We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has air conditioning but we did not need it - in the middle of July!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Grands Hommes

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Grands Hommes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel des Grands Hommes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Has air conditioning but we did not need it - in the middle of July!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The only reason I booked this hotel was the location (we always stay in the 5th or 6th Arrondisment) and the fact that it has air conditioning. I was in Paris two years ago with my daughters and stayed in another hotel while the temperatures reached almost 40 C degrees. This was one of the few hotels that offered confort but was fully booked at the time so we suffered. This summer, same time of year (July 14th to 21st) the mornings greated us with temperatures in the teens on a few occassions. Summers in Paris are so unpredictable so you must pack for all occassions. Ok, back to the hotel....nice location, we had a great view of the Pantheon. Started out in room 21 with a horrible shower and were moved the next day to a higher floor (funny, I heard a yound lady complain about the same room shower that afternoon so it was not just we that were unhappy). The rooms are tiny, the balcony even more so but it did the trick. It is a short distance to the Luxemburg Gardens and to so many great restaurants and attractions. The staff was friendly (made sure we took an umbrella on days that forcasted rain - they had a number of them at the front desk that we could borrow) and always greated us with a smile.
I have visited Paris a number of times and this is a reasonably priced, well situated, friendly, clean hotel - nothing fancy but it fits the bill. My husband, who was in Paris for the first time, loved it. He sat on the steps of the Pantheon every evening taking in the view of the Eiffel Tower. According to him, why would we stay anywhere else on our next visit?

Room Tip: The rooms in the front (with the great view) tend to get quite noisy and remain so for the entire ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    797
    377
    69
    15
    4
See reviews for
160
693
80
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked for 2 nights and were confirmed in a room with a view of the Pantheon. We were so tired when we arrived that I took a nap before going down to mention the error that our room did not have a view. By then the man on the night shift spoke little english. The next morning Pierre Louis apologized profusely, changed our room while we were out shopping and left a bottle of wine with his compliments. We were very happy with our charming, beautifully decorated, comfortable room. We were a bit disappointed with the breakfast. I would suggest going out if you have your heart set on a good croissant. Lovely quiet location in the 5th.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel, and everything we expected from Paris. Our room had a great view looking out onto the Pantheon's square, and a small balcony. Like just about all rooms in Paris, it was small, but beautifully decorated. The hotel is not right in the midst of the action - it's a few blocks to the metro and food/shops - but it was a good spot and it was easy to get around on foot or by calling a cab. The staff, service and food were great. Definitely recommended! Traveled in December 2011.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Pantheon (street side) for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Needed to get a lot of work done and was terribly disappointed that the "new" wifi system doesn't work at all for 5 days. They said I could go to a cafe but that is hardly a solution. They didn't have a tech person so there was little thra could be done. As much as I love this place I need wifi to keep my business going so I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel de Grand Hommes for 5 nights in September, 2012, and it was delightful in every way. On past visits to Paris we always stayed on Rue Jacob, closer to the river, but we decided to try a different location, and we're very happy that we did as it was just as convenient, less noisy, and close to many great restaurants, the Luxumberg Gardens and the subway. Since it was our anniversary, we splurged and reserved what is said to be the nicest room in the hotel......on the top floor, with a balcony overlooking the Pantheon, and a little sitting area adjacent to the bedroom. We felt it was well worth the extra money!
The staff is very helpful and friendly, breakfast in our room was perfect, and, at the end of each busy day, we looked forward to returning to our room to relax. We're happy to recommend this hotel and hope to return for another stay in the near future.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong on the top floor overlooking the Pantheon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Second time in 5 years we have stayed here the staff warm, intelligent, funny helpful and tolerated my French. Great resources for excellent local non touristic restaurants . Booked and make phone calls for us. We stayed a week this time and had a larger room which We liked. The location is perfect , near Sorbonne within walking distance to St Germaine restuatants and shops-oh la la the metro is and easy minute walk from the hotel and it feels like home. We would stay again. It's. a nice area off the noise of Paris but fun to explore

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wife and I stayed last summer. The hotel location could not be better, smack next to the Pantheon in the lively Latin Quarter of Paris.

The hotel itself is cosy, and has a friendly intimate feel. The staff are helpful with directions and tips.

The rooms and bathrooms are clean and well maintained, but they are absolutely tiny. We felt rather cramped as the beds, suitcases and furniture left hardly any room to walk around in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel des Grands Hommes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grands Hommes

Address: 17 Place du Pantheon, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon , Sorbonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#62 Family Hotel in Paris
#165 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Grands Hommes 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, AvailPro, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel des Grands Hommes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Grands Hommes Hotel
Des Grands Hommes Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Grands Hommes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.