We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Lutece

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Lutece to your Saves list
Hotel de Lutece
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 rue St-Louis-en-l'Ile, 75004 Paris, France (Notre Dame / Marais)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #396 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Oak Park, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This little place is everything we imagined a Parisian hotel would be. It's a sparkling little jewel of a place tucked in along a charming street on the Ile Saint-Louis. Staff speaks excellent English. It has a pleasant lobby, and small but very charming rooms. We were traveling with our 9 year old son -- the first night they didn't have a triple for us, so they put us in a double with an extra bed, which was perfectly comfortable. The second night they put us in a true triple, which was really nice and quite spacious by Paris hotel standards -- the additional bed was downstairs and tucked in its own little nook. As an added bonus, the staff wrote off what could have been an additional $500 plus in no-show charges for us due to a mutual misunderstanding about arrival dates -- they could easily have stuck us with that bill, but they didn't.

Of course, the Ile Saint-Louis is quite touristy. One caveat therefore, not a criticism of the hotel but a word of advice -- don't go to them for restaurant recommendations. It's not that they sent us to bad places -- they were fine, but painfully conventional and touristy, the Americans eating boeuf bourguignon scene.

Room Tip: The triple on the 5th floor is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    94
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
31
106
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We just got back from our stay here. As we walked all around Paris for 3 days, I was VERY glad I stayed at the Hotel De Lutece. You can not get a better location if you really want to feel like you are in Paris. It is on a small street, centrally located, full of little restaurants, creparies, ice cream and chocolate shops. Just a very quick walk to the Seine river, which is very fun to see on a Saturday night. Notre Dame is also just a very nice an quick walk from the hotel. The people who work in the hotel are extremely friendly and speak very good English, in fact everyone in Paris spoke very good English.

We had to get two rooms because there were 4 adults but the rooms were nice. Not too small as many people complain about. It was very comfortable. If you want an American experience stay in America. Otherwise enjoy everything about being in Paris.

We would choose this hotel again and again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We went to Paris to enjoy our 30th anniversary and selected this hotel following a recommendation from a friend. We wanted a Paris experience and were very pleased with the choice. We just got back from our trip and will return to this hotel on a future visit.

After reading others reviews before we got here I was concerned as to what we'd find. Yes the rooms are not huge, but I thought they were bigger than other reviewers suggested. The bathroom was very spacious and the view (the typical narrow Parisian street below and the rooftops of the Isle St. Louis) was absolutely perfect. We were on the 5th floor and didn't bother with the small elevator except on the first day to get the bags upstairs and on the last day to get them downstairs. No, we're not work-out addicts and we're not that young so age has nothing to do with it (we're 63 and 58), we just always take stairs. If you can walk miles around Paris, you can walk up a few flights of stairs. And by the way, there were no lines waiting to use the elevator that we witnessed.

We also read all the negatives about the breakfasts, but we enjoyed them. Shanti has been working there for 17 years and by the end of our stay I was able to call her before we came down and she had our breakfast ready for us by the time we got there (don't tell her I told you). The dining room is small, but we seemed to time it right and had no issues. There were breads, meats and a freshly cooked omelet. OK, breakfast wasn't cheap, but what in Paris is?

The staff was very helpful and accommodating. For example, I don't think I'm the only person who likes ice for my room, and every night the staff was very willing to provide me with this simple request as there is no ice machine (the European way). The rooms were neat and clean. Relatively plain, but fancy decor wasn't our interest.

The location!! Ah, this is most definitely the main positive. You can't beat the location for any path you might take to discover all Paris has to offer. Walk out the front door, turn left and walk 1 block and take in the view of Notre Dame!

If there are rooms available when you plan to visit, grab it Our daughter and her husband wanted to stay here in a few months and the place was already booked full when they tried to reserve a room. We came here to enjoy Paris and its way of life. If you're looking for a modern large room with a large TV and all the amenities you'd find in the states, find a different hotel. This one seemed absolutely perfect for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is located on the most delightful street that runs down the middle of Isle St Louis. It is nestled amidst wonderful shops with a range of food, clothes, gifts to choose from. Just a 5 minute walk away from Notre Dame Cathedral, Marais district and Latin District and scenic walks along the Seine. Our room was small but well appointed with a view across the roof tops. Large and modern bathroom. The breakfasts were very generous, beautifully fresh continental style and served in your room or a small but pleasant dining room. The staff were very polite and helpful at all times. A great place to stay and experience Paris! I will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here in March and found the location to be the best feature! The hotel is situated in an area that is the picture of a quaint Parisian street. There is a bakery across the way that sells amazing almond croissants, a chocolate shop next door and a variety of cafes are in close proximity. Notre Dame is within a 10 minute walk, and so are several metro stops. The staff is friendly and helpful! The rooms are small, clean and well kept. The windows in the room open and the bathroom is updated. As just about every other review states, the lack of a comfortable bed is the biggest drawback. It would be nice if the hotel read these reviews and actually invested in some mattress foam, but it is Paris. I would still return to this hotel for the location and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

L'ile St. Louis is magical but this hotel is just okay. Next time I would spend a little more to stay somewhere with a more comfortable bed and more updated. We love small,European hotels but this one was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a great place to stay. My daughter and I spent 4 days here and loved it. The location is the best. Even though we are directionally challenged we always knew how to get back to the hotel. Yes our very CLEAN room was small but the bath was modern and a good size. Frankly we stayed in a 5 star hotel in Brussels and the room wasn't much larger. If you are looking for a more American experience (with larger rooms) stay at a Marriott.
The staff was wonderful. Always gave good advice and were helpful in every way. They all spoke perfect English.
Each morning we went across the street to the bakery for some tasty treats and then had a pot of coffee delivered to our room for 3€. Can't beat that..
The only negative are the beds. They were a little hard and could use a layer of foam. That's the reason I didn't give this property 5 stars.
I definitely would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Lutece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lutece

Address: 65 rue St-Louis-en-l'Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#262 Family Hotel in Paris
#466 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Lutece 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Lutece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lutece Hotel
De Lutece Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Lutece, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.