quality of breakfast but am truly concerned about your comment on our housekeeping staff that is generally widely praised by our guests.
I am really sorry if garbage collection by the city was too noisy on that specific morning. I would be glad to welcome you for another visit during which all your expectations would be met without a doubt.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stay at the hotel for a night but it was bad experience. The shower bathroom was broken my husband cut his hand on it. We comlained but the service just suggested that we should of come and get a band-aid. The bathroom tiles were covered in mildew. For $1300 an night I expect everything working and in perfect conditions!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Madam,

I am truly sorry that your shower handle broke during your stay with us. I agree that this should not have happened and of course we had it replaced. The answer of our teams was a genuine and immediate concern to take care of the cut of your husband and did not at all imply a lack of concern. Should you choose to stay with us again, please contact me personally and I will be happy to make up for this inconvenience.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A 15 minute walk from L'arc de Triomphe as well as from the Eiffel Tower, this wonderful hotel is splendidly run. From the complimentary room upgrade to the excellent advice of the extremely knowledgeable and helpful concierges, our one week stay was special in every way. While in a quiet residential area, there are plenty of coffee shops, restaurants and other shops around, and there is a metro station just 100 metres from the front door. All in all, highly recommendable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mr C.,

I thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for a full week. We are truly happy to read that every aspect of your experience was up to your expectations and that you would recommend our little chateau to Trip Advisor readers.

We all look forward to serving you again soon and to becoming your home in Paris!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this boutique hotel in the heart of Paris. The experience from check in through check out was superb especially the front office and concierge. The room (suite) was very comfortable though the sofa cum bed in the living room where our children slept could have been better (the sofa cum bed bedding leaves quite a bit of the metal frame of the bed exposed)! The concierge in particular was extremely helpful (tickets to the louvre, useful tips, restaurant suggestions and bookings etc). Our overall experience would have been "excellent" but for the service at the bar and outdoor restaurant. They are either understaffed or lack the training - we were not given a drinks menu for 15 mins on the second day so we actually left! I complained to the manager and the next day service was better to start with. Then the waiter spills a whole glass of Euro 65 wine and does not even apologise profusely!! So rude. All through the meal, there was a corporate event on the terrace and everybody was running around ignoring us. We poured our own wine out of the bucket and generally felt quite angry at the whole experience.

Barring the bar/terrace experience, highly recommend the hotel. Just a suggestion to the hotel - pls fix the bar service standards and etiquette and throw in breakfast with the room tariff given that we paid an average of Euro 1000 per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

I thank you very much for choosing us for this family stay and for this extensive review. I am glad that you enjoyed our location, décor and services overall, but truly sorry to read that your experience at the bar and terrace were not up to your justified expectations.
Our service teams are generally praised, nevertheless we will put more efforts into this area and I assure you that your next experience with us will be truly “excellent”.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back,
Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary by traveling to several cities in Europe, including Paris, and we chose this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed, as the hotel lived up to the very positive TripAdvisor reviews. The Saint James staff upgraded us to a Jr. Suite with a beautiful sun room and lots of space. The room was large enough that it felt like our own Parisian pied-à-terre, which was really cool! The hotel and our room helped contribute to a wonderful stay in Paris. We were looking for a very Parisian hotel experience and this hotel delivered. We enjoyed the breakfast, plus the staff was very warm and friendly. If I were to give one small negative on the hotel, it might be its location. The hotel is located in a quieter upscale residential area of Paris and is further from restaurants, and the sites, than other hotels we have booked in Paris. However, the Metro stop is very close and convenient to the hotel--just don't expect to walk out the front door and find cafe's, bistros, boulangeries, chocolatiers, or fresh crepes, but you can get to those places quickly by Metro. We could walk to the Champs Elysees in about 15 minutes. So, if you like to be in the middle of the action, this is not your hotel, but if you want an elegant upscale Parisian sanctuary, this is the place.

Room Tip: Best view is of the front fountain courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing to celebrate your 20th anniversary in our little chateau! I am very happy to read that you liked the décor of our room, your breakfast and the service of our teams.
While the 16th district is indeed upscale and residential, it is also an area known for exclusive shopping and some wonderful gourmet experiences. There are excellent restaurants, boulangeries, pâtisseries and chocolatiers at a 3-minute walk on Avenue Victor Hugo. The places we especially recommend in the direct neighborhood are listed on a map available at the hotel, and of course our concierges are always happy to advise great spots nearby.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in between a London trip, June 2013. I had discovered the hotel online. We were very very pleased with our stay. The room designs are an epitome of elegance. I couldn't believe my eyes at how beautiful the interior designs were. the walls were adorned in fabrics (not wallpaper). Bathrooms spacious with lovely amenities. The gym & spa were both superb! Breakfast was something to look forward to, with great staff available to prepare almost anything you want in addition to the buffet. Gorgeous garden with unique hit air balloon themed seating area (must see). Concierge always very helpful. They are quite strict on check out times. The Metro station is exactly a 2mins walk, with a late night mini market just across the road (very handy). I will definitely come here again :-) This is truly a 5 Star+ hotel.

Note - Rooms are fully carpeted & walls adorned in fabric (as pretty as they are), which set off my asthma. Watch out for asthmatics.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Kanari K,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay in Paris, and for posting this great review! We are glad you enjoyed your Saint James Paris experience.
Please be sure that we always do our best to accommodate early check-in and late check-out requests, but with only 48 rooms and suites these are not very easy to achieve, especially during peak season.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#3 Spa Hotel in Paris
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#24 Business Hotel in Paris
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 48 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.