We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proximity, polite and understated service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Germain des Pres

Save Saved
You added Hotel Saint Germain des Pres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Rue Bonaparte, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #517 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Holbrook
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Proximity, polite and understated service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nothing was too much trouble, from booking resturants, taxis, and random pieces of advice. For travellers like us with 4 days to see as much as possible in Paris this is a great location, quiet and well appointed. Terrific location for contemporary galleries as well as access to all the great museums. Good for food and shopping.

Room Tip: Being high up there is a lift, it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    22
    11
    8
See reviews for
16
86
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In Paris you can always expect small rooms. This is not an exception. But the decoration is charming, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast buffé is small but quite enough for an European stomach. The interior in the breakfastroom is wonderful. The cleaning is good and the only thing I can complain about is that our room wasn't cleaned until late in the afternoon, even though we had asked that it would be made up at 3 o'clock.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I started our 2 week vacation with a 4 day stay in Paris. We chose this hotel based on recommendations from a friend who has stayed here in the past. We were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Small by American standards, but not so in France. The staff was helpful and friendly. And the location is fantastic! Nearby are the museums, public gardens, restaurants, and boulevards that beckon to us all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for a week end of April. Location was amazing. Walking distance to many sites and metro stop a block away. Rooms were small as previously mentioned but clean. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Our room faced the street so it was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Our short stay in Paris was such a most enjoyable and memorable time. It was the perfect way that my wife and myself could celebrate our golden wedding anniversary 50years .Hotel Saint Germain des Pres is everything a visitor could wish for, comfortable,spotlessly clean and very friendly. All the staff are helpful, polite and very friendly. The Hotel is situated no further than approximately 100 meters from the river Seine, 100 meters from the Metro station and about 150 meters from the Latin Quarter for it's cheap and delightful food. An excellent buffet breakfast is available where all tastes are catered for to give a perfect start to the day and at the time of writing available for only 12 Euros. You would be hard pushed to find even a midday snack and drink anywhere in Paris to match this price. We now hold many happy memories of our stay in Paris. Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres

Room Tip: Telephone the Hotel they will help you to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I wrote a review of this hotel in December 2013 only to find it mysteriously deleted. I got bed bugs here - only to be told by reception that I had brought them with me. (Very funny - this was my first stop from home). Whilst the hotel shifted my rooms, the biggest issue I had was the lack of empathy from reception. Given my trip was solo, just an ounce of advice on what to do would have been appreciated. On a positive note, the local manager did follow up my email to them post visit. Sweet, but again, denied they had a problem. Guys - bed bugs might not be in your beds (apparently you get them treated); but I fell asleep leaning up against your fabric covered walls... A great location, but get your customer service right! I had to wake up the reception guy just to check out in the morning... Would not return.

Room Tip: Wifi available. Luggable distance to the metro. Try the coffee at the corner cafe for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsgdp, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Madam, I acknowledge receipt of this new review which I had already answered you by e-mail and via this site in December. Three months later I confirm you that after check by myself and a specialized company, no bed bugs were found in your room. Three months later, nobody was a victim of what you say to have undergoes. Very cordially. Eric Desfaudais. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theil Rabier France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were here for the weekend and wanted "cheap".
That we got. Very cozy little room (actually, tiny would be a better description, but warm).
Very helpful staff and friendly to boot.
Problem was we a) had absolutely no view other than an array of pies outside the window, and b) I am convinced our room was directly over the Metro line. Despite being 4 floors up, it felt as though the Metro was in the bathroom, and it was a busy line.
Still, we wanted cheap and cheerful, and that was what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for a street side room away from the lift (elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsgdp, Directeur général at Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Sir, We thank you for your choice of the Saint Germain des Prés area during your stay in Paris. Unfortunately I thing you have posted your review on the wrong hotel, Please check on your reservation and invoice HOTEL SAINT GERMAIN DES PRES, 36 rue Bonaparte, 75006 PARIS. Many Hotels do have SAINT GERMAIN into their name, only one HOTEL SAINT GERMAIN DES PRES. In fact you really can not hear the metro from where we are located.
Kindest regards
Eric Desfaudais.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 36 Rue Bonaparte, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#324 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#368 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the Paris' most coveted positions, Hotel Saint Germain des Prés provides a cool haven with a feel of a chic Paris pied a terre. Built in the 18th century as a gracious townhouse, the hotel retains many period details and original architectural features.Today Hotel Saint Germain is a landmark of unique character and 21st century timeless elegance. A choice of interesting people the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Germain Des Pres Hotel
Hotel St Germain Des Pres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.