We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Grands Hommes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Grands Hommes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Grands Hommes to your Saves list
Hotel des Grands Hommes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #117 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    403
    73
    16
    5
See reviews for
175
743
86
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel twice, and its neighbour the Hotel Pantheon. This trip was to catch up with a close friend and enjoy shopping, cafes and restaurants. Les Grands Hommes was a perfect base, a pleasant long walk to shops in Marais and St Germain, and close to great restaurants in the evening. The decor is very French, with light blue patterned wallpaper, painted white furniture and tasteful accents. Bathrooms are small but bright white, and everything about the rooms feels fresh and new. We looked forward to brief rests in our rooms between our afternoon glass of wine and late dinners nearby. Recommendations from the concierge were excellent, and the neighbourhood feels very safe because of the many students at the nearby Sorbonne -- something we appreciated while walking back in the dark at 11pm or later.

Room Tip: Views of the Pantheon are spectacular if you enjoy this -- it's directly across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am writing this at the hotel, looking out of the bedroom window at the magnificent Pantheon. The hotel is full of character. On arrival we were met by a friendly English speaking receptionist, who was helpful and able to assist with all our questions. We had booked one of their lower priced bedrooms, and when we walked in we taken back by the decor and comfort. The bathroom has a full sized bath, proper shower and a separate shower head as part of the bath.

Everything was spotlessly clean. The wardrobe doors had little triangular mirror panels, not a speck of dust to be seen anywhere. The bed was large and comfortable. Breakfast was a good continental breakfast, and we always find it convenient to have a breakfast in the hotel, provided it is reasonably priced, which we thought at 11 euros was OK.

Thw area is a wonderful location to stay, with several good places to eat nearby. It is a good safe area, with easy access to the seine 10 mins, and easy access to the RER station. It was easy to find the hotel from the RER although a little more direction on the hotel website would have been useful.

If I had any criticism, it would be in common with almost every other hotel I have stayed in with a mini bar. If the prices we more reasonable, I would use it. 4 euros for a 33cl bottle of mineral water is extortionate. There is a little shop just around the corner with everything you may need instead.

Overall a wonderful stay, friendly staff and great location.

Room Tip: We just booked and were really pleased with the room given to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went back to Hotel des Grands Hommes, for its location, its charm, and the friendly welcome. Unfortunately, we were in Paris when a heavy snow fall painted Paris all white. For two days, absolutely nothing was done by the staff to clear even a little bit the sidewalk and it is a wonder that no patron fell on the hotel doorstep. This time we had a larger room, but not a large room, overlooking the Pantheon. Breakfast is a bit limited and could be extended a bit for the price. Yogurt or fruit would be a nice addition.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms are small and quiet overlooking the courtyard. More expensive rooms are larger and ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The only reason I booked this hotel was the location (we always stay in the 5th or 6th Arrondisment) and the fact that it has air conditioning. I was in Paris two years ago with my daughters and stayed in another hotel while the temperatures reached almost 40 C degrees. This was one of the few hotels that offered confort but was fully booked at the time so we suffered. This summer, same time of year (July 14th to 21st) the mornings greated us with temperatures in the teens on a few occassions. Summers in Paris are so unpredictable so you must pack for all occassions. Ok, back to the hotel....nice location, we had a great view of the Pantheon. Started out in room 21 with a horrible shower and were moved the next day to a higher floor (funny, I heard a yound lady complain about the same room shower that afternoon so it was not just we that were unhappy). The rooms are tiny, the balcony even more so but it did the trick. It is a short distance to the Luxemburg Gardens and to so many great restaurants and attractions. The staff was friendly (made sure we took an umbrella on days that forcasted rain - they had a number of them at the front desk that we could borrow) and always greated us with a smile.
I have visited Paris a number of times and this is a reasonably priced, well situated, friendly, clean hotel - nothing fancy but it fits the bill. My husband, who was in Paris for the first time, loved it. He sat on the steps of the Pantheon every evening taking in the view of the Eiffel Tower. According to him, why would we stay anywhere else on our next visit?

Room Tip: The rooms in the front (with the great view) tend to get quite noisy and remain so for the entire ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked for 2 nights and were confirmed in a room with a view of the Pantheon. We were so tired when we arrived that I took a nap before going down to mention the error that our room did not have a view. By then the man on the night shift spoke little english. The next morning Pierre Louis apologized profusely, changed our room while we were out shopping and left a bottle of wine with his compliments. We were very happy with our charming, beautifully decorated, comfortable room. We were a bit disappointed with the breakfast. I would suggest going out if you have your heart set on a good croissant. Lovely quiet location in the 5th.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel, and everything we expected from Paris. Our room had a great view looking out onto the Pantheon's square, and a small balcony. Like just about all rooms in Paris, it was small, but beautifully decorated. The hotel is not right in the midst of the action - it's a few blocks to the metro and food/shops - but it was a good spot and it was easy to get around on foot or by calling a cab. The staff, service and food were great. Definitely recommended! Traveled in December 2011.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Pantheon (street side) for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Paris
#65 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#187 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Grands Hommes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.