We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the Chic 16th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfection in the Chic 16th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just returned from a few days at this elegant hotel. I will not reiterate all of the wonderful things stated in the other reviews but I agree with all of them. My husband and I were in Paris celebrating our 25th anniversary and it was our 9th visit to Paris - - obviously we've stayed in many hotels over the years. We were upgraded to a gorgeous suite that had 2 bathrooms, a large elegant sitting room ,and a separate bedroom. It was decorated with a garden theme and it was magical. The hotel itself is incredible -- from the impressive yet cozy bar in a library setting to the gorgeous dining room where we had breakfast every morning it was simply beautiful. But what really makes the place outstanding is the staff. They were all so friendly and helpful in the best possible way. Everyone was professional but there was a genuine warmth about them that made us feel at home and also made us feel that these are people who love their work and love working in such a beautiful setting. I will give you one small example. On the day we were leaving, traffic was tied up around the hotel due to a strike. The staff could not have been more helpful, calling us a taxi and speaking repeatedly on the phone with the taxi driver who was having trouble getting close to the hotel. When it became clear that the driver couldn't make it to the hotel, one of the staff members bundled us and our bags into his own car even apologizing that it wasn't clean enough (if you can imagine!) and drove us to the Trocadero so we could meet our taxi driver and make it to the airport on time. I really don't think this would have been done for us at any other hotel in Paris. And the location is lovely. There are some great small museums in the area, not to mention the Bois - -and once you realize that the metro is a minute walk from the hotel - - you can get anywhere you want in Paris easily and efficiently. If you are even thinking about staying here - - stop thinking and book a reservation now!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Madam,

We all thank you and your husband for choosing to stay at the Saint James Paris to celebrate your anniversary and for this very kind review. I especially would like to thank you for your special mention to our teams. We are very happy to work in this fabulous setting and do our best to communicate our enthusiasm to our guests, in order to help them feel at home.
Looking forward to your next visit,

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    61
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
75
300
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was the 4th or 5th time we have stayed there. The location is beautiful (the 16th),handy to the Metro, nice for walks to most attractions. Rooms are very nicely appointed and the staff is wonderful. The concierges are particularly outstanding and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this kind review. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you chose to make the Saint James Paris your home in the capital! We all look forward to welcoming you back often in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After proposing to me in Paris, my fiancé brought me to this gorgeous chateaux! He had informed the hotel of our engagement and they did everything to make our stay special. The suite they put us in was absolutely beautiful. The decor was everything I expected to find in Paris - elegant furniture, chandeliers, and unique paintings.

Aside from the amazing decor, the dining and food experience was delightful! We enjoyed some of our best meals at the hotel, and spent a lot of time having drinks and snacks in the 24hr library bar. The service was perfection, and the staff were so friendly and sweet.

I loved all of the little extra surprises: Pilou the cat, gourmet gummies treats, and all of the lovely toiletries.

We really can't wait to visit Paris again, and without a doubt we'll be staying at Saint James when we return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ms H.,

Thank you very much for posting this very kind review! We are all glad you and your fiancé enjoyed your stay with us for this very unique occasion. Pilou and all the team look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I am just in love with this hotel. Every room is a surprise in its design. The staff are friendly, extremely professional yet not in your face .. When u need them they just seem to appear. I have to say the brunch is a must, it heavenly.. It's the only hotel I will stay in when I'm in paris. I advise you to ask for the first floor rod they hv the best view.. And the 5 th floor are very very cool too !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for this great review! Reading your feedback makes me believe that we managed to achieve our goal: make you feel at home in our crazy-chic little chateau. We ensure you that whatever room you choose for your upcoming stays, this will remain our priority. I would also be glad to show you other incredible decors on other floors during your next visit, as we still have many secrets for you to discover!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I came here for work and my clients booked a hotel for me at Saint James Hotel. It is such unique, elegant, small, chateau-like boutique hotel. I loved everything about it from the friendly staff, beautiful decorations everywhere and cleanliness of the rooms - not to mention their excellent food and their elegant library bar. This is a must stay (if you can afford it) next time you are in Paris. A perfect place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, General Manager at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Kenny,

Thank you very much for this praising review! We are all glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again in a near future.

Your sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was our second stay at The St James, Paris which we adored - again. Delightful (upgraded) spacious, comfortable room, beautiful (eclectic) ambience and of course one of THE most important ingredients in a hotel - charming, helpful, highly professional staff. Loooved the library bar. Will definitely be back, next time with walking shoes to further explore the Bois de Boulogne nearby. Heide E

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Heide,

Thank you so much for making the Saint James Paris your Paris hideaway and for agreeing to share your secret with the readers of TripAdvisor! We all look forward to serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Double upgrade. Authentic staff, very responsive service, food was exceptional, exceeded expectations! quiet neighborhood, peaceful at night, easy access to du centre-ville.

I would stay here again anytime...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Mr Harrison,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for this very kind review. I am glad to read that our services actually exceeded your expectations. It will be our pleasure to welcoming you back anytime!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#3 Spa Hotel in Paris
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#24 Business Hotel in Paris
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 48 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.