We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Louis 2

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Louis 2 to your Saves list
Hotel Louis 2
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 rue Saint-Sulpice | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #353 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Small but perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel was an inexpensive place. We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. It’s like any other European hotel; small room. Although the room was small but it was clean. It was a short wald to Luxembourg Garden Metro and close to macaroon shop and other restaurants. We had quiet nights; no loud noise from the street. We thought the hotel was worth the value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone or by email.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to get the best price ever and to get our latest news !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    106
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
39
161
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent a long time looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a decent location and was pleased to finally find the Hotel Louis II. Was only a short walk away from the Luxembourg Gardens Metro stop and hotel seemed to be in a pleasant, quiet location.

Upon arrival, we were impressed with the general decor and look of the hotel, with lots of vintage furniture in the lobby. Our room was quite small, but contained everything we needed and had lots of charm. There was a modern bathroom, and separate toilet room, flat screen TV, kettle, safe etc.

The hotel is in a great location - Only a couple of minutes walk away from some of Paris' most enduring and endearing features. There are also lots of small restaurants and cafes within a very small radius of the hotel. It is probably about a ten minute walk away from the River Seine, and only a couple of minutes further away to get to the Louvre, Ile De La Cite etc.

There was a little street noise outside of the hotel - They are a couple of bars which seem to stay open late, but we didn't have any real problems with this. Maybe in the summertime with the windows open this would be more of an issue?!

In summary, I would highly recommend this little gem - Location in Paris is the most important thing, after all, who wants to be stuck in their hotel when the City of Light awaits!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone or by email.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to get the best price ever and to get our latest news !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here for two nights because of the other reviews on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. Although the staff member who checked us in during our evening arrival wasn't as friendly as we'd expected, we met the friendliest chap at the front desk the next day. He was warm and chatty and spoke English well. Our room was very small (normal for Paris) which made it difficult to manage with our international bags for the short stay; however the decor had an authentic feel which made up for it all. A minibar in the room was great for grabbing an unexpected snack which the need struck and was reasonably priced. The wifi was free (which all hotels should offer these days) but quite slow. The hotel is exceptionally well located and you can easy access the Odeon station or many of the bars and restaurants surrounding it. I would recommend Hotel Louis II because of the central location and the friendly staff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone or by email.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to get the best price ever and to get our latest news !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The reception staff gives a great service - always helpfull, smiling, welcoming you. It makes you feel at home with a warm atmosphere. The rooms and the public areas are very clean and well maintained.
Although the rooms are relatively small (in Paris most of the 2 & 3 star hotels have small rooms), the excellent location (in one of the best quarters of Paris, with walking distances to some of the most well known locations of Paris) covers this disadvantage.
I would recomend this hotel highly, especially to romantic couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone or by email.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to get the best price ever and to get our latest news !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights and we shared a twin room. We thought the service was excellent and the area is great close to lots of cafes and restaurants but beware of the prices as it is an expensive area! The macaron shop - Pierre Hermé is very close to the hotel and worth a visit to see the amazing cakes, chocolates and biscuits there. We were disapointed with the size of the room as it was very very small and there weren't any tea/coffee making facilities :-( The single beds were not spaced apart, there wasn't much room for storing our cases and the room always seemed to be a bit too hot even though we had turned the heating off. However, we felt that it was still good value for money to stay in this area and for the excellent customer service. We have both previously stayed in Montmartre area which is also fab, good value for money and you tend to get slightly bigger rooms there. We would stay at this hotel again but we would pay the extra and have a room each rather than share. The hotel Verneuil also looks good but quite a bit more expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone or by email.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to get the best price ever and to get our latest news !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent 9 days in Paris at this lovely hotel and also toured a few surrounding countryside areas during our stay here. The room was small but it met all our needs. The staff is absolutely amazing. They were helpful in just about every area. Giving us restaurant suggestions, advice on taking the metro, shopping, directions to different sites, even drawing maps for us. The buffet breakfast is held in the front room, which is very intimate, and charming. The location is fantastic, walking distance to many great restaurants, cafes, the metro, and shopping. It is also just a short walk to a fabulous pastry shop. Our daytime concierge told us they make the best strawberry tarts in Paris! If we are fortunate to come back to Paris, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone or by email.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to get the best price ever and to get our latest news !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in the end of Jan 2013. We were really impressed by how friendly and helpful the staff were. Location was absolutely great: 2 min from Odeon station with full of nice restaurants in walking distance and nice shops.
Room was small however it was nicely decorated and clean, We really enjoyed the 2 nights!

I'd definitely stay Hotel Louis II again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Louis2_Paris, Responsable commercial at Hotel Louis 2, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your very impressive review about our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

As you surely know, Thomas & Louis are available at any time so as to provide you the best service ever and to offer you our best price, eith by phone or by email.
Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Google+ to get the best price ever and to get our latest news !

Yours Faithfully,

Emeline CHALIVAT
Sales manager
Hôtel Louis 2 - 4* Paris Saint Germain des Prés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Louis 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louis 2

Address: 2 rue Saint-Sulpice | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#189 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#260 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Louis 2 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 260 metres from le Sénat and the Jardin du Luxembourg, Hotel Louis 2 is a 13-minute walk from Notre Dame Cathedral. It offers 24-hour reception and a buffet breakfast can be ordered.Free Wi-Fi is available in each air-conditioned room, which includes a TV and a minibar. The stylish rooms are mainly decorated in white, red and black and each have an en suite bathroom.A continental breakfast with fresh orange juice, cheeses, eggs and homemade fruit salads is available every morning. Different type of breads and hams are also provided,In the heart of a district typical of old Paris, with freestone buildings, little cafes and busy restaurants, the hotel features 22 bright rooms and junior suites with classic interior design.The Louis 2 is in the district of the editors and booksellers. Odeon Metro Station with direct links to Chatelet and Gare de Lyon is 210 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Louis 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Ii Hotel
Louis Ii Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Louis 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.