We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic, stylish retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Christine

Save Saved
You added Relais Christine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Christine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic, stylish retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel and it was so perfect and romantic that we wandered around in a loved-up, pampered haze the whole weekend!
We stayed in the first weekend in December for our ten year anniversary. It was probably the most expensive hotel we've ever paid to stay in (though not the most expensive we've ever stayed in!) and so I booked the cheapest room.
It was a surprise weekend for my husband, so I emailed in advance to ask if there were nice restaurants nearby (explained it was our anniversary), and received a helpful response.
When we arrived we were delighted to have been upgraded and the room was so lovely. My husband is an architect and I'm an interior design addict and we were so impressed with the quality of the fixtures and fittings..... Beautiful curtains, wallpapers, light switches, antique radiators. It was quirky and original and everything was top quality. We had a room on the front with full height windows and it was blissfully quiet. The sheets and pillows were so luxurious and the mattress was really comfortable (e.g. "Sleep camp" for the stressed out workaholic!)
We were so touched that on our anniversary we returned to our room to find a bottle of champagne and a handwritten note of congratulations. It made us feel very special.
The hotel provides vintage bikes (for free) and good quality umbrellas and they could not have been more friendly and helpful. There are top quality restaurants nearby (we ate in two places right on the doorstep - Ze cafe and a rustic restaurant right next door) and the surrounding streets are romantic Paris at its best.
Save your pennies and go there soon!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear madam,

This is a pleasure to read your enthusiastic feedback and we are glad that Le Relais Christine was at your taste in all ways.
Moreover, we are always glad to welcome guests enjoying a life celebrations and to be part of it!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon for another one and wish you meanwhile a Happy New Year 2013!

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    86
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
67
248
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I booked 2 rooms in the Relais Christine - one for my inlaws and one for my partner and me. For reasons I won't go into, one room was booked via Booking.com with a pay in full in advance rate and the other was booked through Small Luxury Hotel's The Club (affinity program). The booked through SLH was upgraded, included a wine amenity and breakfast daily... in courtyard room #1. The Booking.com reservation was in room #19 and did not include breakfast, wine or an upgrade. There was a very small difference in price so, lesson learned: Joining The Club and booking via slh.com is the best value by far!

The rooms themselves were quite nice and small, as is to be expected in Paris. But one should be out exploring the town anyway, and this location is SO CLOSE to museums, great restaurants, etc. and we took advantage of it. We really enjoyed the honor bar in the lobby as it seems many other guests have as well. Our rooms were very quiet - we didn't encounter some of the noise issues others have mentioned - but perhaps it's due to the time of year since it's not tourist season. A good AC/heating system, two sets of blackout curtains, and a pocket door between the bedroom and door to the hallway made for a great sleeping environment.

The staff is excellent and had stellar recommendations for dinner. We especially enjoyed Pinxo and La Rotisserie d'en Face, both less than 5 minutes away by foot from the hotel.

We couldn't find fault with the hotel and recommend it. The price is high but the value is as well! If you visit in December, be sure to visit one of the local Christmas markets and check out the animated storefront windows at Printemps and Gallerie Lafeyette.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comment and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Paris, thanks to our proximity with cultural sites and good restaurants!

We will be pleased to assist you prior to your next arrival, may you wish to have specific arrangements made, as adjoining rooms, lay out or orientations: do not hesitate to contact us.

We wish you a happy new year 2013 and hope to welcome you soon again at Le Relais Christine!

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for five nights this past October. From the doorman to the reservationist to the conceirges everyone was a delight to work with. When we got out of the taxi the doorman warmly greeted us and we walked thru a courtyard where the complimentary bikes were located, to the double door entrance. Our room was updated in a modern french design of black and white which was wonderful and faced the small quiet street and even with the windows open noise was not a factor. The mattress was quite hard but when I mentioned this to the front desk they immediately had housekeeping put a comforter on the mattress for added comfort. The breakfast area along with the spa is located in the basement which is all white stone. You do have the choice of the breakfast buffet or ordering off the menu. Off the main entrance is the living room/lounge. It seemed that everyone meet here before dinner and shared stories over their favorite beverage. Although they do not have a bar there is a honesty bar offering something for everyone.

