We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Louis 2

Save Saved
You added Hotel Louis 2 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Louis 2
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 rue Saint-Sulpice | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #326 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent location a few steps from the Metro and very close to Luxembourg Gardens. Despite sending an email requesting instruction from the airport by train, did not get a response. Hired a shuttle service only to find out it was a few steps from the Metro. Front desk was accomodating enough to let us look at a second room before we decided to check in the room we preferred. The rooms are very small but we moved some furnitures around to make it work for us. Be careful with electronics since hotel is older and short circuit occurs but the hotel made it right and gave me a new charger. Skip the breakfast as limited choice and nearby restaurants are plenty to choose from.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the elevator for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Directeur général at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mary D
Thank you for your review and appreciation of our hotel I regret that you did not receive a reply to your email concerning instructions from the airport I assure you it was an isolated incident as we are usually very reactive to our guests requests.
So much has changed in our hotel since your last visit. We have made many improvements in diffident areas such as our breakfast and room decoration. We have a vast variety of products on our morning buffet with lots of fresh products from our local market. And the good news is that breakfast is only ten euros if reserved on arrival at Louis 2.
Many of our regular guests are very pleased with the improvements we have made and we will continue to make things better thanks to you and other guests who take the time to review us. I have taken note of your comments and I will work on the areas that you have highlighted.
I hope to see you next time you visit Paris.

Yours sincerely
Benjamin Maba
The Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    83
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
123
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great stay at this hotel, Front desk staff were extremely pleasant and accommodating with early check in, and help with directions. Ideal location, close to restaurants and short distance from major attractions. Rooms were clean, and comfortable but a little on the small side. Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone : 01 46 33 13 80 or by email : reservation@hotel-louis2.fr !

Yours Faithfully,
Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 – 4*- Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wonderful hotel in the St. Germaine neighborhood. Room was super clean with very comfortable sheets and duvet. Small, but just enough for us. Very helpful and gracious hosts. One night we got in super late and all the restaurants were already closed and we hadn't had dinner. Without us even asking, the evening host went and heated up some croissants and bread for us to tie us over until the next morning. Great experience and we would definitely stay there again. Easy walking distance to Notre Dame as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We are pleased to read that you have appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of our front desk staff. It is important to us that our guests feel comfortable.

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, either by phone : 01 46 33 13 80 or by email : reservation@hotel-louis2.fr !

Yours Faithfully,
Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 – 4*- Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really liked this place, the location ideal and service excellent but ... room was tiny and bathroom amenities a bit lacking (room with toilet was very tiny and only a curtain to close off the shower room). This is all perfectly acceptable but not what you would expect from a 4-star rated hotel. I loved the charm of the place. My room-rate was different each night (varied by 30 euros) so a bit tough to rate overall in terms of value for money. We decided to not pay the 15 euros each for breakfast - not sure why they don't include it as it was a fairly basic buffet.

I would certainly return as location was just about perfection.

Should also add that if you a light sleeper, given the age of the building you can hear your neighbours walking about in the room directly above.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
As you mentioned we are located in the heart of Paris to let our guests enjoy every single moment and most touristic places even for a short break in France.
About price for breakfast, this rate is price one would find in the 4 stars hotels in Paris.

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, either by phone : 01 46 33 13 80 or by email : reservation@hotel-louis2.fr !

Yours Faithfully,
Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 – 4*- Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,125 reviews 1,125 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 483 cities Reviews in 483 cities
1,043 helpful votes 1,043 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a gem in a beautiful precinct,located 260 meters from the Senate, Jardin du Luxembourg and Saint- Sulpice. The metro Odion is around the corner and you are in the heart of editors and booksellers.
The hotel is charming to the max, both feeling like home and a great abode away.It was a bordello in its past fame but now boasts beautifully stylised rooms decorated in white,red and black with imperial furnishings and a brilliant en suit bathroom. Its tre chic with exposed beams,geraniums blooming outside your windows and the most comfortable bed and pillows. No noise from outside at night due to double glazing and perfect shutters. The lift is quiet.
The lobby is manned by dedicated staff,Thomas and Louis,who ensure that complicated travel is smooth,are able to procure tickets to venues that elude hucksters and are obliging to the max in multi lingual capacity. Bravo management!!
From our top window the full cycle of Parisienne life unfolds,with brasseries and wine bars offering superb eats. Very funny, watching senators with consorts leading playful engagements.
This hotel would not run smoothly without "madame" of housekeeping whose humor and vigor had us in stitches. Downstair,the lounge is a comfortable area with an excellent reading selection including glossy books on attractions in and around Paris.
This is a 5-star hotel deserving its praise and recomendations.

Room Tip: Live and breathe Paris from 3rd floor facing Rue St- Sulpice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We would like to thank you for encouraging our staff in providing a professional and friendly service to our visitors, this being one of the most important parts of their mission.

All team and myself, are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Hotel Louis 2 - 4*.

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, either by phone : 01 46 33 13 80 or by email : reservation@hotel-louis2.fr !

Yours Sincerely,
Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 – 4*- Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

After a nightmare journey on the Eurostar which was delayed by 3 hours we arrived at Hotel Louis late at night feeling a little disgruntled and wanting to check in quickly! The member of staff on duty was so welcoming and pleasant it really cheered us up! When we got to our room it was small but it was also extremelly clean and comfortable!

Apart from the lovely staff and room the hotel was in a great location to explore Paris, we walked it to Notre Dam in 10 minutes and got a ticket for the Batobus for the weekend for only 18euros which took us to all the sights (albeit very very slowely!).

I completely agree with all the previous possitive reviews Hotel Louis is the ideal place to stay if you're going to Paris - we'll be back!!!

Room Tip: I recommend eating in the Latin quarter where you can get a lovely 3 course meal for 10-20 euros and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, either by phone : 01 46 33 13 80 or by email : reservation@hotel-louis2.fr !

With our best regards,
Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 – 4*- Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week this summer. I've been visiting Paris every summer for several years now and have stayed in the same general area but this was my first time at this hotel. What really impressed me, and helped this hotel stand out from the others, was the front desk staff,in particular, Thomas and Louis. They were so friendly and helpful with suggestions, directions etc. In fact the staff were the best of any hotel I've been to in a very long time. As others have said the hotel is also in a great location for all kinds of restaurants, shops, movies, museums etc. and a block from the metro. In addition the rooms are nicely designed with good a/c, comfortable beds and fluffly bathrobes.Lovely stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel. It has been a real pleasure for all of us to read your comments.

We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, either by phone : 01 46 33 13 80 or by email : reservation@hotel-louis2.fr !

Yours Faithfully,
Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 – 4*- Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Louis 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louis 2

Address: 2 rue Saint-Sulpice | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#102 Business Hotel in Paris
#161 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#323 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Louis 2 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 260 metres from le Sénat and the Jardin du Luxembourg, Hotel Louis 2 is a 13-minute walk from Notre Dame Cathedral. It offers 24-hour reception and a buffet breakfast can be ordered.Free Wi-Fi is available in each air-conditioned room, which includes a TV and a minibar. The stylish rooms are mainly decorated in white, red and black and each have an en suite bathroom.A continental breakfast with fresh orange juice, cheeses, eggs and homemade fruit salads is available every morning. Different type of breads and hams are also provided,In the heart of a district typical of old Paris, with freestone buildings, little cafes and busy restaurants, the hotel features 22 bright rooms and junior suites with classic interior design.The Louis 2 is in the district of the editors and booksellers. Odeon Metro Station with direct links to Chatelet and Gare de Lyon is 210 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Louis 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Ii Hotel
Louis Ii Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Louis 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.