We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relais Christine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Christine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Christine to your Saves list
Relais Christine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #63 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relais Christine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the Relais Christine for business from Jan 17th – Jan 22nd.

On the plus side:

1) The staff is courteous, helpful and efficient
2) I had two small problems with my room (TV and the Safe) that were corrected quickly.
3) The rooms were extremely clean and well kept. The queen bed was large and comfortable
4) The rooms were large by European Standards. . If travelling with children you could fit a cot in the room although I’m not sure if Cot’s are available.
5) The bathroom was beautiful. large and included a Hot Towel Rack, Large Shower with plenty of hot water, a bath tub that might have been a Jacuzzi (didn’t look that closely), 2 pairs of slippers, 2 very nice bathrobes and a powerful hair dryer.
6) The lobby was well appointed, comfortable and was easily used for business meetings.
7) The location is ideal for sightseeing as it is just about in the middle of Paris.
8) There were plenty of restaurants/shopping in the area. Sort of like the Village in Manhattan only nicer.
9) The breakfast in the hotel dining room consisted of eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, fruit and pastries.
10) The RER and several subway lines are close by.
11) When my Return Flight was cancelled I had no problem staying an extra day.
12) The free Wi-Fi was nice.

On the negative side

1) The walls are thin and noise (but not voices) traveled very easily from the adjacent rooms. Voices did travel from the courtyard which is the hotel entrance.
2) Several times a night the front door to my room rattled. I believe this happened when the wind was strong and the main hotel doors were opened. To solve this problem I stuck a small wash cloth under my door to keep it from moving.
3) I believe the above 2 problems were limited to courtyard rooms which is where I stayed. Try and get a room on the upper floors.
4) Like everything else in Paris the Breakfast was overpriced.
5) The Business Center had a PC but I did not see a Printer.
6) Intermittently I lost Cell Service/Internet on my Smart Phone. But this happened all over Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience at Le Relais Christine and we are glad to read that the numerous positive points mentioned.

As for the others, we hope to have the pleasure to reserve for you a room that would better suit your preferences on your next stay and regret we had not been informed of the noise problems to be able to handle them.

Be assured that our team is always at your disposal to assist you in all queries or assistance you may need.

With best regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    101
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
79
316
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ignore the smattering of less then stellar reviews, and stay at this lovely, homey feeling boutique hotel! I will definitely stay here upon any return trips to Paris.
The location is great -- right in the middle of the 6th, just across from the Ile de la Cite, a short walk to the Louvre, Notre Dame, art galleries, and great restaurants. Our room was terrific, if only a little "tired," meaning it could have used a new coat of paint, or some touch ups, and this is why I'm going with a 4 star rating as opposed to a 5 star. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a real pleasure reading your review, even though we are sorry you thought your room needed to be refreshed in some parts- we do our utmost to maintain our accommodations in the best conditions possible all year long- and hope that you do not have this impression on your next stay with us!

We thank you very much for all your other positive comments and are thrilled by being considered as a "wonderful hotel" by you.

We hope to welcome you again soon at Le Relais Christine.

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Everything thing one would expect from a small luxury hotel in Paris. It's expensive but quite lovely. The rooms are not large....we paid to upgrade from a superior room which was, we thought, tiny. A lovely bathroom - but plumbing that was very French! I should think the whole hotel knew when we ran a bath! All the staff that we met we helpful and friendly. The concierge desk in particular. Being in a little street it's wonderfully quiet. When I am lucky enough to go back to Paris, I very much hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your enthusiastic feedback and we are delighted to read that your stay with us was as enjoyable as you could expect it to be.

The whole team joins me to thank you for the lovely comments made about its service and we look forward to welcoming you very soon again at Le Relais Christine!

With kind regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

From the beginning of our trip the staff was outstanding and always very helpful. I had several questions before leaving the US and they would email me immediately with an answer. Our family of 5 had plenty of room in the large superior suite. It was very spacious and had two bathrooms which was nice. The location was great with a lot of restaurants and cafes in walking distance. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Madam and family,

We are delighted to read your comments and to learn that your suite was comfortable for you all: the one chosen is indeed the best choice for a family, as it is cosy but very spacious.

Also, our whole team thanks you for the lovely feedback made and all look forward to welcoming you again soon at Le Relais Christine!

With best regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I missed something I guess. I found it to be a nice 4 star hotel with some ups and downs. The location is quite nice and some of the staff are helpful, some not so much. It's just not a great hotel, and it's actually fairly expensive (comparable in price to many 5 star properties).

They nickel and dime you to death. The breakfast is expensive and it's far from lavish. They not only fail to provide coffee or tea makers for the room, but they don't even provide complimentary water (which costs what...35 cents a bottle). But whatever you do, do not accept their "offer" to arrange an airport pickup (for 155 euros one way!). A taxi is about 30 euros from Orly (10 miles from Paris) and under 50 euros from CDG, 16 miles from central Paris.

I think you get the point. A decent hotel, but unless the standards for Paris hotels is very low, I'd take these reviews with a nice dose of salt.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear sir,

We are sorry to understand that your stay with us has not reached your expectations as our only goal is to have our guests leaving Le Relais Christine as happy as possible.

However, we are a bit surprised by the fact that you considered the airport private transfer too expensive, firstly because we have a very competitive price compared to most of the 4 and 5-star Parisian hotels and also because our concierges never make a reservation without confirming the price with our guests.
We are also pleased to inform you that our in-amenities vary -among them stands a bottle of water-, but we may have provide you with a different one during your stay.

Still, we hope you do not remain on your first opinion: I will be delighted to personnally assist you while making a future reservation.

Kind regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This fabulous little hotel was a true gem. Its on a quiet little street on the Left bank. A great location close to everything and even if you have a room on the street, since its such a quiet street, it is fine. Fabulous linens, terrfic beds and beautiful ambience. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear madam,

This is a pleasure to read that you had good nights at Le Relais Christine, which can be appreciated when you walk around and visit Paris all day long!

We are all thankful for your lovely message and hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

just spent 2 nights at this hotel, and i cannot sing their praises enough. their staff, the location, the actual hotel itself, each one of them was amazing. the staff could not be friendlier or nicer and every single one of them was extremely helpful. the hotel is on a very quiet street, our room was super - we were upgraded to a room with a bedroom loft - we loved it! the staff could not be friendlier or nicer. even the exercise room is in an old, yet beautifully decorated one of a kind room. the neighborhood has wonderful boutiques, spent hours just wandering the streets around the hotel. cannot wait to go back there again! a totally, different, one of a kind hotel. not cheap, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

The whole team was really touched by your lovely feedback and we all thank you for taking the time to describe in such glowing terms your Relais Christine experience.

We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again soon in your Parisian home!

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Relais Christine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Christine

Address: 3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Paris
#41 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#48 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#50 Family Hotel in Paris
#252 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Christine 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Christine, built on the foundations of a 13th-century abbey, is your Left Bank peaceful haven. Behind the gate is a cosy world and an ambiance of fine antiques. The 49 guest rooms and suites, all individually decorated, are stylish comfortable, some of them with a private terrace on the garden. Enjoy a peaceful haven in the garden or unwind after a day of sightseeing in the hotel's spa with Carita treatments. Bicycles are available for guests to use free of charge, as well as a convertible Fiat 500 for a small extra fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Relais Christine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Christine Hotel Paris
Relais Christine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Christine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.