We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but not Outstanding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Grands Hommes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Grands Hommes to your Saves list
Hotel des Grands Hommes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #116 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Decent but not Outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I was there for a week and on two different nights the fire alarm went off. We had to leave the hotel in our pajamas in the middle of the night. Apparently they had two different guests smoking in their rooms. I think they need to sort out this issue. They also need to be quicker to respond when the alarm goes off; the first time, it seemed like no one was around to address the issue.

My top sheet had something dirty stuck to it the first night. I took it off and they appeared to replace it for the second night.

They were a bit stingy with the towels in the bathroom. Also, they did provide shampoo, but did not provide conditioner or skin cream.

The bed was very comfortable though.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    403
    73
    16
    5
See reviews for
175
742
86
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We loved this place. Great location with beautiful views of the Pantheon. Staff was friendly and somewhat helpful. Rooms were comfortable we stayed with our 3 children and had to get two rooms. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is very pretty located by the pantheon. It is a great location . You area a short walk to the Seine .The Sorbonne is near by. The restaurants are lively and there are many English speaking students around. The hotel rooms are not spacious but are adequate and nicely appointed. Be sure to ask for a balcony either over looking the Pantheon or the interior garden. The Hotel offers continental breakfast , two sizes and price points.I tried the smaller one which was 7 Euros . It was delicious and came with several pastries and rolls, 2 juices , jams and coffee .. After the first morning, I went to the boulanger near by because I only wanted coffee. The Hotel does not serve lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony overlooking the garden. My sister in law had one overlooking the Panthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights here at the end of March this year. We were somewhat disturbed by their policy of offering cheaper rates online than one can get in person by phone, but we were very pleased with the room, and soon forgot about the rate differential. We were placed on the top floor in a room with a double balcony. From the balcony we had a beautiful veiw of the Pantheon only 150 feet away. There were two sets of French windows leading to this balcony, which also had a fine table and two comfortable chairs. We sat there often during our stay and enjoyed gazing at the views all around us. . . Sacre Coeur in the distance looking beautiful as the afternoon began to darken a bit. Stunning. We also enjoyed getting a car to CDG when we left the city. We enjoyed lovely wines from Nicholas right around the corner, and walking to many of the must see parts of the city. . walking around the Latin Quarter, the glorious sixth, and Luxembourg Gardens just blocks away. The service was a bit chilly, but we were used to the warmth of the women who work at The Britannique over in the 1st. This aside, I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a very clean, beautifully decorated, and comfortable room in a great Paris location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great boutique hotel with great connectivity and awesome view of the Pantheon. Walking distance to Luxemborg and Notredame. Good value for money even though the rooms are small but hey, you are in Paris and you shouldn't be spending much time in the room anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken time to review on the quality of your stay while you were our guest.

All the best,
Mathieu Billaud
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA (Home), Taipei, TW (Work)
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We've spent 21 nights in this hotel over the last year and a half and can't wait for our next visit. In a few words, it's the service, location and outstanding views from the rooms that keep us coming back.

We tend to arrive in Paris in the early morning hours and the staff are quick to help us sort out our bags and get a room ready for us as soon as possible. Dinner reservations, directions, advice...whatever the request the staff is happy to help.

Everyone has their personal favorite arrondissement and ours happens to be the 5th and 6th. The hotel is perfectly situated between the Jardin du Luxembourg and Rue Mouffetard with unobstructed views of the Pantheon. The hotel's breakfast is excellent and offered at a good price, but if you're in the mood for something else there half a dozen boulangeries and convenience stores within a few minutes walk.

One convenient addition since our last stay is the use of portable hotspots. We usually choose not to buy sim cards for our phones when we are in cities for less than two weeks, so this was a handy option as we strolled the city and sat in the parks.

We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: A view of the Pantheon first thing in the morning or in the evening was such a pleasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Steven C,
Thank you, what a laudatory review.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon!
All the best,
Mathieu Billaud,
Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Well located, short walk from Luxembourg station (direct RER B to CDG airport)
A small but very nice Hotel
The decor is 'different' but it adds to the charm
Nice bedroom and bathroom all very clean
The staff were very friendly though perhaps a little forgetful.
Continental breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLPelletier, Responsable réception at Hotel des Grands Hommes, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear MMUGGERI
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to host you for your Parisian stay.
Regards,
Mathieu Billaud,
assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Paris
#63 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#194 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Grands Hommes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.