We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Du Lys May 2014” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Lys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Lys to your Saves list
Hotel du Lys
23 rue Serpente, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #990 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
tombac98
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hotel Du Lys May 2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Hotel Du Lys has fantastic ambiance- it is a 1600's building with exposed beams, and all the wear and tear of a dwelling that age gives it a beautiful, ancient feel. Do not take a high room number if you may have difficulty with uneven steps; we were on the 2nd and 3rd floors and it was very difficult to make the climb. The bedspreads are the old, 70's type, and ours had large stains on them. The pillows are yellowed and aged, and the hair dryer tips are held on with wide masking tape. Clear plastic throwaway cups are provided for drinking. The shower in one room was a dribble, and good and strong in the other. The breakfast is hand set up individually on a tray and nicely presented. The location is great- just a short walk to the river and Notre Dame- however the street was constantly used as a urinal during our 3 night stay, and the stench was hard to stomach. Staff are friendly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESteffen, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lys, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your commentary..

About urinal, it appends sometimes in a place not close to the hôtel. If people can do yhis means the street is very very quiet. . In all cities in the wold this append in quiet streets. You cant't have all the advantages !!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    63
    34
    14
    18
See reviews for
28
64
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel is on an excellent area. However:
1. there is no elevator and the stairs are very narrow,
2. I had book a room 6 months ago stating that I would come with a small baby and they put me at the 4th floor. As a result I had to carry the baby through the dangerous and narrow stairs.
3. I had requested for a bassinet (baby bed). However, the mastress for the bed was half the size of the bed making the bed totally inappropriate. The baby has to sleep with us at the adult bed.
4. The adult bed was very small.
5. The ceilings were really small.
6. While checking out, i found out that there are also rooms actually next to the reception and the road, which means that the customers would not be able to sleep due to the noise.
I would definetily not go again at this hotel which does not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESteffen, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lys, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire. Vous aviez une chambre sur cour qui ne vous a pas permis de constater :

1 que la rue est très très calme
2 que toutes nos chambres sur rue disposent de double vitrage.

Que vous commentiez mal votre chambre c'est normal et votre droit. Par contre commenter des chambres où vous n'êtes jamais entrée est pour le moins surprenant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Delightful Parisian Hotel with authentic exposed beams and brickwork, timbered ceilings and old oak furniture and wardrobes. 5min walk from Notre-Dame and adjacent to Odeon Metro (direct to Gare du Nord) and St Michel RER (direct to Airport). Friendly staff who have limited English. Perfect French breakfast - lots of coffee, orange juice, croissants and bread. Very clean with modern bathrooms. Bedrooms are double-glazed but some slight street noise. Higher bedrooms are quieter and with superb views but there's no lift!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter but no lift. Compromise on 2nd or 3rd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is ok. The rooms are quaint but with character. We were on the 4th floor - no elevator! There was actually a problem with our reservation and the manager was willing to work with us but the night guy at the front desk was horrible! Totally unwilling to help so we checked out. Too bad because the hotel wasn't bad. The manager waa apologetic the next day though.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so try for a room as close to the ground floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungary
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

It is an authentic XVIIth century building with nice furniture and decoration. The location is excellent between the 5th district (Quartier Latin) and the 6th (ST Germain) just near Notre Dame and other sights nearby.
The staff is really kind, breakfast is a real french breakfast.
It is a bit tiring to climb the stairs if your room is on the 3rd or 4th floor but it is worth it.

Room Tip: Each room is differently decorated, but if you are old or not willing to climb stairs, try to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a wonderful week in Alsace. When we arrived the young man behind the desk shuffled through our papers with a quizzical look and pronounced that our reservation was cancelled. I said ‘no I didn’t cancel’ and I confirmed the reservation directly with the hotel via e-mail 3 weeks ago with a reply from the hotel agreeing to the reservation. Oh, he said, Booking.com cancelled it. He produced the print out to verify it. Upon examination of the printout (in French) we noticed the hotel requested the cancellation. When we grilled him about it he finally confessed that he asked Booking.com to cancel it because he tried to verify our credit card but it failed twice. We don’t know why, however we had no problems with the other 5 hotels the previous week. I explained to him that travelers carry multiple credit cards and there was never any issue with payment. Anyway the first night he put us up in an ‘apartment’ belonging to the hotel (I won’t go into that one!!) and then gave us a room with a full bed and a twin. The room was large enough but full of BED! The bathroom sink took up most of the bathroom. We had a good experience with this hotel 20 years ago and have always recommended this hotel, but since they canceled us the way they did I won’t recommend it, won’t stay there again, and won’t ever again use BOOKING.COM to make a reservation.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, Paris is full of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESteffen, Gérant at Hotel du Lys, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We very think your commentary is not appropriate. For the day you come, the hôtel was full and for keeping a room for you we must refuse many reservations requests.
In your very long commentary you never speak about what would happened if you couldn't come. In this case as your credit card will be rejected and we lose money : we keep a room requested by many people and we lose the night because nobody comes.

That's why for the days the hotel is going to be full we verify all the credit cards less seven days before arrival. You say you didn't have problems with the same credit card in other hotels. This mean that not like of Hotel du Lys they were not going to be full. In this case if you come or not, they were not going to lose money because they must not refuse reservations for keeping a room available for you.

When we see your credit card was wrong we told it to Booking.com. This for having the numbers of an other credit card and we keep the room for you. For this Booking.com sent you an email. We wait 72 hours. You never answer. So as it is the rule we ask Booking.com to cancel the reservation. For this Booking.com sent you a second email.. Again you never answer.

It is a very good thing to reserve rooms by internet but if you give wrong credit card and if you don't read your mails you will have problems very often. So please don't do it like this.

When you arrived we knew it was very difficult to find for this night a room in hotel in Paris. We had the right to leave you on your own. Fair we propose you a solution which was correct and you accepted after seeing it. When we read you commentary we regret our fair reaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Situated in the lively part of the Quartier Latin it still is a haven of tranquility. The old spiral stair case can be difficult for people unable to move freely but if you are fit it is quite okay ...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lys

Address: 23 rue Serpente, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #990 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a 17th century old mansion situated in a very quiet street, Hotel du Lys is one of the best offers in Paris for its location, services and reasonable prices. It is located on the left bank, in a stone’s throw from the Seine river, and in walking distance of Notre-Dame, the Louvre, the Sorbonne, the Luxembourg 's garden, Saint Germain des Prés, Beaubourg, Saint Louis island, Invalides, Sainte Chapelle and the Musee d’Orsay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lys Hotel
Du Lys Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Lys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.