We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, Beautiful, and Welcoming Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Elegant, Beautiful, and Welcoming Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a fabulous stay we had at the Saint James Paris - every aspect exceeded our most optimistic expectations. First, each member of the hotel staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and to meet our requests and needs. From the cheery reception we received each morning at breakfast, to the friendly “bonne journee” we received as we headed out each day, and the warm reception we received on our return, everyone was delightful and responsive. Our very special thanks go out to Head Concierge Christian Garot, whose performance was truly amazing. He found the perfect restaurants for us every night, including one evening in which he miraculously obtained a table for us at Frenchie’s, and, at the very last minute, he managed to secure us the best view table in the Jules Verne restaurant for our farewell to Paris lunch. During our last trip to Paris we stayed at the Ritz in a wonderful suite, and it was a great experience, but we truly prefer the elegant, town house style, beauty and comfort of the Saint James. We really did feel like pampered house guests of a famous Duke. We hope to return to the Saint James Paris very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our Relais & Châteaux property and for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are truly glad to have exceeded your expectations, as it is our aim to make each of our guests feel at home (even if the famous Duke was not there to greet you personally!).
Christian, our entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon and to becoming your home in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    61
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
74
299
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spot on! Best hotel I have stayed in Paris. The building itself is worth the staying, from the charming restaurant and bar to the front and rear gardens: fantastic outset in one of the best residential neighbouroud. The Champs Elysee are 20 minutes walk and Victor Hugo nearby offers a wide range of restaurants and shops.
The rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds and outstanding bathroom. The breakfast is also very good with a wide range of selection; have not tried the restaurant but heard very good reviews
The staff is very helpful although the presence of some trainees was noted. The concierge could have been a bit more helpful but I guess this being in line to the city standard....
Great hotel in a great location suitable both for couples and business travellers that can also benefit from the in house restaurant and gym. Strongly recommended

Room Tip: Room facing the back gardens are preferrable although all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much choosing the Saint James Paris and for this very thorough review. We are very honored you considered your stay with us the best in Paris so far. Be sure our entire team looks forward to serving you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We just found by chance this hotel which looked rather nice. Its strength are 1°) the service, everybody is exceptionnally friendly,not always used to that in Paris. 2°) decoration and interiors are spectacular and authentic. 3°) it is quiet. OK some weakness: its location!!But with lots of taxis around this problem was noy a very serious one.
All in all a marvelous stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post this very kind review. We are glad you enjoyed this first stay with us and already look forward to welcoming you back to our "crazy chic" home in the truly French 16th arrondissement, with its many boutiques, restaurants and museums located at a short walk.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester le Street
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have just returned from this wonderful hotel. If anyone has any doubts about booking here please do not hesitate. We arrived early at the hotel - well before the check in time of 2pm and my partner in particular had flown in from Tokyo (myself from the UK) and so we asked if there was any possibility that our room would be ready early. To our delight we were told they had a room available for us and upgraded us to a junior suite. It was beautiful - we couldn't fault it in any way. Every detail was taken care of and the bed has to be the most comfortable I've ever slept in...!

The hotel is tucked away in a residential area but is very central and took us only 10-15 minutes to walk to the Arc de Triumphe so the location is first class. All of the staff without exception were friendly, courteous and professional - always smiling and extremely helpful. The concierge gave us maps, offered to book dinner for us, telephoned a taxi etc. and nothing was too much trouble. We were only here for one night and I wish it could have been longer. We did so much sightseeing on our first day that we missed breakfast completely so I cannot offer any review of he food. However, we did use the bar and it's very elegant and relaxing and our wine was excellent!

Rest assured that as soon as we can arrange another trip to Paris we will stay here again without hesitation and I have aleady recommended the hotel to friends and colleagues. Beautiful, first class hotel. If you're thinking of going here just book it.

Thank you so much to the St James, Paris.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite with two large French windows overlooking the front of the hotel and onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Ms P.,

We thank you for choosing the Saint James Paris and for promoting us so actively (our sales team would hire you without a doubt!). We are glad our décor, location and services exceeded your expectations to the extend of reaching perfection in your opinion. We all look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully for a longer stay this time!

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thank you Saint James Paris. I enjoyed my stay at your hotel immensely. Every little detail was taken care of by your diligent staff who were both courteous and professional. I thank you for the room upgrade. I know I would have been just as pleased with the original room. The pavilion was one of my highlights from an amazing time in Paris. The hotel restaurant was an amazing experience. Virginie provided an exceptional feast for my friends and I. Nothing but praise for her and her staff. I will be recommending your hotel to all my friends and associates, as the entire experience was nothing short of fantastic. A big thank you to all your staff for their tireless effort and efficiency during my stay. I look forward to my speedy return to Paris so that I may stay once again in your fine hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for staying with us and for this great review! We are glad you liked your free-standing pavilion as well as our services and the cuisine of our Chef, Virginie Basselot.
Be sure we will always welcome you, your friends and associates with the same attention, with the hope to become your home in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very good and warm service, selected highly quality foods, friendly people but also little bit high food and drink prices. Especially experienced personel would be chance for the hotel. One of the very best hotel of the world. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us with your family and for taking the time to post this very kind review. Being qualified as “one of the best hotels of the world” is a great reward for us! We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter for a short shopping break. The desk staff were lovely and upgraded us to a really lovely feminine room perfect for the occasion. My only criticism is that I felt the rest of the staff were not particularly friendly or helpful. We had a drink in the bar and dinner in the restaurant and were ignored in both. I continually had to call a waiter over to order, for drinks etc or we were just left sitting there. For this reason I probably wouldn't stay again as have had better experiences at other hotels in Paris. That said it is a nicely designed and quirky hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvesMonnin, Directeur général at Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Madam,

We thank you and your daughter very much for staying with us during your shopping escapade in Paris. I am glad to read that you liked our décor and services in general but am deeply sorry you felt neglected at the library-bar and restaurant.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a totally satisfying experience.

Yours sincerely,
Yves Monnin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 43 avenue Bugeaud, 75116 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#3 Spa Hotel in Paris
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#21 Business Hotel in Paris
#37 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the Champs-Elysées, the Saint James Paris is a 100-year old château surrounded by its own private garden, offering a unique experience of grandeur and intimacy, classicism and extravagance. Each of the 48 spacious suites and rooms exudes its own atmosphere. This eccentric family home also offers a mythical library-bar, a restaurant with Chef Virginie Basselot, a one-of-its-kind terrace in the garden, and a spa in partnership with Guerlain offering treatment rooms, steam-rooms and fitness. A member of Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint James Paris Hotel Paris
Saint James Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint James Paris - Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.