We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relais Christine es Magnifique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Christine

Save Saved
You added Relais Christine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Christine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Relais Christine es Magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Dear fellow travelers, this evening I returned from a three day visit to Paris. My wife and youngest son were with me to visit some dear family friends. My Parisian host suggested a lovely "inn style" hotel called Relais Christine. (I had stayed there once before and I found it near perfect.) I gladly followed his suggestion and made our reservation at Relais Christine.

The hotel is located in the heart of the Latin Quarter or 5th arrondissement on Rue Christine. The street is tiny, tranquil - like a moment of silence surrounded by one of the most lively sections of Paris. The hotel is set back from the road. The entrance is a courtyard and garden.

Upon arriving at Relais Christine we were greeted by the most lovely, elder man who made a mad dash for our oversized cases. He grabbed our luggage from us and whisked us into the quaint lobby. I was very happy to see some of the people who I had met during my brief previous stay. The hotel smells fresh, clean and sophisticated as if had just had a fine bath - no chemicals, no artificial smells.

Frank, the handsome, cool young man at the front desk welcomed us to the hotel. His English was near perfect and his effort to communicate with us was friendly and charming. While I attempt to use my limited grade school French, it was not necessary. Frank made me feel like everything was just fine.

One of little peculiarities that I just LOVE is that Relais Christine still used keys - yes keys! The key chain is key and has a lovely tassel on the end. It is so wonderfully old -school. Just like the "honor bar" in the lounge!

The rooms are so perfectly appointed. The bathrooms are new and clean. The amenities are exceptional - the soap, shampoo, etc., are made by Argan. The sheets are perfectly pressed, the turndown service exceptional.

Please do yourself a favor and book your next visit to Paris at Relais Christine. This is one of those places that you will regret having to leave and will be thinking about it in years to come.

Bon Voyage,

Colin A. Burns

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear sir,

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are all delighted to read your enthusiastic feedback.

This is a great treat for the team to receive such compliments and we thank you all for sharing your various experiences as detailed with our Tripadvisor readers.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon on the Left Bank, à bientôt!

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    86
    24
    10
    3
See reviews for
67
249
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stretched our budget to stay at this lovely hotel, and were so happy with the comfort and location. It is located two blocks from the Seine, just a few blocks from Boulevard St. Michel and also Boulevard St. Germain. If possible, upgrade a little. We stayed in a larger standard room, and it was very comfortable, but we would have liked a room with more windows a little higher in the hotel. The sitting room/lounge and the breakfast room are wonderful. The hotel, although in a bustling area, is on a quiet side street with its own courtyard, so very quiet and peaceful. We were celebrating our anniversary, and the hotel brought us champagne, which was such a nice surprise. This is a lovely, elegant, boutique hotel. We give it a very high recommendation.

Room Tip: The concierge was wonderful and took care of not only dinner reservations, but arranged tickets for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear madam, dear sir,

This is a pleasure for us to read that you selected Le Relais Christine for your wedding anniversary and we are glad that your stay reached your expectations!
We thank you as well for your lovely comments about our location and services, such as our bar and breakfast rooms, we are glad the whole atmosphere of our property suited you.

We hope to welcome you again soon, do not hesitate to mention your request of a room on a higher floor to our reservations department.

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

But for a few minor details, I would rate it as "Extraordinaire".

Charming, cozy, elegant, very comfortable rooms, fine and attentive service, very well located in St Germain de Pres, great spa, wonderful private bar "de confiance".

Minor details: as with most Parisian hotels, two double beds put together make up one queen bed, and the mattresses were a bit on the soft side for me.

Other than that, top notch and great value for money.

I would DEFINITELY return and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear sir,

Thank you for the "extraordinaire" adjective, there cannot be a better one! You may mention on a future reservation that you prefer harder beds, we will do our utmost to satisfy your query.

