We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel in Paris....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Grands Hommes

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Grands Hommes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel in Paris....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed at the des Grands Hommes last month in the month of July 2013 for two days. Having reached the Hotel quite early from the Charles De Gaulle Airport (which I must mention is a very easy connection to the Hotel by Train, use RER "B" to the Luxembourg Train Station from the Airport) and voila you are at a 5 minute walk to your Hotel. I arrived at 8.30 a.m. the reservation at the Hotel was very helpful in greeting me and requested me to wait a while during which I took the opportunity to visit the various attractions near to the Hotel vicinity eg. Pantheon, Notre Dame, Opera House, Montmartre. The RER is also a great way to move around Paris, I visited the Louvre where the Mona Lisa is situated and the Eiffel Tower later that evening. The rooms at the des Grands Hommes are small, but quite comfortable, the breakfast is expensive for a serving of coffee and bread. The good part is that, I was given the largest room available in the hotel overlooking their garden. Quint and nice ! I would certainly get back there considering that the Hotel gives a very safe feeling which is very important for me.

Room Tip: Request for the rooms with balcony on the first floor overlooking the Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    797
    377
    69
    15
    4
See reviews for
160
693
80
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

During a hot week in Paris it was a relief to return to the cool hotel. Location is perfect and easy to access all neighborhoods. Breakfast was costly for bread and coffee. Room very comfortable. Wireless was spotty but mostly working. Great view of the Pantheon. Close to where Hemingway spent his early days in Paris. Recommend this hotel for comfort and location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful hotel and helpful, friendly staff!!! This hotel is in a quiet, but central area, right beside the Pantheon. We had a great view! The breakfast was tasty. Our room was gorgeous!!!! My husband and I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I chose Hotel Des Grands Hommes for a one week stay in Paris based on positive reviews of the hotel's location, decor, and price on TA. We were not disappointed. I had been a little concerned about the size of the bed (double), but it was more than large enough for both of us. The decor of the room was great and the staff service was exceptional. We arrived early and I was not feeling well. The staff got our room ready an hour early in order to accommodate us. The staff was extremely helpful and took care of any requests we had immediately. The room itself was furnished beautifully and was on the courtyard in the back of the hotel. It was quiet at night, the bed was extremely comfortable and the it was the coldest place in Paris. The weather was in the 90's and every museum, cafe, attraction was hot, but our room was always nice and cold. I even slept in a sweatshirt! The location of the hotel was also excellent as it was right across from the Pantheon. For navigating the public transportation that was a bonus to have a major monument to look for. We could also walk easily to many attractions, and there were several great cafes within blocks.
The only negatives about the hotel were that the shower only had a half door, so water tended to get on the floor. Also there is some construction going on in the area, so you will slightly hear that noise after 9am. However this helped us with our jet lag and we actually slept through it several days. Some of the construction negatives included a temporary dumpster outside the front of the hotel, which I was not expecting, but it did not have any effect on our experience.
I think for the price, this is the best value in Paris. I loved the staff, the room and location and would definitely stay here again. Hopefully I will have that chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and 7-year old just spent three nights in a junior suite. The room was excellent: great bed for us, comfortable fold-out for my daughter, huge bathroom, and private interior/courtyard terrace with table and chairs. Another plus was meat-locker-worthy air conditioning, which was huge during 90-plus degree weather. The location in the Place du Pantheon cannot be beat: proximity to great cafes, restaurants, and the Jardin du Luxembourg. It would be hard to do better for the money in Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Took a 2 night mid-week holiday in Paris to celebrate our Niece's 18th. Birthday recently. Selected HdGH based on Trip Advisor reviews. Location next to Pantheon square, 5-10 mins from Luxumberg RER line B3 (From CDG Airport) is ideal for 10-15 min walk to Notre-Dame area etc... Lots of Cafes/Bars close to Hotel.

Small friendly/clean hotel with excellent reception staff round the clock, who assisted on final Restuarant choices."Continental Breakfast" was convenient as our itinerary/schedule was tight.
Booked 2 rooms via web-pages and were not disappointed; air-con in Room 21 was excellent against outside temperatures of 28 Deg C & shower was "Top Drawer"!
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for quiet/clean/convenient stay @ sensible prices.

Room Tip: Room 21 (Superior) is on front and features a small balcony. Both nights were quiet. Room 23 (Stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel has really friendly and helpful staff and although small rooms ( we had booked standard rooms so knew what to expect ) they are in the French style and very pretttily decorated. Beds are very comfortable and and bathrooms very clean. We liked the slippers for our use but would have appreciated some complimentary bottles of water also - especially in the hot July heat.
Location of the hotel is excellent - away from the madness of main avenues and near the glorious Pantheon. A short walk to the beautiful Luxenbourg Gardens to unwind and watch how the French relax. Paris has so much to offer - explore!
We booked three rooms as our sons joined us for a special wedding anniversary - we were not disappointed and the recommendation of a restaurant for a celebratory meal was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#65 Family Hotel in Paris
#166 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, AvailPro, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Grands Hommes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.