My husband and I renewed our vows in Paris for our 25th anniversary and the hotel went above and beyond from a hair appointment to flowers to the use of their private gardens. They made memories that will last a life time. The location on quiet street in the Left Bank gave us many options for resturants, shopping and outside cafes for coffee and all the wonderful desserts. I would not think twice about staying here again so go ahead and book with confidence!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear madam,

This is a pleasure for us to have welcome you for your 25th anniversary at Le Relais Christine and we are glad that your queries were satisfied so that it could be a perfect moment !

You indeed stayed in one of our renovated rooms and we are delighed that you appreciated the style chosen by our designer, Bambi Sloan.

We hope to welcome again soon and the whole team joins me to wish you wonderful end of the year festivities.

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I first stayed at the Relais Christine in 2010 when he proposed to me so we had very happy, romantic memories of the hotel. Our second visit did not disappoint, it was wonderful! It's such a gorgeous, charming hotel. It's what you dream Paris will be. Our room (72) had a little flight of steps, wooden beams, a little sitting area with windows that looked out onto rooftops and the Eiffel Tower in the distance. We could have quite easily stayed in our room for the entire stay!

As soon as you walk onto the property from you feel like you're in an oasis of calm and understated luxury. The staff are friendly, helpful and always smiling. The lounge is beautiful, full of paintings, sofas that you don't want to move from and an honesty bar which makes you feel at home.

The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring St. Germain, the Latin Quarter, Notre Dame, Pont Neuf and you can be by the river in just a minute.

We didn't get around to using the spa but now we have the excuse to come back another time. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, it really is what I always dream Paris will be.

Room Tip: Room 72 is wonderful. You feel like you're living in the eves of a Parisian house (a very luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear madam,

This is a pleasure for us to read that Le Relais Christine was part of such special occasions in your life and we thank you for all the lovely comments made on our team, atmosphere and services.

We hope to remain your favourite romantic address in Paris and to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were extremely pleased with our stay at the end of September! We went over budget a bit to stay here and found it was worth every penny. We had a spacious room facing the courtyard, and I loved the roomy shower and luxurious towels. Very nice buffet breakfast and cozy honor bar off the lobby. Great access to all major attractions yet tucked away on a quiet street. We really appreciated getting our museum tickets at the concierge desk, as well as getting great dinner recommendations. Friendly staff and great service!

Room Tip: Courtyard room charming and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear madam,

This is a pleasure to read that your stay with us reached your expectations and that you were happy with your choice.
We also wish to thank you for your lovely feedback about the breakfast and bar and we are delighted that our team assisted you in your various queries.
We hope to see you again soon at Le Relais Christine for another cocooning Parisian stay!

With kind regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely beautiful as was the staff. From the moment we arrived (at 8:00 am), they accommodated us. We were exhausted, our room was not ready, and they were nice enough to give us a different room just to sleep in for a couple if hours. I always heard that the Parisians were rude and didn't like Americans. This couldn't be further from the truth. Everyone was wonderful. The rooms were a bit small, but that's usually the case in Europe. We did not eat in the hotel, but there were so many great cafes and restaurants literally a block away.

We WILL be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear madam, dear sir,

We thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you had a better impression than the one expected in regards to the Parisian welcome!

Also, we are delighted that you could have an option to rest upon arrival: we are always doing our utmost to be as flexible as possible, according to our availabilities, so that our guests have the most comfortable start possible.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Le Relais Christine,

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a charming property on a quiet street very close to Boulevard St Germain and St Michel. We stayed in a smaller suite, which featured a spacious bedroom and small sitting area. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly and our lack of French was absolutely no problem. There is a sitting area on the first floor with a well-stocked honor bar. We will definitely stay there again and I am happy to recommend them to any traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write this lovely comment on Tripadvisor, after your stay at le Relais Christine.

We are pleased that our team, accommodation and services suited you and hope you will come back to visit us in a near future!

With best regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Christine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Christine

Address: 3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Paris
#24 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#35 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#42 Family Hotel in Paris
#211 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Christine 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Christine, built on the foundations of a 13th-century abbey, is your Left Bank peaceful haven. Behind the gate is a cosy world and an ambiance of fine antiques. The 51 guest rooms and suites, all individually decorated, are stylish comfortable, some of them with a private terrace on the garden. Enjoy a peaceful haven in the garden or unwind after a day of sightseeing in the hotel’s spa with Carita treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Hotels.com so you can book your Relais Christine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Christine Hotel Paris
Relais Christine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Christine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.