We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb base for a stay in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Haut Marais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Haut Marais to your Saves list
Hotel du Haut Marais
7 rue des Vertus, 75003 Paris, France (Le Marais)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A superb base for a stay in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was our second stay of Hotel du Haut Marais. Our room are small but very stylishly decorated and absolutely perfect as a base for a visit to Paris. After all, little time is spent in the hotel when there is so much else on offer. On both occasions we had a room away from the street and it was very quiet.
Breakfast is taken in the undercroft around a large table. There is fresh fruit, meat and cheeses, croissants and bread, yoghurt, tea and coffee - in fact, plenty to sustain you for a full day's sightseeing.
There are a couple of Metro stations within a short walk and all of central Paris is quickly accessible. The hotel is not well suited for those with physical disabilities as the stairs are steep and the lift tiny.
Didier is a wonderful host and ensures that everything is maintained to the highest standard.
In summary, we recommend the Hotel du Haut Marais most highly as a modest yet delightful hotel in central Paris.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    53
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
97
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Enjoyed a weekend break at Haut Marais, which is in a great location close to the trendy streets of Marais and access to the Seine.

Didier is a great host, sharing enough information. Apartment room was comfortable, clean and included the necessary amenities.

Great place to explore Paris with some authentic Parisian flair

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I had a two night birthday break in Paris. Didier was most helpful when we had to change our travel plans at the last minute. We were in an apartment with a most comfortable bed. We would definitely recommend the Hotel du Haut Marais.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I spent 9 days at the Hôtel du Haut Marais and we have nothing but praise for this small, charming, delightful hotel in a lovely old Marais building. Didier was a terrific host and very helpful. Breakfast each day was generous and delicious, served at a communal table in a lovely and atmospheric room with vaulted stone ceiling. The location is ideal, close to sites and the metro but on a completely quiet street away from the more touristy sections of the Marais. Our double room was quite small but very comfortable, with a modern bathroom. Our one night in the apartment was truly a treat; it's spacious, modern and gorgeous! We recommend this hotel for people who appreciate the charm of old Paris buildings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and took two double rooms and the apartment as well. Super stay in good location, metro 2 mins away, with everything you want to do or see easily accessible. Didier is a great host and made us very welcome. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were very happy with the hotel which lived up to expectations. I was particularly impressed with the bathroom. The bedroom was small but comfortable and was well decorated and had character. We were next to the lift but surprisingly were not bothered by the noise. Didier was welcoming and very helpful in getting taxis at short notice on a very busy Saturday night. Breakfast was excellent. Altogether a very happy experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel has many great qualities, but I can't think of anything bad (maybe small rooms, but that is every hotel in Paris). You will enjoy this hotel if you...
- want to be away from the tourists, but still close enough to enjoy all of the popular attractions.
- want to stay in a nice Parisian neighborhood full of mom & pop restaurants and boutiques.
- plan to use the hotel mostly for breakfast and sleeping. It's a nice, clean place with good bathrooms and comfortable beds. The rooms are great but this is not a hotel where you "hang out."

Didier is great and will do whatever he can to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
MARAIS HOme Hotel
MARAIS HOme Hotel
#170 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#103 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jacques de Molay
Hotel Jacques de Molay
#567 of 1,791 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Ecole Centrale Hotel Paris
Ecole Centrale Hotel Paris
#465 of 1,791 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Le Marais
Pavillon de la Reine
Pavillon de la Reine
#59 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#228 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Haut Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Haut Marais

Address: 7 rue des Vertus, 75003 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Paris in the Marais district, close to Beaubourg, the Hotel de Ville, Place des Vosges, Ile Saint-Louis, the Hotel du Haut Marais overlooks a quiet and pedestrian street of old Paris and was completely renovated in early 2010.Composed of only five double rooms, 2 suites and 1 apartment for 4 people, we operate not as a regular hotel but like guesthouse. We welcome you with us since we live on site.We want to offer you the comfort of a traditional hotel with the friendly atmosphere of the guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Haut Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Haut Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.