We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agora Saint Germain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Agora Saint Germain to your Saves list
Agora Saint Germain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42, rue des Bernardins | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #422 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Paris
1 review
“Excellent location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great hotel, would definitely stay here again and recommend for couples or friends wanting a nice but reasonably priced hotel in a beautiful area of Paris!
The staff were very helpful and spoke perfect English which really helped make everything easy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    357
    73
    14
    16
See reviews for
65
367
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The location of this place is what makes it worthwhile, being within 5 mins walk from a couple of metro stops.

Our twin room actually had a lingering smell of weed but after keeping the windows open for a couple of hours on the first day, it was ok. Apart from this, the room was adequately cleaned daily and nice hot showers. I found the bed comfortable. The rooms/bathrooms were pretty small, my 5'10" brother stated he felt like a giant in the bath! Oh, I am a heavy sleeper but I was informed by other members of my party that the bells opposite the hotel ring out at about 8am, which they found slightly frustrating!

On check out, we left our luggage in the storage room. Unfortunately there was a leak and my suitcase got slightly wet. I didn't have time to complain, I just mentioned it to them then run out of the door to catch the Eurostar!

Overall, reasonable price for Paris with the location being its plus point!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We picked this hotel for our trip to be in this particular district, near Notre Dame and many other sights and areas of town. So location-wise it was great. We even had a balcony. We asked for a non-smoking room but unfortunately the people previously to us smoked in it. There were no other rooms, it was pretty small but on a high floor which was nice. Our adult children stayed in a triple on the first floor that was pretty spacious but dark, no windows. The computer never worked but they had free wi-fi.It was near the complicated subway system.

Room Tip: We had a balcony but it was noisy and pretty at the same time. Our kids had quiet but no windows so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Awesome area!!! Close to everything, in a neighborhood that feels like a village instead of a city. Within walking distance to Notre dame and many metros.
Best restaurants and bars- le moderne for dinner, zig zag cafe for drinks, l'authre for breakfast, English pub bombardier.

Room
Pluses:
Very friendly staff
Bed comfy
Good pillows
Full length mirror
Plugs next to night stand
Nice desk
Towels ok
Shower head is god
Sink area good
Bar soap, shampoo and lotion
Clean

Minuses:
Bad lighting
Hairdyer - typical French no power wall unit
Very small shower
Couldn't figure out thermostat but we just opened the window
Our room (the Expedia special) had no view just a wall

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are small. The xlnt tv is really xs. The safe is not digitally coded. Tea coffee not replenished daily. But location is good. For not take breakfast but walk 50m to Eric Kayser for some fancy bread e.g. white chocolate or chocolate bread.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed here three time & will visit again. Lovely room & ensuite, cleaning is very good & thickwhite fresh towels changed daily. Breakfast is self service,, cooked available if required. Food is very good, fresh & pleasant variety of cheese, cooked meats etc. as well as pastries & croissants etc. Service is very friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal, I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I travel enough to know that when traveling from the U.S. to Europe to book the night before so that when I arrive at 7 AM after a nights travel, the room will be waiting. Well, I forgot, or just did not do this, so when I arrived with my wife, the room was not ready. The front desk staff was most helpful, took our luggage, told us of a good little bistro close by and asked for our cell phone number, Within an hour, we got a call. The room would be ready in 30 minutes. Wow, that is service. We stayed there for several days prior to moving on to the South. St. Germain is a wonderful spot to visit and use as a base in the city. While we have traditionally stayed on the East Bank, we really enjoyed this stay. The pictures on the site we used to book the room matched our room and we were happy. Our room was toward the back so very quiet and easy to get a good rest. We will return.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid street noise, and St. Germain can be noisy, ask for a room in the rear of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agora Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Saint Germain

Address: 42, rue des Bernardins | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#394 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Agora Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Agora Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agora Saint Germain Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agora Saint Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.