We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Haven on Paris' Left Bank but not Cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Christine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Relais Christine to your Saves list
Relais Christine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Luxury Haven on Paris' Left Bank but not Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

After seeing it last visit, we tried Relais Christine this visit. It was expensive but the location, facilities, excellent service and luxurious environment largely justify it.
We were looked after by competent staff that provided a welcoming and clean and tidy environment in the rooms and hotel generally.
The breakfast was the best that we had without chef prepared hot breakfast.
The beds were large and comfortable, and the rooms were spacious and well appointed for Paris.
The gym was well set up - except for no rowing machine - but it was too humid and hot even when the air conditioning had been on for some time.
Availability of bicycles was a big plus for those with the temerity to us them.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear guests,

We are delighted to learn your attention had been drawn upon Relais Christine some time before actually staying with us. We are happy to learn that this experience fully met your expectations!

Thank you for such a praise of our staff and of the service provided. Making you feel at home is our primary goal. We hope you found your Parisian getaway hotel!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    86
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
69
266
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
currumbin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked this hotel through small luxury hotels of the world as we have been members for a while and am usually impressed with the service we get from their hotels. This time it was a little different. The hotel is in a great spot, close to everything in a great neighborhood. On arrival we did ask about the upgrade that can come with being a member of the SLH group but we were told that the hotel was totally full and not possible. The room was typically small for France but also dark (am sure they will say it adds to the "ambiance" but we felt it covered up the the scratches and worn look of the room.) I also note that the amenities that were promised on our booking sheet were not there. This is where it all started to go wrong.I asked at reception about it and was told that it was not so, indeed he could find no record of it anywhere on our booking.com sheet. I reminded him that we had booked through SLH but he kept saying booking .com. When we came back to the room, the same young man made a point of saying he had searched everywhere and could find no record of L'Occitane amenities for our booking. He implied that I was lying so I was forced to get my laptop and come down to reception and prove it. Highly unprofessional. He then apologized in quite a haughty manner and said he would rectify it the next day. Understandably I was a little upset with his attitude and we were not feeling particularly welcome in the hotel so I sent an email to SLH outlining my problems. Magically the next day on return to the hotel after a day out, we were offered a lovely room upgrade (though the day before they had nothing available for our stay ) and the promised amenities from L'Occitane were provided. If you check your official website ( not tourist photos) you will see on slide 8 of your gallery pictures that the amenities provided in the room there are in fact L'Occitane, the Verbena range I believe! Maybe you need to update your site and not accuse the guest of making things up.The superior room was a huge improvement on the first room and actually was one that I would stay in again gladly. breakfast was nice, the usual buffet assortments and the woman who made our coffee was wonderful,a lovely smile and welcome each morning and she organized our coffee just as we liked it. I wish I could remember her name as she went out of her way to please us. Overall I am torn on whether to recommend this hotel or not, we didn't feel that the front desk staff treated us very well and that one shouldn't have to prove that they are not lying in order to get what we had booked. That said however the room we did end up in was lovely and the location great, hopefully our experience is just a one off abboration.

Room Tip: superior are much better than standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review which received my very best attention.

I certainly understand your frustration if you believed that your SLH membership would allow you to have an automatic upgrade.
We are very happy to meet with all our guests' requests when it is possible and certainly always make sure that amenities and benefits are secured at the moment of the reservation. Your “Loved Membership” unfortunately did not entitle you to an automatic upgrade but only upon availability. I am sorry if on the day of your arrival upgrading you was not possible but very pleased that on the next day we could meet your request.

Kindly accept my apologies for not amending information about our cosmetic brand. We decided to change for “Argan” by “Côté Bastide” in order to provide organic cosmetic. I am sorry if you did not like it.

I would really like to make your mind change about the Relais Christine and I invite you to contact us directly for your future stay in Paris. Your well-being will be our whole team's concern!

We all hope to see you soon.

