We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Christine

Save Saved
You added Relais Christine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Christine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #41 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Relais Christine. What can I say, great location, lovely friendly helpful staff from Concierge to breakfast staff, wonderful property, quaint and with character. Superb location, lovely room, would highly recommend and have no doubts about returning. Loved the honesty bar, such a lovely touch. All in all a great place. Have travelled to Paris 5 times now and this is by far our best trip. We travelled with our 2 children, and again we were made very very welcome. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

What a wonderful feedback !

We are all delighted to read such pleasant comments and that you enjoyed at best this stay on the Rive Gauche. We also thank you for mentioning that Le Relais Christine is perfectly settled for families that we are always very happy to welcome.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon, so that you can enjoy a 6th lovely experience!

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    86
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
67
248
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here in a recently renovated, Superior room overlooking the courtyard. The room was beautifully appointed, as were the bathrooms. A little small, but as to be expected for Paris and that room category. The hotel is situated in a quiet Rue right in the heat of St Michel and St Germain, very close to great restaurants, night life and major attractions. The staff were helpful and the manager, Jean-Luc, made a point of introducing himself and following up with an email requesting feedback after our stay. I mentioned that the bathrooms needed some hooks and he replied that they would be installed immediately!

A sumptuous breakfast was included and served in the 13th century basement. The basement also includes the gym, sauna and jacuzzi which we utilised. Free wifi was provided in the room.

A laundrette is located just around the corner for travellers looking to get on top of their washing.

We will return to Relais Christine most certainly.

Room Tip: Superior Room overlooking the courtyard was fine. Higher floors may be better for a nice outlook. Pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear madam, dear sir,

It was a pleasure welcoming you while you stayed at Le Relais Christine.

Thank you very much for this lovely surprise of an enthusiastic comment following your Parisian getaway. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed each moment of your stay, with the accommodations, facilities and breakfast.
As our guests know, your feedback is very important to us, and this is why we consider each proposal and suggestion as positive to make your future stays even more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon on the Rive Gauche!

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great little hotel in the middle of the VIth short walk to most of the left bank. Very short walk to Isle de la Cite. And two blocks from the Metro. Beautiful rooms very well appointed ( small but this is Paris). Comfy bed, Linens etc the best. Stayed 4 nights to celebrate our 25 th anniversary. Champagne waiting in our room on arrival. As well as little basket of goodies from Angelina's ( amazing chocolates) with more each night. Staff and concierge could not have been more helpful or friendly. Had breakfast included in our rate and enjoyed it every morning. The hotel also has bicycles available for guests but we saw Paris in the snow! Still, gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

This is a pleasure to read your wonderful comment and we thank you very much for mentioning all the good aspects found after your stay with us!
We are always very happy to welcome guests for a special occasion and to be part of good memories left!

We look forward to welcoming you in Paris very soon so that you can enjoy more of our Parisian gems!

SIncerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Been looking forward to staying there- outside/ court yard is so charming! The street is very quiet in the middle of a very busy area, which is great. The place is full of charm but everything is just "ok," not fabulous, which was disappointing. The temperature in the room was difficult to regulate and had to have the window opened at times, which then made the street noise an issue, especially since there are small theatre and a few restaurants on the same street. The amenities were again acceptable but not what I have come to expect of a Relais franchise. It is a good option for a couple for an intimate getaway, definitely not for a large group, especially with children. Overall, the experience was very pleasant but wasn't wowed by it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the front desk, otherwise, there are many stairs and odd turns to get to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are sorry that your stay at Le Relais Christine was not as fabulous as we expect it to be for each of our guests.
Our teams are always at your disposal for any comment or query you may have, and we regret that we were not aware of the heating and noise issues you had, so that we could have propose you another option.
Also, as an independant small boutique property - we are not aware of a "Relais" franchise?-, we wish to provide our guests with the famous Parisian Angelina sweets which are mostly appreciated and are very happy to welcome all year long families, small business groups or events, and have always good feedback.

We still hope to welcome you another time at Le Relais Christine so that you can have a wonderful experience.

With best regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Relais for two nights in March 2013. Charming hotel, friendly staff, great location - but no non-smoking rooms and lots of lovely carpets and fabrics for cigarette smoke to cling to. If you are sensitive to the smell, this place may not be for you. We booked suite #16 which looks out on the garden and has a beautiful terrace. We would have loved it except for the really strong smell of stale smoke in both the bedroom and the living-room. We complained, and the staff did their best with scented candles and a spray, but to no avail. As outside temperatures were freezing, we couldn't even keep the windows open for very long either. I knew the hotel doesn't have a non-smoking policy, but I didn't expect the effect to be that unpleasant. Possibly it was just that particular room? However, #16 is a rather expensive suite and we had looked forward to staying there - the exasperating smell really spoilt the short holiday for us.

Room Tip: #16 (terrace suite) is lovely but may not be suitable for non-smokers. When we stayed there in March...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear madam, dear sir,

I am really sorry to read about your experience at Le Relais Christine, which, I understand, did not reach your expectations because of the inconvenient smell found in your suite.

Be assured that this matter is very unusual, and that in order to avoid any similar situation in the future, we have completed our exisiting material with additional machines.

We therefore hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon, and I will be delighted to personnally take care of your reservation and stay.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Everything about this lovely is amazing. Quaint, exclusive, yummy Parisian alley locale in the 5th. The rooms, while small, are so delicious. Exquisite linens, superb staff, lovely breakfast in the cave cellar. And bicycles gratis. To date, my favorite place to stay in Paris.

Room Tip: We stayed overlooking the courtyard, which was lovely, but the rooms that face the back garden are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear madam,

The whole team joins me to thank you very much for your exquisite comments and for sharing your experience at Le Relais Christine on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that the atmosphere and services were at your taste and will be more than happy to reserve a garden room or suite on your next stay with us, or if you wish to permanently move in !

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Delightful historic building, beautifully appointed, warm & helpful staff on a perfect cobblestone street in a spectacular neighborhood. What more could you ask for? The staff knows of wonderful restaurants in all price ranges and won't send you to a tourist trap. The 6th A is a bustling neighborhood but the Relais Christine is on a quiet street with a beautiful courtyard and delightful relaxing sitting room. This was our 2nd trip to Paris and to the Relais Christine. We wouldn't consider a different hotel. The only thing I would have done differently is ask for a non smoking room (our room smelled of cigarette smoke) Coming from the states, I didn't even think of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear madam, dear sir,

This is a pleasure to count you among our loyal and returning guests and to read that Le Relais Christine is always what you expect in terms of comfort and service.
We are sorry about the smell of cigarette in your room and will of course be delighted to make sure that you are not at all disturbed by such a desagreement on your next stay.

With kind regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Christine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Christine

Address: 3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Paris
#23 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#34 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#40 Family Hotel in Paris
#212 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Christine 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Christine, built on the foundations of a 13th-century abbey, is your Left Bank peaceful haven. Behind the gate is a cosy world and an ambiance of fine antiques. The 51 guest rooms and suites, all individually decorated, are stylish comfortable, some of them with a private terrace on the garden. Enjoy a peaceful haven in the garden or unwind after a day of sightseeing in the hotel’s spa with Carita treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Relais Christine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Christine Hotel Paris
Relais Christine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Christine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.