We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny, tiny rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pas de Calais

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pas de Calais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pas de Calais
59, Rue des Saint-Peres, 75006 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tiny, tiny rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

, We booked H. Pas de Calais 7 months in advance our trip.. We asked for a big room , number 37, or 39, as a friend recomended. As we were in two couples, de Hotel offered, this room and another similar, 41, I guess..
When we arrived, , that friend that recomend me this hotel was in the Lobby, and of course,she,ve got that room that she said to me was good, and i know she dindnt book in advance.
II have been in Paris , many, many times, and i know that in St Germain, the hotels don,t have large rooms, but my point is The Hotel accepted our reservation, our demanding ! It was a compromise!
The rooms are so tiny, almost impossible to have your bags inside. , but what disappoint me, was the actitude of this Hotel.

Room Tip: Probably there are biggers rooms, but as I said don,t trust in your reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dominique T, Propriétaire at Hotel Pas de Calais, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Ana Luza,

I am very sorry that you did not llike your accomodation, and it is a shame you did not told us when you arrived.
We are always happy to help our guest choosing their favorite room, and make them feel comfortable.

You might know that each room of the Hotel Pas de Calais is different, and maybe we did not have any other availability when you made your booking. We have lots of guests who make their reservation month in advance.

Unfortunately, I've got no way to know what happened with your booking as I don't have your name. Maybe you can help me?

Regards
Mrs Dominique Teissedre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    49
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
54
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Free wifi
comfy beds
clean
great location off the corner of the Blvd St Germain
BUT
if you intend on watching the Euro from your bedroom TV you cant because its not on any channel!!!and I believe 190 euros a night is a bit too pricey..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Very small room, old decor, old tiles in tiny bathroom. The location is great, the service was fine and clean, but the room was 20 years old, cheap and tiny.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Hotel Pas de Calais, (www.hotelpasdecalais.com), a small, boutique hotel on 59, rue des Saints-Pères, around the corner from Blvd. Saint-Germain and three short blocks from the Saint Germain des Prés Metro station where the history laden Brasserie Lipp, Café Deux Magots, and Café de Flore are located. The Sèvres-Babylone Metro station was also quite close. Room #20 was on the second floor where the very small lift stopped, but it necessitated walking down six steps. The accommodations were acceptable – although it lacked the luster and quality that I recalled from when I first stayed here several years ago. (The room cost 158 Euros/night – with tax = 170 Euros/night). The floor had some odd slopes and the brown carpet, while clean, could have been updated to something more cheerful and warm. The room had two twin beds, no refrigerator nor iron, and excellent Wi-Fi. The lighting left a lot to be desired, particularly for reading, except for the bathroom where the mirror had functional inset lights around its perimeter. Disposable plastic cups were in the bathroom, in place of glass ones. The windows faced the courtyard which included an aerial view of the glass enclosed breakfast room with its stunning vertical garden that sported an ample supply of orchids. No street sounds could be heard.

It was quite clean, but would benefit from upgrades such as replacing the dated closet doors as well as the writing and bedside tables which had seen better days. The showerhead would have benefited from a replacement as well. The heating/air-conditioning unit was within arm’s reach. A flat screen television was suspended near the door which necessitated a 90° turn of the neck, instead of placing it between the two windows where the beds faced. The hotel was a bit cheap with replacing soap and shampoo – sometimes cutting corners with such superficial expenses does not work favorably. The staff was friendly, warm, and helpful and was forgiving for my lack of language skills.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

End up here after a fiasco at the Hotel des Saints Peres down the street. The night clerk Jacques-Olivier was wonderful. We have an insider courtyard room It was marvelously quiet. We slept in an almost missed breakfast the 1st day. Typically we don't take the overpriced breakfasts in the hotels, but it was part of the (reasonable) package rate that we received in our late night check in (they could have gouged us, but they didn't -- they could not have been nicer). We ended up staying 3 nights and have a lovely time. The room was not large -- a (very comfortable) king size bed and room for a dresser a chair and some maneuver room, not much more. But the bath was large and modern and the room was perfectly comforable (you are probably not in Paris to spend all day in your room). The location can't be beat -- St. Germain is a great area to stay in, convenient to sights, bustling, but not overcrowded, hip, but at the same time understated.

The elevator is tiny (we considered sending our bags up alone). Use it with someone you want to get close to. And we had to take our bags up a 1/2 flight and down again to reach our room -- but this was minor. I can't say enough about how well we were treated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights, and am coming back after a quick trip to Brussels.
This hotel is in a perfect location, the staff are wonderful, room is nice, bed was Very comfortable, all great!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This small (38 rooms) hotel is an excellent location just south of Blvd.St. Germain. Very easy to get anywhere in Paris by Metro or Bus. It is a 3-star hotel with reasonable prices for Paris, but it has all the modern equipment of a 4 star hotel, now including free Wi-Fi in all the rooms (in the past, there was only plug-in internet in the rooms). There is no restaurant, nor should there be with everything from Michelin 3-star palaces to classic local bistros to upstart young hot-shot chefs within 10-15 minutes. As all of the other reviews have said, the staff is very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the back (28-29, 38-39, etc.) They are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pas de Calais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pas de Calais

Address: 59, Rue des Saint-Peres, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Paris
#89 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#115 Family Hotel in Paris
#131 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pas de Calais is a hotel of 38 rooms, located in the very nice area of Saint Germain des Prés. The entire hotel is non-smoking. You will find all the comfort and facilities you may expect in every room (personal voicemail, Free Internet wifi Access and wired connection, full bathroom) We do offer three categories of rooms recently refurbished Standard Category : charming, classic and around 12-15m² Superior Category more contemporary and bigger than the standard 18-20m² . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AvailPro, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Pas de Calais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pas De Calais Hotel
Pas De Calais Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pas de Calais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.