We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pas de Calais

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pas de Calais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pas de Calais
59, Rue des Saint-Peres, 75006 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #65 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I love this hotel, and have now stayed here many many times.

It's ideally located on just 50 metres off the Boulevard St Germain, half way between the Rue du Bac and St Germain des Pres Metro stations.

The hotel does not have a restaurant but does provide a very good breakfast. Don't be put off by the lack of dining facilities, there are literally dozens of restaurants and bars within a 5 minute walk.

The hotel does however have a bar with a good selection of reasonably priced drinks all of which can be consumed in the pleasant lobby/bar area. There is very good free wifi in the bar and lobby area, and ironing facilities are available on request.

The rooms are clean and air conditionned.

The best thing about this hotel however is the staff. They are all so friendly and welcoming, it's a pleasure to stay here.

For Paris, this is a very reasonably priced hotel, and I would have no hesitation in recommending it on TA.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    43
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
44
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hotel is located in a very good area of Paris. Walking distance to Notre Dame Church, Louvre Museum and Orsay Museum. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Wi fi available in the lobby and wired connection is provided in the rooms. Rooms located in the back area of the building are not reachable by elevators. If you have many suitcases, try not to be in such rooms, as you will have to carry them all the way to your room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back area are not reachable by elevators. Try to be in a room un the front area of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Great location. Rooms are very nice. Friendly staff. With Elevator access

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great Location! Left Bank, just off the Blvd St. Germain; four minute walk down to the Seine and the Louvre, 10 mins stroll along the river to Notre Dame.

Used to stay here on business some 10 years ago and also stayed a couple of times with my wife in 2003 & 2005. Liked it then, for its classic French-ness (yeah, I know that's not a real word, but it fits) - quaint, tiny elevator, open courtyard, charming reception staff. The only down-side was the classic but pokey and tired French bathrooms.

But not any more! They've been re-modelled and upgraded! They're now great, with modern and very stylish,high quality fittings. Love it! Decent bathrooms are rather high on my wife's wish-list when it comes to accommodations, and these really check that box.

The breakfast area/courtyard has also been updated and turned into a pretty little atrium, with a beautiful "living wall' of plants. Like a little oasis in the middle of a busy Paris. Beautiful!

All the other stuff you expect from a decent hotel are there, cleanliness, polite service, comfortable beds, quietness at night, etc. Indeed, the front-desk personnel are really charming and helpful and, if you struggle a bit with your French, don't worry, they all speak excellent English.

All in all, an excellent place to stay, at a reasonable price (well, it is Paris, after all, so nothing's really bargain-priced, is it!).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I thought this hotel was perfect. The people were wonderful. My emails were answered promptly and they assisted with every question while I was there. My room seemed large by Paris standards, with airconditioning, a comfortable bed, two closets, a chair to relax in and plenty of room for my luggage. The bathroom was also large, with a bidet and tub. Everything was very clean. My room looked over the street, on the first floor, but the double windows kept out all the traffic noise. It is in a great location, surrounded by interesting boutiques and high end shops, it is a wonderful area to wander in. As a woman alone, I felt very safe. Close to transportation and you can walk to many attractions. The optional breakfast for 15E was lovely. It included yogurt and fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, french press coffee (they even brought a second press if I asked), cream cheese, butter and jam along with the croissant, baguette and muffin. Be aware there is no WIFI in the room - although they will provide a cord so you can connect if you brought a computer. There is free WIFI in the lobby, however, which is very good, and a computer is provided for use of guests. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in hotel pas de Calais last week. The location of the hotel is perfect: saint Germain des pres. We found everything we need in this area. There is a lot of good restaurant and bar. We tried the very famous "Ralph" for our birthday and it was amazing!
The staff of the hotel is very friendly and helpful and I totally recommend hotel pas de calais

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

I went to Paris many times in the last ten years, but never seen a good Hotel like this one! Very five star location, inside the heart of Paris, très chic, and with a very comfortable and couzy ambient! The owner is a very kind person who cares about eventual problems with their guests! I returned there many times since 2006, and definitively this is the best choice in Paris!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pas de Calais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pas de Calais

Address: 59, Rue des Saint-Peres, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Paris
#86 Family Hotel in Paris
#121 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pas de Calais is a hotel of 38 rooms, located in the very nice area of Saint Germain des Prés. The entire hotel is non-smoking. You will find all the comfort and facilities you may expect in every room (personal voicemail, Free Internet wifi Access and wired connection, full bathroom) We do offer three categories of rooms recently refurbished Standard Category : charming, classic and around 12-15m² Superior Category more contemporary and bigger than the standard 18-20m² . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, AvailPro, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Pas de Calais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pas De Calais Hotel
Pas De Calais Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pas de Calais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.