We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great feel, great ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Christine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Christine to your Saves list
Relais Christine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #32 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great feel, great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

hotel is located in the heart of the saint germain area, inside a car free zone, surrounded by local charming restaurants and bars, all in walking distance. You won't look for a taxi all week...
Rooms are small but very cozy and feel good, lounge is so much fun to spend the early evening with a drink before you go out and the staff is very cooperative and only wants to please you.
On the negatives, it is somewhat over priced for what it is and the breakfast room is dark, in the basement and is telling you it wants you out asap...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Relais Christine.
Our location is indeed considered as a great asset and we are glad it was your feeling too. Thank you for pointing out too that our street seems to be a car free zone. Even if it is suitable for cars and taxis, they are most discreet which allows us to have a certain number of rooms overlooking this very street-side without any inconvenience about it.
On top of the rooms’ coziness, we are happy that you enjoyed the lounge and especially our honesty bar!
Considering our breakfast, it is located in the remainings of what used to be an abbey in the 13th century. Thank you for your constructive comment about the lightening of this room. We are sorry if you had the feeling you couldn’t take your time when having breakfast and will make sure this does not happen again.
You will certainly be welcomed on your next trip to Paris and the entire team will do its best to continue pleasing you!

Sincerely

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    89
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
69
281
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Each time my wife and I visit Paris, we try a new hotel. After seven visits to the city, this hotel is probably our favourite.

The hotel is not cheap (none in Paris are), but is very well located, clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff are very helpful, pleasant and easy to deal with, and the rooms are a good size (particularly for Paris).

My only complaints are that: the concierge misplaced my dinner reservation request and we were unable to eat at the restaurant of our choosing (not a big problem, and could happen anywhere); and the honesty bar in the hotel lobby is shockingly expensive (on check-out I discovered that a gin and tonic had cost us €16!).

Otherwise, we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all, we are honored for becoming your favorite place to stay in Paris!
However, we are truly sorry about your misfortune for this dinner you mention in your comment. Our concierge service is very important to us and the team does the utmost to provide for a perfect service. We missed the case this time but will definitely make sure you never experience this again on your returning stays.

Sincerely

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Relais Christine - “a charming hotel in the heart of Paris”. Yes we agree with that. In a quiet small street in the Left Bank area this lovely SLH hotel is charming, discreet and yet still fun. While their web site might run a bit slow keep at it - this hotel is a real find. Not glitzy and in your face, no restaurant (breakfast & room service is available), the rooms are a decent size by Paris standards and the duplex rooms are great fun - with separate bath and shower rooms and loos on both floors. Half a bottle of champagne awaits you in the room and all the usual requirements are there. Bathrooms are black and white with marble and toiletries by Argan. Lovely courtyard at the front of the hotel add even more peace and a club style sitting room with honesty bar completes the picture.

Free wifi.

A short walk from many places and a short taxi ride from the rest!

Room Tip: Go for a duplex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your enthusiastic comment about our property. We are most pleased that you appreciated the spirit of the place: definitely a quiet and classic private house to which we try to give a sense of modernity.
We renovate 4 or 5 rooms each year in order to keep our standards up-to-date and we are truly thrilled that the white deluxe duplex junior suite with marbel bathroom was at your taste. We hope that you will have the opportunity to discover another of our room-styles on your next stay with us.

Sincerely

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I have tried to stay here for years and finally got the chance. Not sure why I was so anxious. They "upgraded" us to a duplex on top floor which is tiny and awkward, even by European standards. Beams are painted rough wood- not rustic looking- just unfinished looking and not one single thing on any walls. Poorly appointed and lacks charm. Bathrooms are mini and not 4 or 5 star worthy by any stretch. Carpet is worn and brown which fights terribly with pale gray walls and wood. Paint on shelves is chipped everywhere.
Location gets high marks though. Although a small side street you are in a great location to walk anywhere.

Service is fine but nothing really out of ordinary. People at desk and concierge helpful when asked and quite pleasant.

All in all you will be happy here if your expectations are not of a 5 star boutique hotel. Maybe 4, but the rooms we are in stretch that ranking to the limit. Other rooms may be different.

Just to compare , we stayed in a similar hotel two years ago and while rooms and bathrooms were not much bigger, appointments were much better and we felt more personally cared for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, General Manager at Relais Christine, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Kingtravelss,

I thank you for your review and your precious feedback.

