We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and Quirky yet beautifully Balanced and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Palo Cedro, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chic and Quirky yet beautifully Balanced and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Saint James.

Staying in a beautiful, restful place enhanced our much too brief
visit to Paris. We were surprised how quiet and restful our room was.
Great location.

I would describe your hotel as chic and a bit quirky yet beautifully
balanced and comfortable. Immaculately clean with high quality bedding.

Breakfast each morning... truly a special treat. Your morning staff
are second to none. We enjoyed walking to Stella's for dinner both
evenings (fabulous dining) and then returning home welcomed by your
friendly service staff.

When we come to Paris again we look forward to staying with you once
more. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room had both a deep bathtub and a large walk-in shower. The one draw back was the toilet was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Terry M,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for this great review! We are delighted to read that you liked our location, décor and services (our morning team was especially proud and happy about your extremely kind reference!).
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon to try the fabulous menu of our Chef Virginie Basselot and our signature Gemology treatments in the spa.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    61
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
75
300
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Simply SUPERB! My husband and I travel extensively for work and leisure and frequent 5 and 4* hotels around the world. Bottom line - Saint James Paris is THE best hotel in Paris and beyond. We were upgraded to a Jr Suite with a nice bottle of wine and a personalized note. More importantly, the staff were all sheer perfection - incredibly warm, welcoming and extremely diligent and customer oriented . . . despite our naughty dog ;)

Based on our experience, will be bringing my entire family back in a couple of weeks. Many thanks to the entire staff at Saint James Paris! Much appreciate your hospitality and looking forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for this raving review! Reading feedbacks like yours is a great motivation for all of us. We work daily to provide a personalized and caring service to each of our guests….and to their furry companions! Be sure we will always be our very best to deserve your very kind qualification of “best hotel”.

Looking forward to welcoming you back with your family soon,
Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Saint James is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. Our Junior Suite was enormous and luxurious and we absolutely loved the decor of both the hotel and the room. Most of the staff was very friendly, especially the front desk and bar staff. The concierge staff was helpful but definitely on the "cool" side. It made me uncomfortable at times in a way that's hard to describe.

As gay computer nerds my husband and I both appreciated the complimentary internet and made good use of it. The speeds weren't great, but they were good enough and the front desk was kind enough to provide us with access codes for all six of our devices (two phones, two pads, and two laptops -- did I mention that we're computer nerds ;).

We especially enjoyed the bar, both inside where it's a library with comfortable leather chairs and outside with its hot-air balloon theme. The bar staff was always attentive and courteous. I highly recommend the Croque Monsieur if you decide to have lunch in the bar.

This was our first visit to Paris and I haven't decided if I want to stay at the Saint James again when we return next year. It is one of the most beautiful hotels I've been in, perhaps second only to the Four Seasons on the Big Island of Hawaii though even that would be a tough call. The location is very nice and it was an easy walk to the Metro, to Victor Hugo, to Champs Elysees, and to the Arc de Triumph. Even the Eiffel Tower wasn't very far and we walked all the way to l'Orangerie and along the Seine from the hotel. It's a great hotel, I just wish I'd felt more comfortable being there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yves_Monnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you and your husband very much for choosing our little chateau for your first stay in Paris, it was a pleasure for all of us to welcome you both!
I am especially glad to read that you liked the location of our home, its crazy-chic décor and spacious rooms, as well as the service of our teams in general. However, I am genuinely concerned about your not feeling totally at ease during your stay. We all work daily to make each of our guests feel at home, and the service and warmth of our concierge team is one of the points on which we get the best feedbacks.
Be sure we would all be absolutely delighted to welcome you and your husband back and to become your home when in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I choose this hotel based on decoration and amazing ambiance. I am a hotelier so I look for places that are truly unique and outstanding. The Saint James is perfect! I was absolutely impressed by décor and service, big applause for all of you!

Pro's:
-amazing décor! This place has been decorated by a décor guru. Every detail is well thought and very creative but still classic.
-bar has great Parisian ambiance from locals and great cocktails.
-Excellent service at Bar
-Perfect front desk assistance and enough personnel to attend every need.
-room is very spacy
-turndown had choco from Angelina mmmm
-Linens were very nice and soft
-very clean


Will be back!

Room Tip: Book through MrandMrsSmith to get upgrades and extras!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Saint James Paris and for taking the time to post this raving review. TripAdvisor visitors will without a doubt value the feedback of hospitality professional. We are delighted you liked the crazy-chic décor by Bambi Sloan, the size and amenities of our rooms as well as the service of our teams. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked this hotel for our final night in Europe and was not disappointed. We were upgraded to a junior suite and from the moment we entered the hotel is was first class. Our room was fantastic and the receptionist who showed us to our suite pointed everything out to us and did not miss a thing. A few minutes later we were surprised with a bottle of champagne for our anniversary. The room was so beautifully decorated, the bedroom and bathroom divine. The linen was superb and the room was whisper quiet. Our only disappointment was that we only had one night there and not seven. We would not look at any other accommodation. We cannot comment on the spa as we did not have enough time there. We give this hotel 10/10. Fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Ms T.,

Thank you so much for choosing our little chateau to spend the last night of your anniversary trip. We are glad you enjoyed your Saint James Paris experience and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a longer visit next time. We shall do our very best to be up to the generous note you very kindly awarded us after this first stay!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

There is no better place to stay in Paris. Loved their over the top Napolean Bonaparte tongue in. Cheek glamour...Our suite was a retreat, a luxurious incredibly spacious retreat from the busy world of shopping and people watching and soaking in all that is so stylish of the French. and stylish they are. The service was impeccable, the breakfasts one of the best I have had. Our dear friend Tina of Royal Chundu referred us to the Saint James, and I am so glad she did. I loved our circular window that framed the view, loved the skylights, loved the fact that our suite had its own conservatory so light flooded the space. The hot air balloon theme was fun especially in the mad hatter tea party vibe the garden setting inspired. The hotel was an experience itself, thank you, we had a ball!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Ms E.,

Thank you very much for following the advice of your friend and for choosing to stay in our glamorous yet peaceful little chateau. We are also thankful for this extremely kind review mentioning your top-floor suite, our whimsical gardens, and breakfast service. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon to Wonderland to try Virginie Basselot's cuisine and the Gemology treatments in the spa!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

After a few initial problems with our room, the Hotel staff were extremely helpful and significantly upgraded us to a suite which was sumptuously draped with beautiful brocaded fabrics.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Paris at this Hotel, beds were very comfortable and loved dining in the Library bar. Our last evening we splashed out at the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the degustation menu prepared by Virginie Basselot - a special conclusion to our wonderful stay in Paris.
Quiet and comfortable hotel with excellent staff - highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Misha,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for recommending the Saint James Paris in this very kind review. I am truly sorry about the issues you faced initially and am glad the rest of your stay went smoothly. We hope you will make the Saint James Paris your home in the capital!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#3 Spa Hotel in Paris
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#24 Business Hotel in Paris
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 48 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.