We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel and staff made Paris perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Grands Hommes

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Grands Hommes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This hotel and staff made Paris perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The staff at this hotel is the most amazing group of people I've ever dealt with. They made our trip perfect. Thank you!

The rooms are so perfectly Paris. Small, yes but beautiful. There was enough storage space to accommodate our 9 day trip. We stayed in room 63 just last week. We had the courtyard view and we were offered a change in rooms half way through but decided against it because we were happy enough. The bed was very comfortable.

The location is so perfect to get anywhere, especially back and forth to the airport and for picnics in Jardin du Luxembourg.

Nothing we asked them for was a bother. They never stop smiling and being helpful. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having taken time to express your feedback on the quality of the hotel and service provided.
Your review honors us.

Warmest regards,
Mathieu Billaud,
Manager assistant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    386
    71
    16
    5
See reviews for
166
715
82
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was a great honeymoon experience. This small hotel brings a lot of Paris on their décor. Very romantic and charming. It's close to everything. Great for couples I wouldn't say the same for big families.

Room Tip: pantheon front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The rooms are Paris sized, but very nice. We were on the top floor with a terrace to sit out on and look out over the Pantheon plaza, with Montmartre beyond. The people at the desk were attentive and very helpful and arranged transportation both to and from the airport.
The area is terrific; the plaza the room is on is quiet, but walk three blocks east and you are in the heart of the Latin Quarter, and three blocks west is the 6th arr. and Luxemburg Gardens.
Paris itself feels almost overrun with tourists - try slightly off season if you can.

Room Tip: 6th floor, with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I cannot express how wonderful the staff of this hotel was to us. They are amazing and I fully recommend this hotel. I did a ton of research to select this place-mainly based on the wonderful reviews on this site and I was not disappointed. We stayed in the romantic room with terrace and it was lovely. It was on the smaller size but nice for two people. Unfortunately it rained the majority of the time and the terrace was not used but it was a wonderful addition.

Room Tip: 6th floor romantic room with terrace was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located on the left bank on the Place Pantheon,near the Sorbonne. This is a lovely hotel, with beautiful decoration in the rooms and public spaces. Our room was on the second floor in the back - very quiet. It was a small room, but well appointed with adequate lighting and a modern bathroom. This is a small boutique hotel, and the front desk staff was very helpful with check in, restaurant suggestions, and other requests. Breakfast was in the basement, and you can have the continental breakfast (which was very generous) or additional options. There are so many options in Paris for hotels, and this one was a place to return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I booked a double room classified as "comfort category with view"; the price was a bit less than 200 e per night in July. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here (even taking into account the price):

+ The location is excellent, right next to Panthéon and within a short walk from lots of restaurants in the Latin Quarter. The room (3rd floor, facing the street) had a nice view to Panthéon.

+ The hotel was beautifully decorated, both in the lobby and in the room. Everything looked well maintained and clean.

+ The room was fairly large. In addition to the bed, there was also a nice couch for sitting and relaxing. There was enough space for luggage and clothes, and plenty of space for other items in the closets.

+ There was air conditioning, and it worked very well, both in the lobby and in the room, even when it was +36°C outdoors.

+ Wifi was free, very reliable, and fairly fast. There is a login page, but you only need to do the login once (on each device) during your entire stay; then everything just works automatically. (The only place with a poor wifi signal was the breakfast room in the basement.)

+ The reception staff was friendly and helpful.

There were only some minor issues:

- The room is not that practical for business trips if you want to get some work done in your hotel room. There is no writing desk. There are few power sockets, and not in very convenient locations. The lighting is poor; it gets very dark in the evening.

- Breakfast is not worth the price (14 e extra per person). Tiny fruit salad, some fresh bakery products (bread, croissant, etc.) with marmalade, a glass of orange juice, and coffee or (lukewarm!) tea. You can get the same thing in a nearby coffee shop or bakery much cheaper, and in much nicer surroundings.

- For some reason my wakeup call was never delivered. I was fairly upset about this, complained, and did not get any explanation or even a proper apology.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We LOVED everything about our stay. From the moment we entered, Patrick went above and beyond to make our family comfortable. Everyone was friendly and helpful, but Patrick is a real asset to the hotel.
The room was clean and 'cozy', but truthfully, this is Paris. There's so much to see that we only went to the room to sleep. After spending 5 restless nights in London, I was thrilled to get a great nights sleep. The bedding was quite comfortable and the ability to open the widows for fresh air was delightful.
The location is ideal-close to sights and places to eat. Just ask at the desk, they'll direct you to the side streets behind the hotel.
When Patrick saw my daughter was traveling with her 8 month old daughter, he upgraded their accommodations and put them in a larger room so she would have a crib. A very nice gesture-although it left me envious! They wound up in an extraordinary suite.
It was challenging to pick a hotel in Paris, since there are so many, but this exceeded our expectations. We can't wait to get back there--and we will go back!
Oh, BTW, don't forget to tour the Pantheon. Without knowing anything about it, we figured we should go just because it was across the street. We were so glad we did-WOW!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#85 Family Hotel in Paris
#154 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AvailPro, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Grands Hommes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.