We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Lutece

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Lutece to your Saves list
Hotel de Lutece
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 rue St-Louis-en-l'Ile, 75004 Paris, France (Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #406 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our trip to Paris. Stayed 4 nights and our room had a double bed for us and a charming lower level room with a twin for our daughter. Nice for everyone to have their own space. I could open my window and see Notre Dame and hear the bells. What could be more wonderful! As someone said the lift is a bit cozy and gave my daughter the willies the first time - but we just used the stairs a lot. Would stay here again on a future visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    96
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
31
108
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located on the beautiful Ile St Louis, right in the heart of Paris. We stayed here with a group of friends at the start of a trip to south-west France and Italy. All of our rooms were cosy, very quiet, comfortable and clean. While there is a lift, it is very small and definitely not for those with claustrophobia! The English-speaking front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, going out of their way to ensure we all enjoyed our stay. We have been to Paris many times, and I think the Ile St Louis is my favourite place to stay. It's lovely to walk around at nighttime when there are far less people - very romantic. There are only a few hotels on the Ile St Louis, and hence the price of rooms is higher than in some other parts of Paris. But I think it's well worth it. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here one night after a weeklong apartment rental in Paris. We had two rooms. The hotel is located in the heart of historic Paris with a very short walk to Notre Dame and other major sites. While the rooms were small (especially after our apartment experience, but typical for Paris), they were well appointed, clean and quiet. Our room fronted onto the main street one floor below. I expected that to present a noise issue, but with the window closed (they had air conditioning that actually worked), we heard not a sound. Daytime activity on the street is busy given proximity to Notre Dame, but at night it cleared out. The street is populated by many restaurants, bakeries, and small shops, so it made for a pleasant stroll. I would definitely stay here again, although an apartment is a great option if you have the time to justify it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

In the middle of the Seine, on the i'lle Saint Louis, stands the Hotel De Lutuece, a lovely boutique hotel with charm and location to spare.

Inexpensive by Paris standards at about $250 euro per night (breakfast not included), this is the hotel we selected to awake on the morning of our 40th wedding anniversary. Short walks took us to the left bank or right bank sectors of Paris. The incredible Cathedral De Notre Dame is almost a straight walk from the hotel across the Pont Ste, Louis. Charming cafes in every direction.

Spent six nights and would easily have spent many more. We were also very pleasantly surprised at the Parisennes, who were helpful, accommodating, and patient with our baby French.

And the Seine itself - seconds away. Walk along its banks to your heart's content, but you will never be far from home. Your Hotel De Lutuece. Et Voila! JK

Room Tip: A 50 euro taxi drive from Charles DeGaul Airport. A 14 euro ride from Gare Lyon. Metro and taxi stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Location is what you are paying for @ $300+USD per night for the trailer size room ... the service & the breakfast were good ($20 UDS - not included). The room was very small (the width and length of a long trailer). Both nights our AC was broken (they did bring us a fan). Consider this hotel but look around first.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This little place is everything we imagined a Parisian hotel would be. It's a sparkling little jewel of a place tucked in along a charming street on the Ile Saint-Louis. Staff speaks excellent English. It has a pleasant lobby, and small but very charming rooms. We were traveling with our 9 year old son -- the first night they didn't have a triple for us, so they put us in a double with an extra bed, which was perfectly comfortable. The second night they put us in a true triple, which was really nice and quite spacious by Paris hotel standards -- the additional bed was downstairs and tucked in its own little nook. As an added bonus, the staff wrote off what could have been an additional $500 plus in no-show charges for us due to a mutual misunderstanding about arrival dates -- they could easily have stuck us with that bill, but they didn't.

Of course, the Ile Saint-Louis is quite touristy. One caveat therefore, not a criticism of the hotel but a word of advice -- don't go to them for restaurant recommendations. It's not that they sent us to bad places -- they were fine, but painfully conventional and touristy, the Americans eating boeuf bourguignon scene.

Room Tip: The triple on the 5th floor is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We just got back from our stay here. As we walked all around Paris for 3 days, I was VERY glad I stayed at the Hotel De Lutece. You can not get a better location if you really want to feel like you are in Paris. It is on a small street, centrally located, full of little restaurants, creparies, ice cream and chocolate shops. Just a very quick walk to the Seine river, which is very fun to see on a Saturday night. Notre Dame is also just a very nice an quick walk from the hotel. The people who work in the hotel are extremely friendly and speak very good English, in fact everyone in Paris spoke very good English.

We had to get two rooms because there were 4 adults but the rooms were nice. Not too small as many people complain about. It was very comfortable. If you want an American experience stay in America. Otherwise enjoy everything about being in Paris.

We would choose this hotel again and again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Lutece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lutece

Address: 65 rue St-Louis-en-l'Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#302 Family Hotel in Paris
#491 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Lutece 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Lutece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lutece Hotel
De Lutece Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Lutece, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.