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Paris. We were fortunate enough to stay at this charming boutique hotel for 5 nights. From the moment you enter the gates leading to the courtyard, you know you're going to love it. The staff are top shelf and to be commended. Our room wasn't ready, but we were well looked after until it was. The room did not disappoint - ground level overlooking the courtyard, high ceilings, very chic and spacious. Pricey, but worth it - superb location. At the end of a busy day, you felt like you were coming home. We opted for the full breakfast, which was also a little pricey, but very good. Served in a cozy room in the basement - originally part of an Abby.
The only cons relate to the bathroom: poor shower design - water leaks out onto the floor, and rather dim lighting - something for women to note. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Merci!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, General Manager at Relais Christine, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear LGT52,

Thank you for taking the time writing that very poisitive and detailed review. I am very happy that you choose the Relais Christine for your first time in Paris and I am most pleased to check that you got the very Parisian experience you look forward when booked us.

I am very grateful for your nice comments and well noted the issues that you mentionned in the bathroom. I will have our interior designer to work and make necessary adjustments.

We all look forward welcoming you back for your second time in our unique city.
Thank you again and best regards.

Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowayton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently spent 6 nights at Relais Christine. The location is wonderful, very close to the Seine and Blvd. Saint Germain. We had a deluxe room on the fourth floor overlooking the street. With the windows were closed you could not hear a thing. The room was very quiet. The hotel is very well managed, the staff superb. The charming breakfast room serves a very good breakfast and you can order eggs prepared the way you like. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I had been advised to get an inside room, but was very happy with our street-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, General Manager at Relais Christine, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Ciburke,

We loved having you staying with us too and apreciate that you share your feedback on TripAdvsior.

I am very happy that you apreciated the quality of service you received, our facilities and of course our unique location. My Staff, as you could notice is always available to help our clientele to organize their day in our beautiful city and giving directions.

We look forward your return.

Thnak you again and best regards.

Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Relais Christine in September 2013. The hotel was near Notre Dame so we could walk around and be close to the Latin Quarter restaurants. The staff was very helpful with explaining public transportion. The breakfast had a great selection and was very good. They had a lovely big comon sitting area, that offered a place to sit and relax after a long day of sightseeing. They also turned down your bed for you, so you really felt pampered. It was pricely, but we feel it was worth the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, General Manager at Relais Christine, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear DiFred,

Thnak you very much for your very nice and much aprecaited feedback. We are all very happy if we could deliver you the experience that you expected while booking the Relais Christine.

We all look forward the pleasure welcoming you back at your earliest convenience for other unique moments in the earth of the best location of the "Rives Gauche".

Thank you again and best regards.

Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have been dreaming about staying at this quintessential Left Bank hotel for literally two decades and when the opportunity to stay in Paris came along recently I didn't hesitate to book here. I was not disappointed. The room was well-appointed, chic and unique - as all the rooms are at Relais Christine. The staff very professional and warm with lots of helpful advice and support when asked. The location cannot be beat for the best "tourist" Paris of my dreams. Tres bien!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, General Manager at Relais Christine, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Mairzydoats,

Thank you very much for staying to stay with us and for this unique review! We are glad we did not disappoint you after thinking of staying with us for such a long time! I am especially happy to read that the atmosphere of our home, the décor of your room and the warmth of our team all were up to your expectations. We do hope you will not deprive us of the pleasure of welcoming you back for another twenty years, but be sure that whenever you choose to visit next, we will be expecting you with the same sense of hospitality that has been guiding us for the last 34 years.

Yours sincerely,
Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this hotel and its excellent staff. We stayed in the room we requested, which was quiet and comfortable. The location was just a couple of short blocks away from Notre Dame and the Louvre, and the Metro. We had booked a concert at Salle Pleyel but forgot the tickets. When we realized this, the hotel called and made the arrangements for us to pick up new tickets at the concert hall on the night of the performance. This was just one instance of the above and beyond service that made this hotel in the heart of the left bank a true gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, General Manager at Relais Christine, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Mr R.,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post this great review. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our little haven of peace in the heart of the bustling Latin quarter, the décor of your room and the personalized service we work daily to provide. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon to your room at the Relais Christine, with the hope you would choose us as your home in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Christine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Christine

Address: 3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Paris
#23 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#48 Family Hotel in Paris
#232 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Christine 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Christine, built on the foundations of a 13th-century abbey, is your Left Bank peaceful haven. Behind the gate is a cosy world and an ambiance of fine antiques. The 51 guest rooms and suites, all individually decorated, are stylish comfortable, some of them with a private terrace on the garden. Enjoy a peaceful haven in the garden or unwind after a day of sightseeing in the hotel’s spa with Carita treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Escapio and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Christine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Christine Hotel Paris
Relais Christine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Christine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.