We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain to your Saves list
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 blvd Saint Germain | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #452 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Convenient location close to both a RER and Metro station. 5 minute walk to Notre Dame. The staff were always helpful & friendly. The only negative was that our room had a bad smell like a wet dog & we couldn't leave the window open because there was very loud construction happening in the building across the road. Just a bit annoying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    404
    94
    26
    21
See reviews for
97
417
60
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
key largo
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had a room on the top floor at the front. There is a small lift and we used it for luggage. If you take the stairs it's a workout! The internet did not work in our room but they have a computer downstairs in the lobby that was sufficient for us. The room was very small but it was very clean and the linens were great. The bathroom was small yet newly remodeled and towels were perfect. The road was a little noisy but you didn't hear it if the windows were closed. The front desk staff is there 24/7 and very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This property is conveniently located on St. Germain on the Left Bank, a 5-minute walk to Notre Dame. The rooms are nicely decorated with good lighting, especially in the bathroom and very clean, thanks to the friendly housekeeping staff. Tea/coffee-making facilities are provided as well as very good internet. The windows do open to the street, but we appreciated the heat on cold nights. The room was somewhat larger than the typical, Parisian small hotel.There are nice public areas in the foyer and adjacent reading room. Breakfast is an optional extra, that we did not take as we were always out early in the morning sightseeing. There is a very small elevator that we used to take our luggage up to the room on the 4th floor that held one piece of luggage and one person at a time. Otherwise, we used the stairs as the wait times for the elevator made it quicker to walk. There is good security at the hotel and very accommodating front desk staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Recently stayed two nights with my teenage daughter. The hotel was very close to the metro, and also to the RER station from the airport. Within easy walking distance of Notre Dame - and in a lovely area. Room was small, but that is to be expected in central Paris - bed very comfortable and room quiet and clean. Would highly recommend this hotel and plan to visit again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to superior room to get twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I liked this hotel very much. It was fun and funky with a wacky sort of decor and appeal. The front desk staff was terrific and the housekeepers did a great job of cleaning. My room was small, but that's to be expected in Europe. The bed was comfortable with very nice sheets, pillows and comforter. I had a balcony room which overlooked rooftops, which I love and a little turn to the right I could see part of Notre Dame. It's definitely on the higher end of 3 star hotels and the location is excellent. I did not purchase the breakfast but did read it is quite expensive. I would prefer to visit the pastry shops anyway so would probably never enjoy the breakfast, even if it was included in the tariff.

Room Tip: I think rooms higher up keeps the noise from Avenue Saint Germaine at bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Abbatial some years ago on my fist visit to Paris and then again last year. I liked it both times. like all hotels in Paris the rooms are very small by international standards however this does not detract from a pleasant stay, I mean all you really need in Paris is a clean bed and shower anyway, lets face it there is so much to do!.
the view from my room both times was great, looking over a beautiful old building and the Paris streetscape. the location is the best part, so close to Notre Dame, Latin Quarter and a walk to the siene in a minute. the breakfast in the hotel is too expensive and not very good, my recommendation is to pop out for a fresh bread stick and pop across the road to the deli to get some lovely cheese, meats and fruit and make a breakfast in your room. I found this to be a lovely way to start the day and then I kept the leftovers in my mini bar for late night snacks with a glass of vino (felt very French) great after a long day of sightseeing.
the staff were very helpful and lovely, they even helped me with my terrible French pronunciations and gave so good travel advice on attractions.

I will stay again next time I'm in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. While the room was very small (we could barely walk around the bed) it had everything we needed and was very clean. We really enjoyed the balcony and the big windows, which surprisingly kept the noise out. A fridge to chill the wine and cheese we bought was an added plus! The hotel was a little pricey but we feel we got our money's worth.

The real benefit of this hotel was the location and staff. The staff were very helpful with arranging transportation and the location was just blocks from Notre Dame on one of Paris' main streets with tons of restaurants. We also really enjoyed the Tuesday and Thursday farmers market across the street where we were able to buy fresh meat and cheese for snacks and picnics!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain

Address: 46 blvd Saint Germain | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#363 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#444 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbatial Saint Germain Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.