We are delighted that you appreciated your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfect place for 2 daughters to celebrate our mother's 75th Birthday. An off the beaten path feel, yet w/in walking distance to many attractions, i.e.; Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, Notre Dame,Tuileries, Saint Germain des Pres, Luxembourg Gardens and Latin Quarter. Room wasn't ready upon arrival but staff was quick to help store our luggage and also offered us an upgrade. As a party of 3 we had a duplex, but more like triplex given the stairs; 1st level loo; then 10 stairs to 2nd level living room; then 15 steps up to bedrooms. Very pricey hotel, but all of Paris is expensive, much more so since my last recent visit - i.e. 6 Euro for a small coffee/tea everywhere! Breakfast was unreasonably expensive; 30 Euro for very, very limited buffet offering. If you walk around the block to Rue Buci there are plenty of cafes. Bicycles are available or rent their smart car. Staff was great. They sent gratis a small bottle of champagne to room for my mother's b-day. A fuse blew one night, I called front desk and they sent someone up w/in minutes. Rooms very inviting. A lounge off front desk has couches/chairs and honesty bar if you choose to relax before heading to your room. If romantic, cozy, great location, friendly staff, elegant, quaint surroundings are goals- this is your place. Would stay again. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for room facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Madam,

We are glad that you choose Le Relais Christine for your mother's birthday and that you enjoyed your stay !
We regret you could not enjoy at best the breakfast, knowing that we have made a lot of improvements and changes lately.
Thank you for mentionning the team's reactivity, we definitely do our utmost to handle problems as soon as possible, to make your stay as comfortable and luxurious as possible.

We hope to see you soon again in Paris.

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A stylish, boutique hotel hidden away in its own courtyard in St. Germain. It feels so quiet and tranquil but is steps away from all the bustling shops, cafes and galleries of St Germain. A great location within walking distance of Notre Dame, the Louvre, Musee d' Orsey and the Luxemburg
gardens. The rooms are elegant and individual, staff are very friendly, efficient and speak excellent English. Breakfast in the vaulted cellars is also very good. I cannot find fault with this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guests,

The team and I wish to thank you for your feedback and for describing Le Relais Christine as a "gem". Indeed, we are lucky to be in the heart of the lively Rive Gauche, but on a peaceful and quiet street.

We therefore look forward to welcoming you again soon !

Sincerely,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Relais Christine at the end of October 2012. It was our first time in Paris together and the Hotel choice was essential as it was our wedding anniversary.

The location of the Hotel is in a very desirable area (left bank) and is very quiet and peaceful with a beautiful centre courtyard on which a number of rooms face.

The hotel is 16th century with a breakfast room which is 12th century in the basement (vault). It does not have a main restuarant for evening dinner but it does have a link with a nearby restaurant (Restaurant Christine in the same street) plus there are many other good restaurants locally at a variety of price ranges. It is a small hotel (57 rooms) and feels very personal. It also has a Spa service which we did not use so can not comment on it.

The hotel is first class, its not cheap but it is a prime hotel in a great area of Paris and is price justified in our opinion. Service is excellent and they have an "honour bar" so that you can help yourself to drinks in the lounge should you wish, which is a nice touch. The room mini bar is also comprehensive, however we did not use it as its a bit pricey.

We loved Paris and will certainly be staying at the Relais Christine again next year, its in a great area with lots of atmosphere especially in the evening and really buzzing.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the centre courtyard - no traffic and great courtyard views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment and for taking the time to write your stay with such enthusiastic words!

This is a pleasure for us all to have been selected for your wedding anniversary, and moreover, to have reached your expectations.

We hope to welcome you soon again for another happy occasion.

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

When we don't stay in a hotel in Paris, we stay here. It is situated in the heart of Saint Germain des Pres. The location cannot be beat! It looks small from the outside but it is big on the inside. We have stayed here three times and each time, the rooms get better and better. This last time, our room was large (Room 42). The bathroom was luxurious. The staff cannot be any nicer, professional or helpful! Can't say enough. We love it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanLucChomat, Directeur général at Relais Christine, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,

This is a real reward for us to read that each time you come, rooms get better: we are doing our utmost to maintain, refresh and renovate our accommodations all year long and we are glad that the updates are satisfying!
This is also important for us to let you discover another room each time, so that even by staying at the same hotel, you can have a different experience.

Hoping we will welcome you soon again at Le Relais Christine!

Best regards,

Jean-Luc Chomat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Christine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Christine

Address: 3 Rue Christine, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Paris
#24 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#35 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#41 Family Hotel in Paris
#211 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Christine 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Christine, built on the foundations of a 13th-century abbey, is your Left Bank peaceful haven. Behind the gate is a cosy world and an ambiance of fine antiques. The 51 guest rooms and suites, all individually decorated, are stylish comfortable, some of them with a private terrace on the garden. Enjoy a peaceful haven in the garden or unwind after a day of sightseeing in the hotel’s spa with Carita treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Hotels.com so you can book your Relais Christine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Christine Hotel Paris
Relais Christine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Christine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.