We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 blvd Saint Germain | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #433 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location near the Latin Quarter and steps to the Notre Dame. We stayed there for two nights and later in the week 3 nights. The first room #26 was very nice but a bit small. On our second stay, we stayed in room 22 which was perfect. We only had one issue which was a broken hot water carafe. We mentioned it at the front desk, and on our return, there was a new carafe waiting for us. Plenty of places to eat/shop close by. There's a produce store and supermarket right across the street. Very safe area to walk around even at night. Staff was great as well and spoke fluent English. If staying more than a couple of nights, upgrade the room. Hotel has a policy that they hold onto the key when you leave which was great for us as we didn't have to worry about losing the key while sight seeing. Wifi and safes in room. Bathrooms were modern and clean

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    397
    93
    24
    22
See reviews for
89
392
60
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Booked the nonrefundable rate for deluxe room. Woke up after the 1st night to leaking water from the room above. Leaking on the night table next to the bed, near the wall lamp, on top of the closet which seeped onto the top shelf. Asked to have someone come fix it. Was told the plumber had quit. Asked if they could put us in a new room, but he had to check with the manager. Came back early evening and they had moved us into another room. I asked if they got everything out, she assured me they did but since the new people hadn't checked in she could let me go check. Our passports, cash and prescriptions were still in the safe. The new room I must say had a better view, but it was a comfort room, which is very, very tiny. While I would have preferred the larger room, it wasn't that big of a deal because we were out and about most of the time anyway. Upon check out we asked if we would be refunded on the difference of cost between the 2 rooms for the 2 nights we stayed. We were told it was a non refundable room and we asked for the change. That is all true, however, we didn't want an entire refund, just the amount of the difference between the rooms for the 2 nights. All I ask is to have a room in working order and to pay the price for the type of room I am in. I was told I needed to email the manager about it, which I did. Got a reply back today that said they would give me a good promotional rate and upgraded room on my next stay.
Now for the positives. The Hotel is in a really nice location, close to #10 metro and a short walking distance to the RER B. Only a block down the street and you are at the river and bridge that crossed to Notre Dame and Saint Chapelle, and the Batobus stop. Pantheon is also a short walk away. The rooms were clean and actually quiet considering the hotel is on a busy street. However, at night the traffic is minimal so noise is not a problem. The blonde lady at the front desk was very nice and always had a smile on her face and very willing to help with any questions. WiFi was free and worked well, it had a nice reading lounge and a couple of computers for guests to use.
Overall, this is a nice hotel, great location, but in my opinion not worth the price.

Room Tip: Avoid room 14 with the water leak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This lovely hotel in St Germain is right in the Latin Quarter giving easy access to walk to many attractions and very close to Metro and RER stations. Staff are excellent and speak very good English. The double room we had was very small and the bathroom tiny. However if you want to stay close to the attractions in the Latin Quarter this is a small price to pay. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as it was 12E per person and it is much cheaper to go to any of the many cafes right outside the hotel. The room was very warm and the bed very comfortable. Also very tidy and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking St Germain Boulevard are good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our trip to Paris in April 2013. The hotel was at a great location in the heart of the Latin Quarter. There were so many bars, restaurants and shops within walking distance. It was also just around the corner from Notre Dame Cathedral and across the street from another beautiful church. The hotel was easy to get to by metro.. it's several feet from a metro station. Also, it's a 15 minute walk to Paris Gare de Lyon train station.

The rooms were well decorated and very comfortable. We got the superior double. We had a nice little balcony. Everything was very clean and I think we got fresh towels and sheets every day. The only negative was it was very noisy outside of the hotel at night because of its location in the Latin Quarter. You could hear groups of people talking outside, sirens from police cars/ambulances going down the street at all hours of the night. This is probably true of all hotels centrally located in Paris though... and it was during the weekend so that was probably a contributing factor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a corner room on the third floor with a king size bed, fairly comfortable. Ensuite bathroom with a small tub and shower combo. 3 doors open up to the outside, 1 in the bathroom and two in main room, each with a small ledge big enough to stand on. Small mini fridge stocked with a few beverages for purchase, also room to keep a few items of your own. Breakfast is 12 euro and an excellent value, especially for Paris; breads, cheeses, yogurt, scrambled eggs, small sausages, coffee tea or chocolate, as well as some dry cereals and fresh fruit. Hotel has a lift but very small, comfortable for one person and a suitcase. Excellent location, just one block south of the river, 5 minutes to Notre Dame. Rooms are nice and quiet with doors closed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Loved everything about our stay. Our room as requested was on on upper floor and was large and had a good rooftop view of Notre Dame church. It was quiet at night. The room had a safe, coffee service and free wi fi that worked. Also a tv but not always English channels. We had room to move about and put our large suitcases where we would not trip over them. The room was cleaned and towels replaced so happy with the room. The staff were friendly and spoke English. The staff at reception our last night allowed us to pay early and called a shuttle which cost less than a cab for our very early flight. We took the breakfast package for 5 nights or more and were very happy with the long hours available, the staff and food selection and coffee. The elevator was narrow but we rarely had a problem getting it in our week. Saved hauling our heavy suitcases as we had to do in other hotels. For a larger room ask for a corner room or get the package. Very pleased with all and did not even have time to check out the amenities in the lobby. Lots of good inexpensive places to eat within a short walk. Short walk to metro. Close to Saint Michael neighborhood. Close to river and Notre Dame. Could walk to many sights. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and corner room with view. No fitness center just walk instead. Just breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain

Address: 46 blvd Saint Germain | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#323 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbatial Saint Germain Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abbatial Saint Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.