We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Lutece

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Lutece to your Saves list
Hotel de Lutece
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 rue St-Louis-en-l'Ile, 75004 Paris, France (Notre Dame / Marais)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #394 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great hotel in the heart of the city. The island, although obviously a tourist destination, remains quaint and is a great launchpad for easily getting anywhere in the city. The Marais, St. Germaine, Notre Dame, and even the Louvre are all an easy walk away. The place isn't cheap, but then no hotel in this area will be. If you're looking for budget accommodation, look elsewhere. The staff was courteous and attentive and gladly made us dinner reservations and booked an airport shuttle (which is much cheaper than a taxi; ask the person working the desk). The room was spacious for Parisian standards (on the small side compared to most American hotels). The room was long and narrow - the side of the bed was against the wall (which didn't bother me), then a large desk/changing area, and a separate bathroom. We looked out over a quiet balcony. Our room was also set off from the hotel hallway but a short closed off hallway/vestibule thing, which gave us some nice extra storage space and insulated us from any noise there might have been in the hallway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    94
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
31
106
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice hotel with attentive service. However, it is definitely not worth the price. For 200 euros per night you can certainly find better options nearby. The wifi did not work properly on any of the 3 days we were there - apparently the server was down all the time and they couldn't do anything about it. Bathroom was very clean but they left a used shower gel from some previous occupant. Other than that, you will just be paying for the location which is excellent. Not worth the money.Only giving it 3 stars because of the location.

Room Tip: Try a Berthillon ice cream from any of the restaurants near the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, CA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were lucky to find a room in Hotel de Lutece after getting locked out of the apartment we had rented nearby and being unable to reach anyone at the "emergency" number. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat because of the pleasant hotel and the perfect location. The hotel staff welcomed us sympathetically and escorted us to a lovely small room on the top floor with roof top views of Paris and a blissfully comfortable bed. For an additional 25 euros, we could have had a more spacious room, but we found our cozy quarters perfect for the night. The nicely presented buffet breakfast (13 euros pp) was tempting, but we passed it up in favor of an early morning walk and coffee in a sidewalk cafe while waiting for St. Chapelle to open. Our luggage was waiting when we returned to collect it and make our way to Gare d' l Est on the convenient #47 bus to catch our train to Colmar. As others have noted, this is a perfect location for atmosphere and proximity to major Paris sights.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms with a shower but no tub are a good value for the location. They may also be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Royalton, Vermont
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel just one night in March, and feel that its best feature is its remarkable location right smack in the middle of Ile St Louis, just a few hundred yards away from the parvis of Notre Dame. The folks at the front desk were helpful and friendly, and the reception area itself was comfortable, displaying some of the character expected from a building in an old part of the city. In contrast our room was small and with little cachet. The furniture was contemporary / non-descript, with little room around the bed to move around. The bathroom was well-appointed, but incredibly small, and the shower itself was dark and cramped. All in all this hotel feels to us like a decent pied-a-terre in a great location in the middle of Paris, but the room itself was just average.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Hotel de Lutece is in a great location on the Isle de St Louis, close to the excellent St Regis bistro. The Isle de St Louis is an oasis of calm right in the very heart of this wonderful city.

The Hotel has a pleasant appearance, with a comfortable and atmospheric reception area, and all the staff were helpful, friendly and professional.

However Room 115 was a real letdown. It was accessed through a damp-smelling corridor, and was little more than eight feet wide. The small double bed was up against the wall, and with the arrangement of the wall units, the occupant on the wall side had to climb over the other to get out of bed. The shower room was small but OK. Overall it would be OK if sold as a single room, but as a double room at 200Eu per night (room only) was not what one expected.

We were offered a chargeable upgrade, but this was not available until the second day of our three day visit so we declined.

Disappointing.....................

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Cannot recommend the location highly enough. Gorgeous little street with village atmosphere on the isle. Centre of Paris but virtually no noise or traffic.

Hotel was typical of Paris. Comfortable rooms but no cat swinging possible. Bathroom was a nice size including a full size bath.

Service was fine, not that we used it that much.

Actually stayed here probably 5 years ago.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the attic rooms I think, facing the street. It was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is ideally located in a boutique-lined street that is very quiet at night, yet just across the bridge from Notre Dame. We stayed 5 nights at Hotel de Lutece in a triple room facing the courtyard. We were surprised to find that our room was on two stories and oddly arranged, with a double bed against the wall on the top level, and the (tiny!) bathroom downstairs, along with a single bed recessed into a 5ft tall area under the stairs. The bathroom was cramped and inconveniently located, but clean.
Staff was very accomodating and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel each day because of the quality of the food and the nice presentation. Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Lutece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lutece

Address: 65 rue St-Louis-en-l'Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#262 Family Hotel in Paris
#467 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Lutece 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Lutece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lutece Hotel
De Lutece Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Lutece, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.