We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comme si, comme ça” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue Tronchet | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #456 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Lander, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comme si, comme ça”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good parts:
- Hotel can be affordable (even free) if you look for deals or are part of a loyalty program.
- Location is good. Opera district has lots going on (in heart of shopping, close to major tourist attractions, and a metro - Madaleine station with 3 lines- is one block away, no shortage of simple restaurants in area)
- Staff have been friendly and helpful when needed (i.e. broken lamp was replaced promptly, and my in room coffee maker was upgraded (not something I asked for but nice to have))
- Room (101) was decent size, had a closet and ample bathroom space.
- A plug by the desk remains on to charge devices even if key card is removed.
- In room safe is large enough for ipad, computer.
- WiFi was free for me, as was breakfast. Not sure if it is for all or if that was a perk of my loyalty program

So-so
- For US travelers, be aware that the French system of 4 stars has *nothing* to do with similar rating system in US. IN US, this would be more like a 2-3 star hotel. Carpet is getting worn, furniture has some dings, chair in room is one of those "this easy chair makes the pictures of room look good but not really something you'd sit in and relax"; bed is getting distinct concave on one side and a small ridge where the supporting 2 twin beds meet
- Wifi requires you to reenter log in information _every time_ you stop using it. i.e. when my computer goes to sleep after 3 minutes of inactivity
- Windows don't keep out street vehicle noise (and Tronchet isn't that busy!) nor people's voices just a little louder than normal
- Breakfast is ok. Nothing special, certainly adequate. I've had better breakfasts included and worse.
- The home page picture of lobby really is almost the entire lobby. Then again, it's a small hotel so not sure how many people would gather there.

Ugh:
The hotel property sits on top of many metro lines, and they run every 30 seconds to 2-3 minutes for most of the day. Folks who are used to that in other cities won't mind. People who are light sleepers will not want to stay on lower levels. The noise can be quite noticeable, and at times the building does rattle perceptibly.

Room Tip: Tough question. Low rooms susceptible to metro line noise and rattles; upper rooms (according to oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    173
    49
    21
    7
See reviews for
30
142
50
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stood at the hotel for one week (business trip).
The rooms are as everywhere in Paris quite small. But the interieur is well designed and everything is clean and in good shape.
Main reason for choosing this hotel was the location. If you want to dine or go to a bar it is the perfect location.
Staff was always very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with hotelsgrandparis.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located rue Tronchet, between Madeleine and the Department Stores (Printemps, Galeries Lafayettes): 5 min walk to Madeleine, 5 min walk to the Department Stores, 15 min to Place de la Concorde

The hotel itself is modernly decorated, very clean. The rooms (even standard) are of correct size, especially for Paris where bedrooms tend to be small in average. They had the good idea to put an hospitality kit of teas, instant coffees and madeleines in the rooms, which is always nice to have late in evenings or at wake-up! Please could you add a small bottle of water too?

The staff at the reception was polite and helpful, and the breakfast offered quite a good range of different foods.
They sometimes propose very good rates (I had it last time for £93 a night breakfast included) ... I can't really find anything to criticize actually! :-)

Room Tip: Room 603 is triangular shaped, so it might be tricky for people with large suitcases. Because the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Veronique,

Lovely to read your review and we are happy that you have enjoyed our fine decorated hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming next time in Paris,

Best regards
Charlotte Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights on a little trip away. What struck is was the value for money. The hotel was extremely clean, cosy and warm. The only thing we didn't like was the elevator which was a bit dated and actually stopped working one evening. Apart from that small snag the rooms were lovely if a tad small. But immaculate and we were on the street side which was great as it was nice to look at and the noise levels were surprisingly low. The location was just incredible. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't go for the breakfasts as there is a lovely bakery around the corner for 8th of the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Dear James C,

First of all thank you for sharing your stay at the Best Western Premier Opéra Opal with us and other travelers.
We are happy that you have enjoyed our soundproofed rooms as well as the excellent situation just a walk from Place de la Concorde, Place de la Madeleine and the Boulevard Haussmann with the Department stores.
We would all be thrilled to be welcoming you here again,
Best regards
Charlotte Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I stayed here for work for 2 nights last week. Whilst the hotel is nice, and the location is great, this is most definitely not a 4* hotel. The internet connection was around 20 times slower than my own domestic broadband at home which I get for free. And the shower was basically unusable - the jets shot out of the shower head in every direction except down. I did ask that the shower head be cleaned / changed on day 1 but nothing was done. My colleague had exactly the same experience with his shower. You cannot market yourself as a 4* business hotel and charge 4* prices if you're internet is practically non existent and your showers don't work!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with hotelsgrandparis.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Lora G,
First of all I thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on the hotel.
I am very sorry to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay and I apologise for the discomfort you have felt. I have read very carefully and taken note of all your remarks.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and make you change your opinion about our hotel. Please do contact me directly by email at charlotte.jensen@book-inn-france.com and I will personnally handle your next reservation in our hotel. With kind regards, Charlotte Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Rooms ok, location ok, Only the value for the Hotel is to high.Breakfast not standart slow service for serving coffee etc.
The cleanlining was good. Receptions personal very friendly.
Paris is a wonderful city but really all prices are to high.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with hotelsgrandparis.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking time to leave a comment on your stay
at the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opéra Opal.
I am glad you have enjoyed our location just next t o the Madeleine Church, and the great shopping area of the Boulevard Haussmann. I apreciate your feedback and it is of great value to me and in order to get better.
We hope to have the possibility to welcoming you again in Paris,
Best regards
Charlotte Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Hello,

i was staying in the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal just for one night on November 2nd 2014 and i was very happy. The two ladies at the reception who i talked to in the evening for check-in were very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and confortable in the first floor. You hear a little bit the Metro who operates underground here but it was not disturbing much (in my opinion). Next time in Paris this hotel is my first choice to sleep.
Thanks for a nice stay.
Kind regards,
Sven Nemeth

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with hotelsgrandparis.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte J, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Dear Mr Nemeth,
We are very pleased to read your feedback on your stay at the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opéra Opal, and we would be more than happy to welcoming you again on your next stay.
Thank you for sharing your review with other Tripadvisor members.
See you soon,
Charlotte Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal

Address: 19 rue Tronchet | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#253 Business Hotel in Paris
#315 Family Hotel in Paris
#399 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the 8th arrondissement of Paris, perfectly situated two steps away from Place de la Madeleine the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal 4* in the Opera district at 19 rue Tronchet in a beautiful 19th Century building offers a pleasant relaxing atmosphere in a refined contemporary setting. This 4-star boutique-hotel is a convergence of history, art and fashion and has the advantage of a privileged location close to the most beautiful museums and monuments in Paris. Perfectly served by public transportation (metro lines 8, 12, 14, 3 & 9), the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal represents the ideal place for your Business and/or leisure stays in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opal Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Opera Opal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.