We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location perfection!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Quai-Voltaire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Quai-Voltaire to your Saves list
Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 quai Voltaire, 75007 Paris, France (Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #560 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“location perfection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel was good value with an unbelievable view from our room window out to the Louvre across the Seine. Yes, it was quite small - like almost all european hotel rooms. But, it was decently clean, staff was friendly, and price was reasonable for central Paris. We only needed to stay one night, but it was nice enough for that, and we really enjoyed being so central. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We liked staying on the river, but if quiet is what you're after, I'd ask for one of the ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    125
    40
    24
    12
See reviews for
25
135
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Perfect location with a great view of the Louvre. Not too far (about 15 minutes walk) from St Michel Notre Dame RER station (direct to Gare du Nord main train station and CDG airport). Closer to Rue Du Bac metro, about 10 minutes. Plenty of bars and cafes nearby. Our room was small and basic but perfectly adequate, overlooking the Louvre with a small balcony on the fourth floor and no problems with street noise below. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but not too bad. Hot and powerful shower but the shower cubicle was the smallest I have ever showered in and anyone who considers themselves of large build may struggle for space. Overall excellent and would stay again.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the Seine and the Louvre and there are small balconies to the fourth floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Every room has a magnificent view of the Seine, service is very accommodating and pleasant and location is fabulous. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Quai Voltaire. The rooms are a little small but the rate and location and views alone make it worth it. Skip the continental breakfast all together and go down the block to the Cafe Des Artists, where the food is delicious!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I think what you are mainly paying for in this hotel is the superb location and amazing view from the rooms. I'm glad we stayed here for that reason. The staff are also friendly and the rooms are a comfortable size, but a bit outdated and basic. They also have a little bit of a problem with mould in the bathroom, which is hard to avoid in old buildings like this one. Next time I would probably spend my money on a more modern hotel without the view but it was certainly worth it once. The breakfast was also very good and very reasonable prices. The walls aren't super thick but luckily we had relatively quiet neighbors.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is in the 7th A overlooking the Seine across from the Louvre. This puts it within relatively easy walking distance to many key sites (and it's fun watching the action on the Seine). The hotel is far from luxurious (and the lobby is a little dispiriting) but it offers all basic amenities and the rates are very good for Paris. Although front rooms are on the busy Quai Voltaire, street noise is not noticeable. All front desk staff spoke English (they claim speakers of seven other languages among the staff) and were helpful. Breakfast is not included but continental breakfast is available for 11 euro in the bar on the ground floor. (We didn't take it so can't speak to its quality.) There are many cafes nearby for breakfast out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A great location for walking and it's close to Metro stops. The Quai-Voltaire is a busy road, but our room, which overlooked it, was still quiet at night and had a beautiful view of the lights of the Louvre directly across the Seine. We were there about 8 years ago, actually, but recent reviews are accurate.
I would like to add that the hotel staff were all so sweet. With little ability to correctly pronounce anything in French, our efforts were met with polite, helpful and humorous assistance in getting directions and reservations. The lovely Brasserie, Bowfinger, by the way, is not pronounced the way it looks in English.

Room Tip: The rooms on the river side have a great view of the Seine and the Louvre, and the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hotel du Quai Voltaire is right across the street from the Louvre, the Seine river and within walking distance to the Musee d'Orsay. Location! We walked along the river looking at book seller stalls and the boats on the water and kept going walking to Notre Dame as well. Lots of restaurants nearby too. Definitely walk the St Germaine area, it's beautiful. Stayed at this Hotel with my sister in September. The rooms were adequate for two twins and the bathroom was large with a great shower. Very clean hotel. Very friendly staff. Tiny elevator. Comfortable beds. Quiet. We did not have a view but that didn't matter to us. I would recommend this hotel to couples or families.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Quai-Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Quai-Voltaire

Address: 19 quai Voltaire, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Eiffel Tower / Invalides / Palais-Bourbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#452 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Quai-Voltaire 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Quai-Voltaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Quai Voltaire Hotel
Hotel Du Quai Voltaire
Hotel Quai Voltaire Paris
Quai Voltaire Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Quai-Voltaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.