I am very sorry that you did not find in the room that you occupied this June, the charm that you excepted while booking the Relais Christine.

I am also very sorry that you did not let us know your unsatsisfaction. As all our rooms are different, we would have been more than happy to show you another one if not the same day then the next one.

I take that opportunity to really invite our readers to express every quiry they have and assure them that my team and myself, we are always doing our utmost to meet with our guests' requests.

I hope that you will give us a second chance and we will then deliver you this time a unique Parisian experience.

I saty at disposal anytime.

Thanks and regards.

Jean-Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

When we visit Paris, we usually stay at the Relais Christine and have done so since 2004. We have tried different hotels but we keep coming back to this one. Its location in St German des Pres is superb and the hotel and rooms are beautifully appointed. The staff have consistently been friendly and helpful over the years. Our recent visit in May was no exception. It is expensive but worth every penny. Enjoy...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear guests,

We are pleased to learn that you have once again experienced a delightful time in our property. We thank you very much for your faithfulness!

Here at Relais Christine, we draw our combined efforts to adapt our service to our guests' wishes and try to satisfy them at the best. We thank you for noticing this and hope youwill still appreciate the quality of our service in the future.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a small hotel on the left bank a stone’s throw from the Boulevard St Michel and the Quai, which is very well situated for visitors to Paris. The rooms are well appointed and well decorated. The staff are kind, friendly and helpful. The hotel serves a pleasant buffet breakfast in a small cellar restaurant which is, however, relatively expensive at E30 pp. The main problem is the size of the rooms. They are so small that you keep hitting things and there is inadequate storage space. We asked the hotel whether another room was available and they kindly offered us a two level suite at minimal extra cost, but we did not take up the offer as the suite offered little improvement in storage space. The other problem was noise from the street and from the elevator, which was an irritant late at night and early in the morning. There are however rooms which face on to internal courtyards. The hotel would be pleasant for a weekend trip to Paris, but for the cost: E450+ per night – even for overpriced Paris, this was very poor value for money

Room Tip: Not on the street and not near the elevator/lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback which is always valuable.

Generally speaking, it is true that the left-bank hotels have smaller rooms than the properties located on the right-bank. However, we propose three different room sizes before the duplex junior suite. According to the length of our guests' stay, we try to propose the best suitable room type available.

We do understand also that one might be indisposed by some noise coming from the street or the elevator if the room is located next to it. However, our rooms overlooking the streetside are far away from the elevator. We would like to have the opportunity to change your mind about our property. If you do give us this chance, do not hesitate to mention that you are sensitive to noise so we can accomodate you the best way possible.

Finally, we thank you very much for your compliments to our staff. Be assured that we will consider your well-being a priority on your next stay.

Sincerely

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Paris is expensive and this hotel is no exception. However, it is a lovely hotel in a perfect location for seeing Paris. It is walking distance to the Louvre, Notre Dame and chic shopping on St.Germain. The English speaking staff is very friendly (yes even in Paris) and helpful in arranging airport transfers and taxi service, providing metro instructions and restaurant suggestions. Rooms are nice, clean and quiet. Breakfast is served everyday although there are many fine alternatives within walking distance. The neighborhood is enchanting to explore and we felt very safe. Remember, French is the language so use it if you can. A simple "bonjour"," bonsoir ", 'merci" and" s'il vous plait" will work wonders.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear guests,

We are delighted to learn that a year later, you keep such a happy memory of your stay in Paris.

We are very sensitive to all your compliments to our staff and we are most grateful to you for your efforts to speak our language!

We will be looking forward to your next visit in Paris.

Sincerely

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Christine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Christine

Address: 3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Paris
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#21 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#52 Family Hotel in Paris
#255 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Christine 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Christine, built on the foundations of a 13th-century abbey, is your Left Bank peaceful haven. Behind the gate is a cosy world and an ambiance of fine antiques. The 51 guest rooms and suites, all individually decorated, are stylish comfortable, some of them with a private terrace on the garden. Enjoy a peaceful haven in the garden or unwind after a day of sightseeing in the hotel’s spa with Carita treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Relais Christine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Christine Hotel Paris
Relais Christine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Christine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.