We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in the best location in Paris.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint Germain des Pres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint Germain des Pres to your Saves list
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Rue Bonaparte, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #563 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Value in the best location in Paris.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We went to Paris in April and stayed here for 3 nights, and really have nothing bad to say about the place. We would be happy to stay there again next time we come back to Paris.

Main Points:
-The room was very charming! Decor was classy and the room was a good size. Our window overlooked the street. For any business travelers that need WIFI as much as I do, the WIFI had a very strong signal (at least in our room) which was a big bonus.
-The staff spoke good English and was very friendly. There was a gentlemen working the front desk during the days that went out of his way to make us happy. Got us a cab when we asked for it, made a reservation for us at a restaurant that is near impossible to book, and even printed out a couple good maps of the area to help us get around (there was a lady who wasn't too helpful however, when we asked for a cab she said it's better if we walked to the nearest cab stand)
-Best location in Paris! It is close to all the major tourist stops but yet you are in the Germain des Pres, which to me is the best neighborhood in Paris. It is full of great cafes and restaurants, nice pubs/bars to go out, but yet you don't have that "touristy" feel to it.
-Walk out of the hotel, one block to your right is "Deux Magots" which has pretty average food but you can say you hung out at the same place where folks like Ernest Hemingway and Pablo Picasso used to spend time. Or walk a block to your left, and you are at Ladurée, eat some of the best desserts you will have in your life. The Seine is just a couple blocks further...you really can't beat this location.

I did read some reviews about the bad heating/AC in this place; I can't really comment on this as we lucked out with perfect weather during our stay. So we actually had the unit turned off the whole time we were there. The walls are really thin so expect to hear your neighbors conversations. We didn't care; it's all nit-picking comments for an overall great stay.

I will also mention that we got this place for a great value and price for Paris. We stayed in another area in Paris when we got back from the South of France, and we paid more for a very disappointing stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    74
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
17
94
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
499 reviews 499 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
508 helpful votes 508 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

As per most older hotels in Paris, this dated to the early 1800s and had very small rooms. An interesting experience was riding the slow and tiny elevator, which could only take one person with a large suitcase at a time. If you like LV, there is a retail store just down the road next to the Metro. The Louvre, Musee de Orsay and Notre Dame Cathedral is about ten minutes walk away. For food, the Latin Quarter is just a few streets away, with it's multitude of cuisines from worldwide. They still use huge and ornate keys for the rooms, so be sure to return the keys to the staff each time you leave the hotel. They serve breakfast, but I recommend grabbing a bite at the nearby shops. Service was very good and they were quick to help with requests such as airport transfers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, especially if you have huge pieces of luggage - makes it easier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed here with a work colleague at the end of February. If a 3.5 rating were available that's what I would give. My experience was more than a 3, but not a 4...purely because of my room.

Pros:
Nice location
Clean Rooms
Competitively Priced
Friendly front desk

Cons:
Inconsistent rooms.
Unless you are a solo traveler, avoid the 5th floor. This floor is the attic, small rooms, sloping ceilings and can get warm at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed here with my wife during a short visit to Paris. We loved this hotel! The rooms are small, but the decor and the atmosphere make up for it considerably! Good service at reception with both staff that looked after us speaking a fluent English and very affable. Our room had beautiful views of Rue Bonaparte with all its charming shops and cafes. We didn't hear any excessive noise, apart from normal city life, so we slept undisturbed. Location is great: if you like funky cafes, great restaurants and historic tea boutiques like Laduree, 50 metres down the road, this place is perfect. Also within walking distance are Notre-Dam, The Louvre, St. Michel. The Metro station is close by to get to other city attractions.
If I had to say anything negative about this hotel it would only be that to me it was a little expensive. 225 Euro/night on Saturday is probably 50 euro more that I would have liked to pay. It was still worth it though. I personally loved the feeling of seemingly going back in time thanks to the decor of the rooms and the great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Booked this hotel which was classed as four star and thoroughly enjoyed the place. The previous reviews were very accurate. The room was fabulous - large bed and great views from the windows. We didn't have breakfast as there are so many wonderful cafes around the area. If we come back to Paris this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Go for a delux room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We made a reservation at the last minute and were well accommodated. The location is excellent - 200 yards of Boulevard St. Germain and 200 feet from Rue Jacob. The rooms were small, but that is to be expected at a hotel such as this. the rooms were hot...we had the windows open at night to cool-down the room. The bathrooms were again small, but very clean. The service was excellent.

Room Tip: Obtain a room that is on the back-side of the building, off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 36 Rue Bonaparte, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#385 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the Paris' most coveted positions, Hotel Saint Germain des Prés provides a cool haven with a feel of a chic Paris pied a terre. Built in the 18th century as a gracious townhouse, the hotel retains many period details and original architectural features.Today Hotel Saint Germain is a landmark of unique character and 21st century timeless elegance. A choice of interesting people the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Germain Des Pres Hotel
Hotel St Germain Des Pres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint Germain des Pres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.