We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Lutece

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Lutece to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Lutece
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 rue St-Louis-en-l'Ile, 75004 Paris, France (Notre Dame / Marais)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #370 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here in March and found the location to be the best feature! The hotel is situated in an area that is the picture of a quaint Parisian street. There is a bakery across the way that sells amazing almond croissants, a chocolate shop next door and a variety of cafes are in close proximity. Notre Dame is within a 10 minute walk, and so are several metro stops. The staff is friendly and helpful! The rooms are small, clean and well kept. The windows in the room open and the bathroom is updated. As just about every other review states, the lack of a comfortable bed is the biggest drawback. It would be nice if the hotel read these reviews and actually invested in some mattress foam, but it is Paris. I would still return to this hotel for the location and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    93
    20
    11
    3
See reviews for
30
104
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

L'ile St. Louis is magical but this hotel is just okay. Next time I would spend a little more to stay somewhere with a more comfortable bed and more updated. We love small,European hotels but this one was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a great place to stay. My daughter and I spent 4 days here and loved it. The location is the best. Even though we are directionally challenged we always knew how to get back to the hotel. Yes our very CLEAN room was small but the bath was modern and a good size. Frankly we stayed in a 5 star hotel in Brussels and the room wasn't much larger. If you are looking for a more American experience (with larger rooms) stay at a Marriott.
The staff was wonderful. Always gave good advice and were helpful in every way. They all spoke perfect English.
Each morning we went across the street to the bakery for some tasty treats and then had a pot of coffee delivered to our room for 3€. Can't beat that..
The only negative are the beds. They were a little hard and could use a layer of foam. That's the reason I didn't give this property 5 stars.
I definitely would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The location is to die for: you can basically walk everywhere safely, even at night, from there. The rooms are comfortable, the bathrooms clean, the lift is minuscule and the breakfast, like most in Paris, dreadful if you are used to hearty ones. The staff are friendly and as a lone female, you feel very safe. Not cheap, but worth it. I have stayed there three times now and plan to go there again when next in Paris. I have had rooms onto the street and at the back, I am a sound sleeper anyway but the area is quiet. The windows can open which is a bonus as far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stopped in Paris for a short break. The Hotel de Lutece is in an excellent position - so central to all of Paris. The room (Room 111) was facing the street and although reasonably small was perfect for 2 of us, and had an enormous bathroom.
Even though it was late February we didn't need the heating on as the room was lovely and warm.
The staff at the Lutece were very helpful and welcoming, in particular the lady who served us breakfast - she has been there over 17 years and was extremely friendly and suggested other rooms we may like next time we visit - which we will certainly do.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

For the second time this year we stayed at Hotel Lutece during our visit to Paris. This is the best location in Paris. We love the I'lle St. Louis for its beautiful charm and wonderful people. The staff at Hotel Lutece are amazing! They helped us in advance by making several dinner reservations and during our stay were always welcoming, friendly and accommodating. The hotel is situated within walking distance of so many great attractions--the Louvre, Hotel DeVille, the Marais, the Latin Quarter and of course, Notre Dame. Also nearby are several metro stations to transport you to locations a bit further away. We loved our rooms overlooking rue St-Louis-en-I'lle and its lovely and unique storefronts. Although the hotel offered breakfast in their pretty breakfast room, we recommend finding other places on the isle and surrounding areas for a change of view. We love the St. Regis for coffee and croissant and there were many other possibilities on the isle. Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We've stayed on Ile St.-Louis on previous trips and still prefer this location for easy access to both sides of the river, although the island has lost a bit of its charm over the years.

Our room was small but very efficient with two closets and multiple shelves. It was easy to control the temperature of the room, there was no street or interior noise, and we slept well. Our bathroom was recently renovated and very nice with lots of counter space and good lighting.

We never had to wait long for the elevator, but we did find the breakfast room too small for the number of guests. One morning we were served in the lobby which was not very comfortable.

The reception staff was friendly, but I was surprised when the person on duty one day couldn't answer what I thought was a fairly basic question about taking public transportation to a particular museum.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Lutece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lutece

Address: 65 rue St-Louis-en-l'Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#275 Family Hotel in Paris
#439 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Lutece 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Expedia, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Lutece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lutece Hotel
De Lutece Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Lutece, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.